We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in the Bowness price bubble”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in the Bowness price bubble”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I booked the hotel as a one night stay for my wife and I to celebrate our wedding anniversary at pretty short notice and this review is a tricky one for 1 major reason; the location dictates the very high prices, as is the case throughout Bowness.
The hotel is a lovely old building that`s very well appointed and maintained, in a beautiful setting. We had a room looking down the fell to Windermere and Belle Isle which obviously goes some way to inflating the price. The rooms were nicely and tastefully decorated, including the bathrooms which in the main tend to let these old buildings down. Big bed, flat screen, empty fridge with supplied water and milk and Molton Brown toiletries, all nice touches. They also have a private Tarn which can be used for Fly Fishing and swimming for braver souls
than I.
The staff were excellent, friendly and very professional. We walked down into Bowness for lunch, about a 15 minute walk down the hill and not too taxing. After a pub lunch we got a Taxi back, easy to find by the jetty and around £4.00.
We had booked the dinner package, for which you are assigned a 30 minute time slot for canapés. Dress code is smart for evening dining, but not overly oppressive. The menu isn`t extensive with only 5-6 choices of starter & main, but they will take advance notice of special requirements. We found the dining room to be nicely decorated, with a nice quiet ambience and again the staff were excellent, managing to keep low key but attentive. The food was good, but not outstanding and some of the dishes were trying a bit too hard with so many flavours battling it out on the plate (particularly the starters). The quality of all of the ingredients in every dish we ate was of a very high standard, including the breakfast which was very good. The wine list is extensive and you will find something to suit your taste, if not your wallet.

All things considered this was a really nice experience in a hotel where the staff do actually care and the owner obviously thinks carefully about what you want, when you are spending a not inconsiderable sum of money. I can fully understand why Linthwaite is voted #1 in the location and when you look at what else is available in the same price range (especially when you walk into town past some of the £200+ p/night properties), it actually represents value for money for Bowness. But that`s the biggest issue with the whole area and not specific to Linthwaite House, none of the properties is actually worth the £200 + tariff, but you`re in Bowness and you want quality and you know how much it will cost up front, so the choice is to enjoy or stay at home !

Room Tip: If your budget allows, book a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Many thanks for your very fair and balanced review.

It is expensive running these hotels, (we have 43 staff for a start!) and acquiring them to start with involves a King's Ransome. Even houses overlooking Windermere can costs several millions.

You do pay for what you get though, it is all relative, and we have, as you mention, a great view and peaceful setting, away from all the noise and bustle of Bowness-on-Windermere. We have a lot more staff than rooms (30). It is one of the best hotel settings in the Lakes. If we didn't offer value (as at any level) we wouldn't stay in business, and we have been under the same private ownership for 22 years.

We are a proper 4 star AA rated HOTEL (AA Red Stars, in fact, of which there are very few in the country), and NOT Guest Accommodation, which can be confusing for customers. (There are many B&B's categorised under Guest Accommodation, which get 4 stars but do not offer full service). Comparing a hotel with a Guest Accommodation is not comparing like with like.

Our kitchen is highly rated by the Good Food Guide which gives us a score of 5, one of only four in Cumbria and higher than some well known names in London. We have recently one two national awards for our wine list, and yes it's cheaper if you drink at home.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day,

Many thanks again

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    188
    50
    23
    21
See reviews for
168
1,007
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

For various reasons we don't get out much as a couple (!) and so while we had the chance we looked for a last minute single night somewhere in the Windermere area (we live very nearby). Long story short, Linthwaite House had room for single night (unlike most other similar hotels who only do 2 night minimum at weekends) at a reasonable rate for D, B & B, plus we had been before for the most gorgeous afternoon tea for my 50th last year. So booked at 5pm and ensconced in lovely room by 6.30!

At all stages the staff were welcoming, helpful and courteous and whilst it is quite a quiet and tasteful hotel, it is not in any way stuffy and we felt very relaxed and yet sort of "luxurious".

Everything was just as you'd expect, clean, nicely decorated, plenty of hot water, lovely big bath and separate shower. Proper china mugs for room tea making, chilled water in the fridge and so on.

Our evening meal was lovely...some combinatiuons of flavours we had never had before, some more familiar, and all served by attentive, polite staff. I really enjoyed dill ice cream (yes really) with cured salmon and my OH was delighted with his sort of Indian style halibut (that description does it no justice at all...)

The wine list has something for every size and volume of wallet/purse and as we are not great drinkers we opted for a £13 half bottle of really very good Australian shiraz which went down very well.

Desserts were lovely too: ginger, pina colada and pineapple - delicious but again very hard to describe appropriately! And salted chocolate tart with sour cherry marshmallow...yes, sounds odd but it really worked!

Breakfast with great selection of cereals and fresh fruit (pink grapefruit, prunes, marinated apricots, melon....) I had all the fruit (well not all, but some of all) and then smoked haddock and poached egg with rarebit crust, while OH had his favourite of black pudding with scrambled egg plus a very good Cumberland sausage.
What is great here is that they serve breakfast til 10 and check out not till 11 (and we were actually told there was no rush even then)

The location is lovely and, when you can see through the rain, the views of the lake and distant mountains are really beautiful. As we are quite local we weren't that bothered not to see much but still appreciated the location and just being away from home.

We did have an isolated problem, but when we informed the manager in the morning he could not have been more apologetic or helpful, and as he dealt with the matter in such a professional and satisfactory way I am not going to even bother saying what it was!

It was a lovely break with lots of really thoughful touches (ie the day's weather forecast and "what's on" slipped under our door, and presumably everyone elses too, with our name actually written on it) which really made us feel that they were glad we were staying at their hotel.

Looking forward to going back again soon...just need to find an excuse, a child-sitter and to raid that piggy bank again!

Room Tip: 33 and 34 are above the kitchens, so occasional noise, but not too bad or too early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks very much for your glowing report; sounds so good I'd like to stay there myself!
Just raid the piggy bank soon, when we can welcome you back,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Obviously, there are lots of hotels in this area, but for us this is the best in the area. The hotel is perched above Windermere so the views are stunning. The hotel is intimate and boutiquey, so it still has character and it's own identity.
The food we have experienced on several occasions has always been excellent.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montecristoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thanks a lot for the great review; we look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for an overnight stay with afternoon tea included. We opted to eat in the hotel for dinner also. We were met by friendly helpful staff and afternoon tea was something not to miss - quitessential english. We enjoyed a lovely romantic walk around the grounds and spent a good hour sat by the tarn - a peaceful retreat. After having drinks in Bowness we came back and experienced a fantastic dinner with professional staff. The food was suberb! Our room was of high standard and the decor was subtle and well done. Breakfast the following morning was of the sane high standard as the dinner the night before. Well done to all the staff that made our stay a memorable one. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

my husband and I went for dinner to the hotel on 22nd august s it was a special birthday and anniversary we thought we would treat ourselves. I checked on the computer and it said that
pre drinks and canapes and a 4 course meal were included and the only extra was coffee and petit fours (which realy they were not petit fours as we have had them before and that service and tax were included for £52 per person. When my husband paid the bill we were charged
£10 for a vodka and cranberry and £2.30 for a soft drink as they said they were not included,
but on the web site it did include them and only the coffee and petit fours were extra, and they also said that tips were not included but as I am a trained hotel receptionist, I know that tips mean service. I would not go back there for a meal as I do not like being lied to and I am not an idiot. I phoned them the next day and they said that I was wrong but the web site I was right, and it certainly was not worth £52 p.p. never mind the extras we paid for

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Many thanks indeed for your thought provoking review.

We serve about 14,000 dinners every year and have been in business for 22 years. The website has been up and running for many of those 22 years but I have never before had anyone believe that drinks were included in the dinner price.

You were in a Highline Card special so in fact you only paid half the price you state in your review, not that that should make any difference of course.

Regarding tips, yes I agree, they can be construed as being the same things as a service charge, and as far as we are concerned service is included and there is no need to tip if you don't want to. It would be a lot easier for everyone if tipping were made illegal as we believe that guests shouldn't be encouraged to pay our staff; we do that! We will make double sure that our staff understand. Of course many guests do like to leave a tip for exceptional service which happens a lot at Linthwaite, so some staff could be confused for thinking it is normal.

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel building is not particularly attractive but the site is wonderful - high on a hillside above Lake Windermere with a large terrace to sit and enjoy the view. The hotel is by no means inexpensive but after a 2 night stay we were just about persuaded that it represents good value for money. The staff are very well trained and charming - small problems were dealt with immediately with no fuss. Our standard room was quite small but very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant both nights - £37.00 for 2 courses including canapés in the bar. The food was excellent and inventive on the nouvelle side of robust. The wine list is simply amazing with a very good mix of treasures and unusual recommendations at more reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are larger and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay_wilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Wonderful.

Thanks very much fo the kind review which nobody could argue with!

Come back soon.

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is an excellent place for a short break. The setting is perfect with lovely views over Lake Windermere and we were lucky with the weather. The food is superb -lovely selection for breakfast ( eg roast plum compote as well as the usual fruit ) with the dining rooms looking bright and cheerful. At night they are transformed into a romantic and elegant candle lit restaurant with service, food and wines of the highest standards.
The staff were all helpful and pleasant.
The only downside is the spa that is made available is too far away to be useful. As the weather was good this didn't matter as there was no time to use it but that might have been different had the weather been poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Many thanks for your wonderfully complimentary review; we hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.

Best wishes from us all,

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing