We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We are staying locally for a week and this was an excellent way to begin the holiday.We were warmly welcomed into this beautifully decorated haven on a rainy March day. There are fascinating pictures everywhere & the furnishings are lavishly comfortable. Our Sunday lunch was delicious ,relaxed and equal to any we have had in Michelin starred restaurants. The staff were unobtrusively attentive and efficient. I cannot recommend this highly enough, my only regret is that we don't live near enough to visit regularly . One good thing the week isn't over yet!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerMad15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthwaite H, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Many thanks for your kind review of Sunday lunch at Linthwaite. There is nothing else like a great Sunday lunch.
Do come and stay next time so you can try the dinner!

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
171
1,007
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It's about 5 years since we were last at Linthwaite and some things have changed but all for the better. The staff as ever are wonderfully attentive and can't do enough for you. The food is excellent and the rooms (we had the junior suite) are just as comfortable. It felt like coming home. We were on our way to Scotland on Monday the 10th of March and thought we would stop off for a night to break the journey and I'm very glad we did. I cannot recommend Linthwaite too highly and we will certainly be visiting again, although much sooner next time. Having spent several Christmas and New Year breaks at Linthwaite one or other could be a definite possibility this year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but those overlooking Windermere are especially nice although room 7 (Junior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHESHIREGIRL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Well, welcome back after five years. We had someone who came back after twenty years the other day. Luckily for us many return even more often so we hope this may be able to be your new habit!

But seriously, it's great to hear you found things had improved. We are constantly trying to make things better than everyone's last visit.

People tell us that apart from the setting and view, and the food, the thing that they love most is the service and staff. Which is great because that's what hotels are all about.

Come back soon!

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel in January for a birthday, we stayed in one of the Superior Rooms which was lovely, spacious and very clean. On arrival we were greeted pleasantly by reception then had delicious afternoon tea in the lounge with a cocktail. On the evening we dined off the taster menu and i have to say it was the nicest meal I have had in a long time. We look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDW280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for your complimentary review.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Thank you Linthwaite House for the great hospitality. I really liked the atmosphere of the hotel and the facilities that they offer. I spent a wonderful day with my wife and my little child in the Luxury Lake View king-size double bedded room with en-suite facilities & Hot Tub.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Somewhere1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Fabulous; thanks very much indeed for your kind review

Kind regards


Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I LOVED our stay at Linthwaite. It's a perfect mix of old and new executed with style and rugged luxury. They have thought of how to accommodate guests and little things like Molton Brown toileteries and ipod docks and nespresso coffee machines in each room are great little perks that add to the experience.
Before dinner we sat on their comfy sofa's in front of a roaring fire to enjoy a few drinks The meal was incredibly tasty and I'd like to try the tasting menu next time as it looks special.
We had dinner bed and breakfast in a superior room on a spring special offer and it was worth every penny!!
I've stayed at a few of the places around Windemere and thisis most certainly my favourite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeritableVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Two things stand out in your review for me, I love the capital LOVE!
The other other of course is you think it's the best hotel you've stayed at in the area.

Much appreciated,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent one night at the Hotel with our two Labradors !! Lovely room with door straight to garden which was perfect for our elderly dogs . The room was clean , comfortable and cosy . The gardens scenic and beautiful . We found ALL the staff helpful , polite and friendly . The restaurant had character and the Evening Meal was absolutely sensational , with impeccable service . A very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable break . Can't wait to return !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Well we are delighted that your dogs enjoyed it as well as you. Those two rooms we have which open directly on to the drive are great for dog walkers aren't they?

Thanks a million for your fine review.

We hope to welcome you all back soon,

Kind regards

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We came for a few days break and could not have been more delighted. The staff were delightful and couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We had a lovely room on the first floor overlooking the Lake. The grounds are beautifully tended and the tarn is a gem worth a visit for the view down the Lake if nothing else. The chef has to be highly commended! The food was of an extremely high quality and we were delighted to have chosen to eat at the restaurant every night. We can definitely recommend this hotel as a wonderful place to visit/stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randrg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks a lot for the very kind review of Linthwaite.

We love the tarn too; we must find a way of getting more people up there! The view from the bench in the spinney is amazing - all the way up to Skiddaw, North of Keswick, on a fine day.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon,

With best wishes from all at Linthwaite.

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing