We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not perfect”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good but not perfect”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Positives: location (beautiful grounds and views, very quiet and easy to find), the decor, friendliness of the staff, the food and general feel of the place.

Nice touches: They would make our bed ready, replace the towels and replenish the drinking water in the room while we were having our dinner shame that they would leave the covering pillows on the floor and then the next day the same pillows would go on the bed- we didn't like the pillows from the floor to go on the bed again.

Negatives: our shower kept going hot and cold and after reporting it nothing was done (they couldn't find a fault?!) but it kept going hot and cold during our whole stay so it was not something to look forward to after a day out. The corners of the shower and around the sink were a few spots of mould.

Note: the spa is about 5-8 minutes by car in another hotel and not easy to find a parking space near it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Many thank for your kind and constructive review.
We hope we can welcome you back again one day.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
171
1,007
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Absolutely lovely place for whatever the occasion!

Classy and welcoming!

One our favourite places!!!

Has a lovely ambience about it.
The staff are friendly and helpful.

We go there twice a year. It's a must!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
10th visit indeed.
Thank you so much for staying with us once again and thanks for the fabulous review.
I hope you will be able to keep on coming back and we will aim to make it better every time.
Have a great Christmas,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in October for my wife's birthday. We booked the hot tub room, room 21. The room was fabulous with great views really nice décor and bathroom. I had ordered some bubbly, champagne and flowers for my wife on arrival which enhanced the stay.

At dinner we both opted for the 7 course taster menu which was delicious, full of flavour and well presented, but also very filling. The service throughout dinner was perfectly timed between courses and struck a great balance between professional, formal and friendly, it was never stuffy.

The service in the rest of the hotel matched this, and my wife and I came away without a single thing we could find fault in, which we find unusual and most hotels promise the world but usual fall short of the mark.

A fantastic hotel and restaurant which I can thoroughly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrteegrassgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Perfect. Sounds like it was well planned on your part.
What better? Hot tub, nice dinner, home from home unstuffy country house hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again for another stay.
Have a great Christmas,

Best wishes

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had stayed at the Linthwaite hotel and visited it a number of times for dinner so when we were deciding where to hold our wedding, the Linthwaite was definately top of our wish list and thankfully it was available and were able to chose it because it didn't disappoint at all .In fact it far exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get married or stay in a beautiful hotel in an amazing location .
Our initial request was dealt with by the very friendly and helpful owner Mike who then passed us over to Kate, his very capable wedding planner whose attention to detail was second to none. The wedding schedule was so detailed it didn't leave anything to chance and even to our special requests for guests who had special dietary requirements(my nephew with a nut alergy and my sister who is a coeliac) were dealt with superbly ,in fact the chef managed to make their dishes look very similar to ours so they didn't feel any different to the rest of the party.We felt the food was so good it is definately worthy of a Michelin star .In fact comparing it to some Michelin star restaurants we have been to recently ,the standard was by far superior at the Linthwaite.Plus there is a comprehensive wine list ,which provideds a choice to suit all tastes and pockets
The customer service was truely amazing ,Rob one of the managers who oversaw the whole of the proceedings was first class, confidently guiding us through every part of the day,so we didn't have any worries whatsoever.He is a real star ,he even arranged a meeting the day before to check on all the finer details .He was so charming and thought of everything even to suggesting we might like to order sandwiches for,my sister (he remembered she was coeliac) a close friend and myself when we were getting ready .A star in anybody's book. The food service staff were equally as good delivering unobtrusive service .One was a Robin Williams look alike and didn't object to a photo being taken by younger members of the party.
The room for the wedding ceremony was intimate and just right .It was beautifully laid out and adorned with gorgeous floral decorations arranged by the very talented Kevin of Brackens .My bouquet ,ladies corsages and mens buttonholes were stunning far better than I could have ever hoped for .
Our wedding was in the afternoon and we were thrilled to be able to have outside photographs in the beautifully kept grounds which even includes a Tarn ,at the Eastern end of which is a breathtaking view of Lake Windermere.The hotel is high up ,so having that a backdrop for some of the photos was a real bonus.
We stayed in the Loft suite which is the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.The duck egg blue colour scheme is so restful ,the wet room includes a bath in which you can luxuriate using gorgeous quality products .You could even watch television whilst bathing or use the telescope to star gaze .They have thought of everything .
In fact our special day could not have been bettered and I am hoping my husband reads this because I would so like to go back for my anniversay or any other celebration but I must say I would never need an excuse to go back to this amazing gem of a place .

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is amazing ,if not choose one of the rooms with an outside hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Wow, what can I write after that?
Thank you so much for this fabulous review and I am delighted it all went so well for your wedding.
We agree, we think it's one of the best places for a wedding too!
We hope, now you are happily married, we will be able to welcome you back for all your anniversaries!
Very best wishes
From all of us at Linthwaite

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have stayed at the Linthwaite but on this occasion we went for lunch,it is about 35 miles from home so we can visit just for a meal.We know the area well but the view from the lounge over Lake Windernere before eating is fantastic,nice to enjoy a drink and relax.The 3 course lunch was excellent,we had soup and a salmon starter,the combination of flavours was really nice.Main course was hake,again excellent,a pear dessert followed.This is a top grade hotel,the attention to detail including the bread and service is impressive,we would certainly fully recommend this hotel for either a meal or a stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangerinelancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Fantastic. Thanks very much for your lunch review. Chef now has 3 AA Rosettes so it should be good! It is a great setting though isn't it? With fabulous views west over Lake Windermere to the Old Man of Coniston. And lunch is such good value we're told.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had been recommended the hotel by friends so we decided to pop in, amazing location and I mean amazing, coffee was good, the cookies with it GREAT. My wife and I will be booking to stay in the new year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Those cookies are very morish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the head chef, Chris O'Callaghan, is a star.

Three of us were staying at the hotel on a business trip. The menu was so good, that I did not know what to have. I chose a crab starter and then asked if they could make me a "surf and turf" with some onion bhajis that they had on the starter menu.

I wish we had taken a photo of it to post on here. It was outstanding. I could not do it justice if I tried to describe it.

This place knows how to look after guests and the service is brilliant.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Just go there ! All the rooms are different - so do ask the staff for what you particularly like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMunroFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Oh my goodness. Reviews don't get much better than that. Delighted to hear Chef responded so well to the power ordering as they call it in California.
We're glad we provided a relaxing end to what was probably an exhausting day working.
best wishes
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing