We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still As Good!”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My husband and I decided to return to Linthwaite (to compensate for a disastrous summer holiday!), and we took advantage of the Autum Gold offer. We upgraded to a lovely room (number 28, which had its own front door to the front of the hotel). The decor was contemporary and comfortable, and the bedroom/bathroom were immaculate. Luxury abounds, including the Molton Brown toiletries and a thoughtful selection of teas/coffees with bottled water and fresh milk replenished daily.

We mainly chose to come back to Linthwaite for the food. It's over a year since we were there, and we didn't realise there had been a change of chef (which was quite obvious in the menu). We were slightly disappointed as we had hoped for more seasonal game to be on the menu, however, what we did have was just lovely. The waiting staff were absolutely faultless, and the attention to detail didn't go unmissed. The wine list is great too - we had two lovely wines for under £30, which is pretty good going.

We also took advantage of the leisure facilities at the nearby Macdonald Old England Hotel. We used the spa/steam room/sauna and there's even an ice room if you're feeling brave. It inevitably rains when we're in the Lakes, so this was a great fall-back activity!

The scenery is just stunning, and the grounds at Linthwaite are well worth exploring too. It's worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburgh_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Many thanks for the lovely review. I am glad you like the new Chef's food. He will be using more game.

Pheasant only just came in at the beginning of October and deer doesn't really get going until November. But game will definitely be on the menu this winter!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

we took friends for afternoon tea..wow...as we arrived the view was heavenly,then inside, one million times nicer than Sharrow bay or the Samling ! Staff so kind finding us a lovely soft seat for our friend, then the food well it was to die for !
The fires looked so cosy,and even though we did not dine,we could see how beautiful,the dining room was set out...thank you we will be back..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

"as we arrived the view was heavenly,then inside, one million times nicer than Sharrow bay or the Samling ! Staff so kind finding us a lovely soft seat for our friend, then the food well it was to die for !"

Wow, thanks very much indeed. We are very popular for afternoon tea these days, and the setting isn't half bad.

Thanks for your glowing review,

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We booked in last minute and got a great deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. Escaping from weeks of decorators at home. The room was comfortable and well furnished with all that we needed. The setting is lovely (in spite of torrential rain) and the conservatory and lounges are extremely cofortable. Dinner was delicious and the whole experience delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doupe1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Our recent stay was too short to fully experience all that Linthwaite offers, but we gave it our best try. We were weary from our delayed flight from the USA, but immediately felt relaxed when we stepped through the door and saw the burning logs and looked out over the beautiful grounds. There were no disappointments in the room nor the hotel and to say the food was excellent is an understatement. It would be hard to find better food even in a five star restaurant in America. The staff was friendly and sought to make sure that all requests were answered. We would surely visit this property again, but definitely stay longer!

Room Tip: Simply make your needs known when booking as they will assist with finding the room that works for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Wonderful.

Thanks very much for the great review. There is no higher compliment for a hotel than being able to sooth the ruffles out of a long flight. That's what we're supposed to do.

And a huge thanks for making the point about speaking to us to get the right room for you. We have just 30 rooms, but 26 different ones, all individual. Not the same as a Hilton!

You can't do it online as well as you can on the phone! It's bespoke hotel-keeping.

Many thanks again,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Our second short stay this year. Their offers provide excellent value and are ideal for short breaks offering the sort of luxury normally only found in top rate hotels. An ideal spot for exploring the Lakes

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

I like it, succinct and to the point. More than 50% of our business returns every year!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel ,with lovely views down to the Lake, and good paths through the property.Our room was very nice, every detail well thought out, the bathroom was large, and had everything one could want.Nice and warm ,there is underfloor heating.Though we could hear movements above us in the early evening, it was very quiet during the night.
Dinner was well presented and very good, as was breakfast.The only negatives were that the half bottle of wine had already been decanted when we reached the table, would prefer to see the bottle as is usually the case, and the orange juice at breakfast was watery and acidic, certainly didn't taste like freshly squeezed. But overall a very nice one night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Many thanks for your kind review.

Regarding the wine, yes it is traditional to show the wine before opening, but we like to get it open to allow it to breathe properly in time for your meal.

If you open the wine just before your meal when you sit down very often it will not be as nice. Wine needs oxygen like we do!

If we open the wrong one, it is our error. We are the Unstuffy Hotel Co, and this is one of the ways we like to break down the pretentions of the hotel and restaurant business.

Regarding the orange juice, I can personally guarantee it is freshly squeezed. Oranges do vary in quality throughout the year so you do get variations, which you don't if it comes out of a box.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here a couple of months ago. Yes it is expensive, we did a double upgrade when we arrived because we were a little dissapointed in the basic room. That made all the difference, it was only for 1 night and we loved it, for us it is a location for a special occasion, unless you can afford it on a more frequent basis. The location is gorgeous, food was excellent and would go back without doubt.

The only thing i can fault is that we were told that the staff woiuld move our luggage from the first room to our upgraded room when it was ready, so we could go off and enjoy ourselves. When we arrived at our new room a couple of hours later we found that the door was wide open with all our possessions in there, including my laptop. We told the staff when we went down for our meal, and we got an apology it was human error, but what if any of our possessions i.e. my laptop had gone? I guess that would have then been my problem through no fault of my own.

Putting the human error of someone leaving the door wide open aside, it was special and we would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mawshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Many thanks for the well balanced review.

Regarding the comment if your laptop had gone missing; in such a case, if we had left a door open, we would most likely have been liable because we would have been found to be negligent. If you had left the door open it would be your fault.

Happily in 22 years of owning the hotel, the only things that have actually been lost (despite a few accusations) have been the hotel's property! Yes, some sad people actually steal from hotels!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day and sorry for the mix up!

Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,446 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £190 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing