We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Linthwaite House
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveller rating
1,191
188
50
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
188
50
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteprivate tarnsummer houseafternoon tealake districthot tubfine diningbeautiful hotelcourse dinnerwedding anniversarylog firecountry househigh standardsconeslounge areabirthday treatfantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We've been to this hotel a number of times in the past and always go for the dinner, bed and breakfast option

I'm pleased to say that the hotel was as wonderful as ever and we enjoyed staying in the loft suite which had air conditioning and a comfy lounge area with gas fire

The food was as amazing as ever and we really enjoyed having the tasting menu with wines

Free wifi throughout the hotel

The staff we're all friendly and attentive - and generally wonderful !

Room Tip: There's a great lounge & conservatory, so don't worry about whether or not your room has any seats
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Super, many thanks for taking the trouble to write in to Trip Advisor.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Warm welcome, great room overlooking the lake - very comfortable and maintained to a very high standard. Asked for extra pillows they were there in a few minutes, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast - service was excellent and menu interesting and delicious a great start to the day. Dinner was just perfect. If you want to be pampered and really relax this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 great views and fantastic shower
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write your review, it is much appreciated by all of us. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Best wishes
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently spent 2 wonderful nights at The Linthwaite House Hotel to celebrate our 1st anniversary. The Hotel is set above the Lake, surrounded by beautiful well maintained gardens and has a picturesque tarn in the grounds. We are regular visitors to The Lakes and can't believe that we have only just discovered this lovely hotel. It is certainly 'up there' with The Samling and other well known hotels in the area.
The Hotel itself has been beautifully modernised, but has not lost that comfortable, homely feel.
The attention to detail is excellent, there are rows of wellies, fleeces & umbrellas organised in the porch area for guests to borrow, the welcoming fire in the reception hallway leads through to the sitting room, and the conservatory with those wonderful views...
The bedroom was spacious and modern & very well equiped with tea/coffe facilities, an excellent hairdryer, even an iron & ironing board! The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with bathrobes, slippers and Molton Brown toiletries. We had room 3, with a large shower, no bath but the view from the bedroom compensated for that!
There are 2 dining rooms, decorated slightly differently, both with good lighting and atmosphere. We ordered the taster menu with the Hotel's recommended wines and were not disappointed.
Finally, and most importantly... The staff were exceptional. They were friendly and welcoming, remembering, and using your name whenever they saw you, they were attentive without being intrusive and deserve high praise for their professionalism.
We have already recommended The Linthwaite to our family & friends and although expensive, for a special occasion, it is well worth the expense!

Room Tip: Room 3... Great view, large shower but no bath.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Wow, I couldn't have written that better myself.
Fantastically complimentary; it makes all the hard work put in by the whole team worth while.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a delightful hotel giving us a much needed blissful break from our non-stop lives as parents. The location is perfect and peaceful, the décor divine but the most impressive thing was the amazing service. We never had to wait more than seconds to catch someone's eye to ask for something. The staff were just the right combination of friendly and professional and made us feel like real VIPs, special thanks to Rob Hilton who looked after us so well on arrival - a real natural. The food was great and the best thing was there were no hidden charges for the little extras especially at breakfast where many expensive hotels charge a fee for something other than an English breakfast, bring on the smoked salmon. I also thought the bar prices were very reasonable for a nice hotel. Definitely a recommendation and we plan on returning...if we can get a babysitter!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Fantastic! It's great to read your comments about the inclusive pricing that we do and it's nice to know it's appreciated.
Many thanks for your terrific review,
Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Sunday night sleepover was an 80th birthday present for my husband, a lovely hotel in beautiful location, with lovely grounds to wander in. The staff could not have been more attentive. We enjoyed out meals, our room was pleasant, perhaps not the view that we would have liked but very comfortable. Our only disappointment was that it was so quiet in the lounge after dinner. We would recommend this hotel for a special gift and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, something to remember.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67lakeland35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Ah too quiet, sorry. People do seem to slip off to bed, presumably to watch the television. maybe it was Downton Abbey!
Many thanks for your review,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews