We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I came over Easter weekend with my husband for our 1st wedding anniversary, we got married in crook and had our reception at Linthwaite last year. It was a very relaxing stay, we drank lots of prosecco and sat on the terrace in the sunshine. I especially enjoyed the fine dining on Friday and Saturday night, the food is to die for. I will continue to come here and recommend it to my friends and family. The staff are excellent and remembered us too which was really nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful "prosecco" review. Sounds like you had a great time.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    179
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
162
985
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at Linthwaite House near Windermere on Saturday Night. It's owned by the Unstuffy hotel company and I can see why. There is absolutely no compromise on quality but its all about relaxing and feeling comfortable.

From the the welcoming check in to the friendly farewell I could not fault a thing. The food is fantastic. I opted for the Chefs tasting menu which was an 8 course exhibition of culinary skill and art. Don't be put off by the number of courses, its perfectly balanced and portioned and something not to be missed. I matched this with the recommended wine selections, a 100ml glass selected to match the food. Great idea.

Would I go back? Absolutely, like a shot. In fact Linthwaite is one of those places that I'd find any excuse for another visit. Oh, and the Lake district, that was pretty good too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomtiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Oh wow, the first time we've been compared to Meg! Not complaining though. That's a fabulous review. Big thanks. Come back soon.
best wishes,
Mike B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just arrived back from our incredible 2 night mini-moon at Linthwaite House. We arrived extremely tired after our very big wedding on Friday 25th April. We wanted a weekend of luxury, romance and relaxation and Linthwaite House provided it all! As soon as we arrived we were shown to our beautiful room (preferred room 22 with hot tub). We were given a brief but concise guide to the amenities in the room and they brought an ice bucket and two champagne glasses for our champagne. After a late afternoon dip in the hot tub watching the evening sun go down over Lake Windermere, we dressed for dinner. Dinner at the hotel was described by my husband as the "meal of his life'. Having not eaten much all day we were provided with the most incredible four course meal which tantalised our taste buds! The meal was accompanied by great wine and brilliant but unstuffy service. The quality and innovation of the food was just incredible. The hotel is of medium size (30 rooms i think) but it has a very intimate and private feel and we can only describe it as a home-from home. Thank you to the management and staff at Linthwaite House for making our weekend so memorable. We are already planning our next trip...for a family member's 60th. We can't wait to share the Linthwaite experience with our loved ones. The Shevlins x

Room Tip: Room 22. Nice view of the lake with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
That's not bad either. Delighted the minimoon went so well. Thanks for a cracking review.
We look forward to welcoming your whole family back soon,
Thanks again and congratulations from the whole Linthwaite team.

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
347 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a family lunch for 19 people and the food and service where as good as ever. Rob who looked after our party was so polite and attentive it was a real pleasure. We had a limited menu but all the courses where excellent. The grounds are very well looked after with a large garden and even its own little tarn and also breathtaking views down to Windermere. We have been many times and have never been dissapointed.

Room Tip: Great for family lunches
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks very much for that great review. We are delighted you enjoyed lunch - what better way to spend a blissful lunchtime?

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

best wishes,

Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Only thing stopping this getting a 5* was lack of actual tables in the lounge used to serve afternoon tea.

Too much good stuff to eat, even for a person with eyes bigger than belly like myself. More tea on request, good, pleasant service with a lovely view and yet secluded from the madding crowds of Bowness / Windermere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks a million for your very kind review of our afternoon tea (sorry about the table problem). We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a Family meal at Linthwaite for 19 of us including children, we have stayed and eaten there before and it is in a cracking spot with awsome views over Lake Windwermere. The Staff are always first class a special mention to Rob who looked after our party for the day. The food was fantastic and although not cheap well worth the money quality always stands out.

Would not hesitate in recommending Linthwaite House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Practically Perfect in every way...

*friendly staff
*beautiful surroundings
*beautifully decorated and well laid out rooms.
*lovely menu, including local ingredients.
*great afternoon tea
*very romantic

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh-York1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing