We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Leyburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here in January. I think it was our 5th visit and we've just booked for Christmas 2014 but we might have to squeeze in another visit before then! It is a warm, welcoming beautiful hotel set in stunning surroundings and run by friendly but highly professional and well trained staff. They are always ready to help and are knowledgeable about the delicious food and wines that are served and the surrounding area of the Lakes. They must see hundreds of people but they always welcome us by name and we feel that the staff genuinely care about ensuring that our stay is as enjoyable as possible. When we go here we know that everything will be perfect and if by any chance there were to be a problem it would be dealt with immediately, efficiently and professionally.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Superb. Thanks very much indeed for your very kind review. Let's hope you can make it for your third visit this year (including your Christmas booking).
Thankfully many of our guests return and recommend us to their friends.
I think the most visits in a year by one couple is six so far!
It can be beaten though...
We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Kind regards form the whole team.
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
171
1,007
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This afternoon tea treat was given to us by our daughter as Xmas present. The whole experience was wonderful. The views from the conservatory although it was raining were still great, the staff were very attentive without being to much. The food was lovely dainty little sandwiches beautiful little cakes and warm scones with damson jam and clotted cream, and as much tea as I could drink. I would highly reccomend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denna61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks for your very kind review of our afternoon tea. It is of course very popular these days - a great way of spending some time in a lovely environment without breaking the bank!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a birthday afternoon tea and I wasn't disappointed! The views were stunning from our table on such a wet and windy day! We enjoyed a lovely glass of champagne as well as hot tea, tasty cakes and dainty little sandwiches! The hotel was beautifully decorated and we were just in awe while we were there.
Defiantly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mccroryashlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Fabulous. Thanks very much for your very kind review of your tea at Linthwaite
Come back soon!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Everything about Linthwaite House Hotel is excellent. Superb food, clean well equipped room, attentive but unobtrusive service, quiet & relaxing setting.
We stayed in room 21 which has a private hot tub with views over Lake Windermere. & had a lovely relaxing stay to celebrate my 50th birthday.
Can't wait to find an excuse to return

Room Tip: Rooms 21 & 22 have private hot tubs :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Free891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Boy that hot tub room is very popular and we are delighted you enjoyed it.
Thanks very much for your kind review.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back again one day,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Quite simply this hotel is excellent in every way. My partner and I stayed in Room 1 which was a standard room and it exceeded our expectations. It was spacious in comparison to some and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also very nice with a powerful shower and deep bath. The shower was of the chrome overhead fixed type which might not suit everyone. The staff are extremely attentive and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Right from the outset they know your name and really look after you. The breakfast is varied of of a really high quality. Throw in the magnificent view of Lake Windermere from the conservatory and the log fire and you have a great place to come for a break. We will be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review. R1 is very popular - it's the red one. We have many guests who request it because it feels so so warm.
We hope you'll be able to come back again,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We went to the linthwaite for a birthday meal, been a few times and it never fails to amaze , everything about it is a truly wonderful experience and they always seem to get excellent staff, the food and presentation is really something else ,there is nothing I can fault about it, well done linthwaite and all the staff will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Wonderful! We're delighted you enjoyed your birthday dinner. Come back soon.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We booked linthwaite hotel for our wedding and we are so glad we did. They were amazing from the start, the first time we visited the hotel we knew it would be perfect for our wedding. From the first time we stepped through the front door, we were struck by relaxed and chilled atmosphere. The open fires, the super comfy sofas and the quirkiness of the trunk tables give the hotel a great character with a home from home feel. The staff were very accommodating from our first visit to discuss our options to the months running up to the wedding. The wedding planner Kate was excellent, very organised and extremely helpful. She did everything we asked and more she is a real credit to the hotel. The food on the day was truly delightful every meal we had was amazing, the service was fantastic, our every need was met. Even when we needed to change things last minute the hotel was very happy to help. We had the perfect day and didn't have to worry about anything as the hotel sorted everything down to the smallest detail. Many of our friends and family commented how great the hotel was and are planning a stay here themselves. The food throughout our stay was superb and we certainly enjoyed sampling the extensive wine list. The food and drink were nearly as good as the staff. Amazing! All the staff from duty managers to the cleaners were all fantastic we even booked an extra night as we didn't want to leave and we can't wait to return for another visit for our anniversary, if not before !! Would recommend this hotel to everyone for a meal, a weekend or as long as you can. Defiantly the best place in the lakes for a wedding!!!!
Simply a fantastic hotel!! Just quality throughout.
Thanks again to everyone at the hotel, you all made it so perfect.
Mr & Mrs MacDonald

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Wonderful wedding!
It's great to hear you were so happy with everything for your wedding.
Thank you so much for going to the trouble to review us so comprehensively.
We can book your anniversaries now if you like!
Congratulations from us all,
Best wishes,
Mike
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing