We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea in a Lovely Setting”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea in a Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had afternoon tea on a Wednesday afternoon and we did need to book as very busy. Afternoon tea was very good, good balance of sandwiches, cakes and scones but not particularly generous in the quantity but okay. We did not have sufficient clotted cream but damson jam was very good. The cakes were delicious but the scones, although fresh, were a little on the dry side for my palette. Main issue was having to wait 20 minutes until we received more milk by which time my tea was cold, so service could have been a lot better, but the staff were busy. Excellent views especially towards Lake Windermere, however I am not sure I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I'm really sorry to hear about your wait for the milk which obviously had a knock on effect on the enjoyment of your tea. We should, as a result, have brought you fresh tea - I hope you asked for it.
Being busy is no excuse for inadequate service as we do actually turn a lot of business away in order to make sure we can cope with what we have.
There are a number of reviews of our afternoon tea (there is a separate section on Trip Advisor for the restaurant etc i.e. not hotel reviews) which are 5 star, and we do try to make every one perfect. However, we are human after all and sometimes things do go wrong.
Anyway, sincere apologies once again,
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    188
    50
    23
    21
See reviews for
168
1,007
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I don't normally review places more than once but feel Linthwaite deserves it. We've stayed several times now after getting engaged there on our first visit and it's always good. The staff are fantastic - always professional and very friendly. You feel like it's important to them that you enjoy your stay and want to return and that you can do what you would like to - it's very easy going.
This time we stayed for three nights as a final break before our baby arrives - I am 37 weeks pregnant. We stayed in Room 29 on a "dine free" break which works out as quite a big saving - although it's still not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for. The room was lovely - we liked the Velux windows and secluded location on the top floor. The food is fantastic and amongst the best we have had with interesting combinations of flavours, dinner feels like a real experience. We had afternoon tea on our last day which was a great way to finish the stay. Breakfasts are very tasty with plenty of choice - I'm not really into Full English but there are lots of other hot options including divine French Toast!!
We normally walk a lot when we visit and did some walking this time but not as much as usual - so we took the opportunity to relax on the terrace as the weather was amazing. The views are stunning and it's very peaceful.
The tarn is beautiful and was admired by friends who joined us for a drink and chat one afternoon (they were staying nearby on holiday).
I would also recommend the in room massages / treatments which are very relaxing and add to the whole experience.
We really hope to come back soon - either with the baby or on our own leaving the baby with Grandma!
If you are thinking about booking I would say to go ahead - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Fantastic. Thanks a million for your additional review. It's really appreciated,
Best wishes
All at Linthwaite
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a beautifully decorated house with stunning gardens and a lovely view to Lake Windermere. We only stayed overnight in a basic room looking onto the rear garden. This was lovely but if we stayed longer we would want a larger room. Note there are no lifts so take a small suitcase. The service at check in could be improved, but this was made up at breakfast time where the waiters were excellent and the breakfast wonderful. There is also some degree of noise in the hallway during the night from squeaky floorboards and other guests. Give yourself some time to wander the gardens and sit in the stunning lounge areas facing the lake.

Room Tip: For longer than one night, pay extra for a larger room. The standard ones are small. Views from all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragamuffin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for your very complimentary review.

Yes it's true we don't have a lift but we do have 7 rooms on the ground floor of all shapes and sizes, and we are a four star hotel, so we always offer to have the luggage brought in and taken up to your room when you arrive and taken from your room to your car when you depart. What we can't do is carry people up and down stairs though!

I think people are worried about us carrying bags because they will feel the need to tip the person who has carried them, and you don't have to! We pay the staff, we don't expect guests to.

Anyway, we hope you'll return and let us do the hard work!
Best wishes
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We came today for lunch and had a fabulous time. Fantastic attentive service but also very relaxed. Great children's menu. At first I thought the lunch options were limited but what we had was stunning and so reasonably priced. Coffee served on the patio with amazing views then a lovely walk around the tarn. An attentive member of staff brought me a cake with a candle once learning it was my birthday. An amazing time had by us all and I can't wait to return for afternoon tea on a sunny day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for your great review about your lunch on the terrace, and yes it's a great place for afternoon tea too!
Sincerely
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Fabulous Sunday lunch and excellent value. All the food was so delicious, well seasoned and served with care. Would definitely come back for Sunday lunch or dinner service! Brilliant location too with views over Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclemhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for your very complimentary review of your Sunday lunch. We think it's a great place to spend a Sunday lunchtime, with lots of grounds you can wander round afterwards and enjoy the view.
Come back soon!
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have stayed at The Linthwaite twice and will definitely go back.

The setting is amazing. We love to enjoy cocktails on the patio looking down the Lake. The grounds are fabulous. You can walk around their tarn and there are lots of interesting paths. Great for dogs too.

The hotel is classy, but unstuffy. Beautifully decorated. The staff are attentive, polite and friendly. It was also nice to see the head of service leading his team in a compassionate way.

The food was exceptional. Great breakfasts. Dinner was beautifully presented and tasty.

The beds are very comfortable too, with good quality pillows. The Nespresso coffee machine was a welcome luxury.

What more can I say. Loved it. Can't wait to go back. Oh, I can also recommend room 22 with the hot tub, which overlooks the Lake :)

Room Tip: Room 22 with the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Fantastic; you may have written our strapline for us: Classy but unstuffy.
Many thanks for the very excellent review.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Best wishes
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When searching the net for afternoon tea in Cumbria, the Linthwaite House Hotel looked on the face of it quite good, on arrival we were told we could take a seat in one of the lounges and we did, from then on it got worse!
Our experience was not good, poor food quality, a workman preparing the outside of the conservatory for painting using a noisy elecrtric sander and goodness knows what else, which completely ruled out pleasant conversation, we changed seats once but that didn't help, then asked a waiter nicely if the man had nearly finished and were told it would only be for a few more minutes, but despite another waiter asking again, the noise continued throughout.
Then the afternoon tea arrived, sandwiches made from doughy supermarket sliced bread, no garnish on the plate, not even a crisp! The cakes were plentiful, BUT, the scones were so dry they crumbled as you tried to spread the cream, the cup cake did have a lovely rasberry on the top, but it wasn't cooked through and still raw at the base.
Not once did anyone come to ask if everything was to our satisfaction, but that was probably due from what I could hear, to staff deaing with the complaints of guests about thier rooms!
To be honest we couldn't wait to get away and they still had the nerve to charge £37.90 for the - pleasure?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Obviously we extremely are sorry that you didn't enjoy your tea at Linthwaite.
We should of course have made sure you were sat away from the gentleman who was carrying out necessary repairs to the outside of the building.
We did a large amount of teas that afternoon and didn't receive any other negative comments, rather the opposite. There are numerous rave reviews of our tea below, and I am sorry this wasn't the same for you.
We do a lot of afternoon teas and try to make everything perfect, but occasionally a scone may be a touch overcooked. You just need to send them back and fresh ones will be produced.
It's not normal practice to serve crisps with sandwiches with the afternoon tea. I've not seen this anywhere else unless one is just ordering a sandwich rather than them being integral to the afternoon tea.
Best wishes
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,833 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing