We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent two night anniversary break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent two night anniversary break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are really glad we chose this hotel for our two night break.
The food, service, and room quality are excellent and the staff very attentive.
This was our first visit to Linthwaite, but we felt at ease and relaxed very quickly due to the really calm atmosphere that surrounds the hotel.
Will return again hopefully !

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and wood and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravellersSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    182
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
990
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

18th Feb 2011 - and my fourth visit to Linthwaite - this time for a surprise afternoon tea treat for a friend in need of some respite.

In all we spent a very relaxed four hours over an afternoon tea, sat on a large sofa with views out over Lake Windermere below and snow capped peaks in the distance.

To start - a delicious fruit compote served in a shot glass, followed by crustless finger sandwiches [all the usual suspects including the ubiquitous cucumber].
After that came the star of the show - the etagere stacked with house baking and patisserie.

The vanilla custard tartlet should come with a warning as it catches you out by instantly shattering on your tongue at the first bite, leaving your mouth bathed in a pool of creamy, crunchy ecstasy and your hand scrambling to catch any stray pastry that dares to head south. For me this little bundle of joy is absolute pinnacle of fine patisserie skill. Absolutely stunning. Never fails...

If chocolate overload is your vice, then the cube of ueber-dense rocky road with its glossy, thick slick of ganache [just in case there wasn't quite enough chocolate underneath !] will give most normal chocaholics a fix that will see them happy for a good 48 hours afterwards....
Also featured were mini lemon drizzle cakes - beautifully moist and light and two varieties of scones accompanied by clotted cream and damson jam.

If I were to nit-pick at this point, then it would be about deliberately leaving stones in the jam. I am not sure why this is - I don't think it's for flavour reasons and I personally don't need them there to convince me that the jam is homemade when the remaining texture tells me that anyway. Whilst we were warned up-front about their presence, the subsequent stone removal exercise did become somewhat sticky and unelegant. A minor point though.....in the grand scheme of very grand things.....

As usual, service was immaculate and attentive [yet unobstrusive] from entering into reception right up to leaving, even though we'd 'come in off the street' as it were and weren't actually staying at the hotel.
The ambience is one of calm, civility and elegance. Not a mobile phone to be heard [a hushed 'hooray'....!]. Once the sun had finally set for the day, out came a procession of tealights which were placed around the lounge we were sat in - adding even more to the intimate and relaxed atmosphere.

I think we could have quite happily stayed longer, had it not been for a 90 minute journey back down the M6 and the call of reality....

Mmmmmmhh......I wonder if that pastry chef is married......

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloydsDickieBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Wow. Beautifully written... you must be a wordsmith. May we quote you?
Thanks so much. Sorry about the stones. When we make the jam my wife makes me remove the stones. Some of the local homemade comes with stones......
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We enjoyed a one night breakaway from routine- with superb service in the most comfortable caring atmosphere of this lovely hotel. We had the added bonus of the magical snow and a walk through the grounds to the frozen tarn completed yet another moment of pampering in this brilliant hotel- totally recommend.

Room Tip: We had a mid price room on a winter offer so slightly on small side but otherwise most comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakelanders04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Wonderful. Many thanks for the review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Went on the hotel's special new year break package that included dinner, bed and breakfast for three nights plus new year celebration/party. The staff are fantastic. The room was very comfortable. Service was excellent - lots of personal touches like remembering our names and information about the weather forecast popped under the door in the mornings. The weather outside was frightful, but inside really was delightful! Highly recommend this hotel as a special treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Brilliant. Many thanks for the very kind review. A belated Happy New Year to you.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently had a weekend away for a birthday treat. This was our first visit to Linthwaite House and hopefully not the last. Despite the hotel being full the service was brilliant from the moment we entered Reception. Even the snow which fell heavily did not spoil the visit and the hotel arranged for the driveway and carpark to be cleared so the residents could safely drive. We took our dog who loved romping in the grounds in the snow. A perfect break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in a standard double (on my own) and my two friends were in a superior double room at Linthwaite. The superior was vastly superior, (views, fridge, space) but the standard was as good as any I have stayed in. From the reception with open fire, the warm welcome, and attentive staff, to the truly fine dining experience, this was a very special break. The hotel is well situated for a stroll into Bowness, yet feels like it is miles from anywhere. The views are magnificent. The relaxed atmosphere was somehow created, despite the staff being extremely attentive - a difficult balance to achieve, but Linthwaite managed it. Every member of staff was more than happy to help - nothing seemed too much trouble - yet they were very down-to-earth and friendly. The decor was lovely, and everything obviously spotless. The 'turn-down' was more of a complete clean and tidy of the room, which also had a good hairdryer, iron and ironing board. There are wellies to borrow, as well as a boot drying room, and there is always a quiet corner to sit by a roaring fire, should you want it. You can use the pool and sauna facilities at a hotel in Bowness, which we did. While the facilities were very pleasant, the manner of the staff at that hotel served to remind us how lucky we were at Linthwaite. I have children, but went with friends on this occasion. There were no children there during my stay, and I think that it is more of a grown-ups place. It's a lovely treat to escape your little darlings once in a while!

Room Tip: The superior (and above) are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Wow, what a remarkable review, I suspect you must write for a living.
I think you are right about children. Whilst we love to have a kids to stay, it does have it's limitations because we don't have some of the facilities bigger hotels have.
However, we also never forget, children are our future grown up guests.
I loved your compliments about our wonderful staff and I'm sure they will enjoy reading your review.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again, soon.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Perfect place excellent food and accommodation. We also had perfect weather that made the weekend even better. Went for a birthday celebration and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookeditpackedit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay at Linthwaite House.
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing