We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding experience”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wedding experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had our daughters wedding here at Linthwaite on the 17th of February.It was a fantastic experience planned beautifully by our wedding planner Sarah.It was like having our own country house hotel with excellent service and ambience.Thankyou to all the staff who made our wedding so special and if you are considering planning, a wedding or special occasion look no further for perfection, you have found it !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
171
1,007
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Linthwaite following a friends wedding on the 17th February. We had a lovely family room overlooking the garden. The food and service was excellent and we would not hesitate to recommend the Linthwaite House Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Many thanks for your very kind review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We took advantage of the January/February offer of half price on dinner b+b. We stayed in the Loft Suite which was a fantastic room. However not a good room if you want a room with a view. The food was good and the service excellent.

Room Tip: I'd opt for a Lake view room and the view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimulaAmbleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Many thanks for your kind review.
The half price offer worked fantastically in January and in February where we enjoyed record receipts and occupancy.
Obviously we won't be doing this in the high season, but hotels work on supply and demand, and always have.
Luckily many do see Linthwaite as offering good value all year round, but inevitably you will get a better deal in January when the least number of people want to come away.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day; watch out for the best offers!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night after we came across a deal which included the full evening meal menu and breakfast. We thought it excellent value for a good formal hospitality in a great setting. Linthwaite House and extensive gardens (with a tarn) and garden room provide great view out over Lake Windermere. This is a good base for walks from the door out on to the low fells or down to the lake. The professional approach of the staff made us feel very welcome and even at full price this place would represent value.

What I liked about our standard room was that it had a first area with HiFi and desk against a half wall which gave privacy to the bedroom area behind. The restaurant food and breakfast were very good indeed. Most of all Linthwaite House stood out to me because of the standard of behaviour of its staff. There were many of them so we never needed to wait long for any assistance and they were impeccably behaved and extremely polite and respectful at all times. Even when I encountered the cleaning staff during check out I found they were helpful beyond expectation.

I recommend Linthwaite House very highly on account of its beautiful setting, good comfortable facilities and outstanding staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are really glad we chose this hotel for our two night break.
The food, service, and room quality are excellent and the staff very attentive.
This was our first visit to Linthwaite, but we felt at ease and relaxed very quickly due to the really calm atmosphere that surrounds the hotel.
Will return again hopefully !

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and wood and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravellersSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

18th Feb 2011 - and my fourth visit to Linthwaite - this time for a surprise afternoon tea treat for a friend in need of some respite.

In all we spent a very relaxed four hours over an afternoon tea, sat on a large sofa with views out over Lake Windermere below and snow capped peaks in the distance.

To start - a delicious fruit compote served in a shot glass, followed by crustless finger sandwiches [all the usual suspects including the ubiquitous cucumber].
After that came the star of the show - the etagere stacked with house baking and patisserie.

The vanilla custard tartlet should come with a warning as it catches you out by instantly shattering on your tongue at the first bite, leaving your mouth bathed in a pool of creamy, crunchy ecstasy and your hand scrambling to catch any stray pastry that dares to head south. For me this little bundle of joy is absolute pinnacle of fine patisserie skill. Absolutely stunning. Never fails...

If chocolate overload is your vice, then the cube of ueber-dense rocky road with its glossy, thick slick of ganache [just in case there wasn't quite enough chocolate underneath !] will give most normal chocaholics a fix that will see them happy for a good 48 hours afterwards....
Also featured were mini lemon drizzle cakes - beautifully moist and light and two varieties of scones accompanied by clotted cream and damson jam.

If I were to nit-pick at this point, then it would be about deliberately leaving stones in the jam. I am not sure why this is - I don't think it's for flavour reasons and I personally don't need them there to convince me that the jam is homemade when the remaining texture tells me that anyway. Whilst we were warned up-front about their presence, the subsequent stone removal exercise did become somewhat sticky and unelegant. A minor point though.....in the grand scheme of very grand things.....

As usual, service was immaculate and attentive [yet unobstrusive] from entering into reception right up to leaving, even though we'd 'come in off the street' as it were and weren't actually staying at the hotel.
The ambience is one of calm, civility and elegance. Not a mobile phone to be heard [a hushed 'hooray'....!]. Once the sun had finally set for the day, out came a procession of tealights which were placed around the lounge we were sat in - adding even more to the intimate and relaxed atmosphere.

I think we could have quite happily stayed longer, had it not been for a 90 minute journey back down the M6 and the call of reality....

Mmmmmmhh......I wonder if that pastry chef is married......

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloydsDickieBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Wow. Beautifully written... you must be a wordsmith. May we quote you?
Thanks so much. Sorry about the stones. When we make the jam my wife makes me remove the stones. Some of the local homemade comes with stones......
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We enjoyed a one night breakaway from routine- with superb service in the most comfortable caring atmosphere of this lovely hotel. We had the added bonus of the magical snow and a walk through the grounds to the frozen tarn completed yet another moment of pampering in this brilliant hotel- totally recommend.

Room Tip: We had a mid price room on a winter offer so slightly on small side but otherwise most comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakelanders04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Wonderful. Many thanks for the review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing