We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful yet again!”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful yet again!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This time we could unfortunately not stay the night, so only had dinner (for OH birthday) but yet again it was just great! From the moment we arrived the friendly staff and warm, cosy, yet sumptious lounge just made it feel like a special treat (which it was)
There is something about the staff here that means they can use your name without sounding the least bit obsequieous...they sound like they are actually glad you are there! they are also able to stop and actually talk to you (but only if you want that) which means you see a little bit of them as people and not just as "staff". So the overall effect is very special.
And the food! Highlights of a lovely meal were the carpaccio of beef, the smooth and delicious carrot and coriander amuse bouches, the fabulous bread (cumin and rosemary...I want the recipe!) and the superb custard tart with rhubarb and homemade ginger ice cream...and I don't (or should I say "didn't"!) even like custard tart..
In lieu of an overnight stay we treated ourselves to a more expensive bottle of wine...Triana, Argentinian red and that too was really very good. (As the driver I had my proper share tonight at home!!)
Why no Michelin star? More fool them i think...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
170
1,008
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We visited the Restaurant at Linthwaite House this weekend to celebrate family birthdays,
this hidden gem certainly met and was above expectations. The setting was beautiful and we will be back to see this in daylight, the whole atmosphere on entering was indulgent relaxation and hospitality, staff were very friendly and eager to explain anything. The meal itself was amazing with presentation being perfect and every mouthful exquisite and full of flavour, restaurant staff eager to explain things and ensure the visit was enjoyed. Sure we'll be back to sample the hospitality, but in the meantime thanks to all for a very enjoyable meal one of the best in the Lake District!

Room Tip: We didn't stay over but all wished we had!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We returned again to Linthwaite House from 4-6th Jan 2014 for a NY treat. We absolutely loved our time there once again. Everything from the location, to our welcome, to the room, to the service, to staff remembering us, to the food was exceptional - just as we remembered it and all the reason for us wanting to go back.
Once again the food was absolutely outstanding and is undoubtedly one of the reasons we like to go away and a big reason for our return.We both dined on the tasting menu on the last night and it was fabulous. We have both eaten at many well respected places and Linthwaite certainly stands up to the best, it really says something when you still remember some of the dishes and what they tasted like months and years afterwards!
I'd also like to mention the front of house managers with whom we had some friendly conversations with and they made us all feel very welcome.
We'd like to think we'll visit the Linthwaite many, many more times in the future.
Michael, Rebecca and Sam Worden

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Once we had found the Linthwaite Hotel we have spoilt ourselves totally. New Year was our sixth / seventh visit. We gave ourselves a treat with room 21, although previously rooms 22 and 32 were also excellent. In fact all rooms we have stayed in have been more than satisfactory, though 21 has a hot tub and those views. In our time we have needed the use of the manager and assistant manager and cannot speak highly enough of their professional, pleasant and not overbearing attitude. We find the food a total experience and the staff very efficient but not obtrusive.
There is much to admire and like about the Linthwaite Hotel and at new year the Birds of Prey demo (in the pouring rain) was excellent, it was typical to see that the two trainers were given towels, cuppas and cake at the end, like us they were impressed.
We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Fantastic, thanks very much indeed for the fabulous review of your New Year at Linthwaite
I've tried asking for cake and they refuse me, maybe I need to lose weight!
Kind regards
Mike
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and I were looking to get away for a few days and Linthwaite House Hotel had been sending me emails for some time so we decided to give it a try. As we were very busy at the time we set out for the Lake District without any preconceived notions. A disastrous journey from Suffolk with a puncture of a run-flat tyre, which cannot be repaired, and the rarity of BMW X5 very large replacement tyres meant a very long day and a grumpy old man. As a consequence anything that went wrong when we reached Linthwaite House was likely to be exaggerated several times over. I did ring ahead and warn that we were unlikely to be able to make the prearranged time for dinner. Upon arrival we were immediately swept up into the ambience that is Linthwaite with understanding and careful attention from a most pleasant Receptionist. We were escorted (no instructions to turn left, up the stairs and round the corner) to our very comfortable room and reassured that we should settle in before going down for a drink and canapes prior to dinner. My grumpiness was assauged and it then evaporated when met by the excellent management and restaurant staff. James, the Assistant Manager, was terrific helping us to choose from the menu, pick the wine and advise what to do and where to go over the next 4 days and never pressing himself upon us but reacting always when asked.
All the staff in the Hotel were excellent always having time to talk to you. The restaurant was incredible in all respects with the quality of food outstanding, e.g. the foie gras starter and the orange souffle pudding were to die for but then my wife felt that it was all superb and would not want to single out anything. Every evening our dinner was a great experience. I am very pleased to say that the priority was the quality and presentation of the offering and not the serving of large meals which was wholly appreciated. Breakfast also was a step above that served at most other hotels we have stayed at.
Our room was quite large and very comfortable and was a Superior Standard room, i.e. one above standard. The bed was soft and sumptuous but did not suit my wifes back - within minutes of asking a board had been slipped beneath the mattress which made a great difference. Interestingly an email since our stay said "On check out you kindly provided us with feedback regarding the board we placed under the mattress, to make the bed firmer for you and in response to this we have now purchased some specialist boards."!
In summary a very, very good Hotel with excellent staff, food to die for and an ethos that places great importance upon the quality of the guests stay. We have booked again at the end of March!

Room Tip: As there is not a lift a ground floor room would be helpful to the infirm or elderly. External acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meldleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Well after a trying journey all you need is a non-receptive hotel staff. I am delighted we were able to help you recover from the trial and that the team performed so well on so many fronts. That's what we try to do though - hospitality and service are paramount.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back again,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Hubby has gained major brownie points for taking me here for two nights this week to celebrate my birthday. Although the weather was poor, the hotel and its staff more than made up for it.
We have stayed in some amazing hotels all over the world, but can truthfully say that the staff here were as good as anywhere - such nice, unobtrusive attention to detail from people who obviously take real pride in their profession,. A real joy! Would recommend to the most fussy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review of Linthwaite
We really appreciate it.
Look forward to being able to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here in January. I think it was our 5th visit and we've just booked for Christmas 2014 but we might have to squeeze in another visit before then! It is a warm, welcoming beautiful hotel set in stunning surroundings and run by friendly but highly professional and well trained staff. They are always ready to help and are knowledgeable about the delicious food and wines that are served and the surrounding area of the Lakes. They must see hundreds of people but they always welcome us by name and we feel that the staff genuinely care about ensuring that our stay is as enjoyable as possible. When we go here we know that everything will be perfect and if by any chance there were to be a problem it would be dealt with immediately, efficiently and professionally.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Superb. Thanks very much indeed for your very kind review. Let's hope you can make it for your third visit this year (including your Christmas booking).
Thankfully many of our guests return and recommend us to their friends.
I think the most visits in a year by one couple is six so far!
It can be beaten though...
We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Kind regards form the whole team.
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
993 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing