We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place to celebrate Wedding Anniversaries”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb place to celebrate Wedding Anniversaries”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

To celebrate our Silver Wedding in 1997 our three teenage children saved up to pay for a night at this superb hotel overlooking the Lake Windermere.They arranged for flowers,chocolates and champagne to be in the room on our arrival.We have stayed there on a number occasions since and always enjoyed the luxury and peace of this situation with its location,facilities,comforts and excellent service and cuisine.In 2012 we returned for four days to celebrate our forty years of marriage and waking up one July morning to overlook the sunrise over the lake drinking tea was superb.Our family joined us for lunch with grandchildren who were welcomed,understood and cared for well as we eat,drank,talked and then putted on the lawns.It was a farewell too to them before they emigrated to Australia because as busy doctors they would visit for a couple of days regularly to get way from the demands of surgeries and hospitals.We still like to hear of the offers and are looking forward perhaps to a visit again in the Autumn but a round trip of nearly 800 miles via the M20 M25 M1 and M62 is exhausting both ways and a waste of time.Still we can always live in hope and look forward to next time....t

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake for excellent vistas.Enjoy the lounges and terrace before all me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Fabulous! What a touching story. we are obviously delighted Linthwaite has served you well over the years (we have been here 24 years and just celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary too!). We also appreciate the drive as we have Mothers on the south coast and down in Devon.
The train service is just 2hrs 45m from London Euston to Oxenholme (The Lake District) and you don't have to have a car to stay at Linthwaite again; indeed it may make a refreshing change! There is always a train to Windermere from Oxenholme and then it's just a short taxi drive to the hotel.
Just a thought to let the train take the strain. (You might get amazing deals through the Senior Railcard too.)
Anyway we do hope we can welcome you back again one day,
Very best wishes,
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    186
    48
    22
    21
See reviews for
168
999
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I'm writing this review on the last evening of our 3-night stay in what proved to be a very lucky choice. We had never been to the Lake District before, and did not know the range of options: my wife selected Linthwaite House on the strength of several good reviews (including those on TripAdvisor), and we are very glad that she did. It has everything that one could want in a comfortable and quiet get-away: comfortable rooms, an absolutely 1st-rate staff, excellent restaurant, scrupulously maintained and beautiful grounds, and an excellent location from which to explore both sides of Lake Windermere. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms go for a premium, of course; ours looked off into the woods and was completely adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review, and we hope to be able to welcomme you back again soon,
Very best wishes from us all,
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had afternoon tea on a Wednesday afternoon and we did need to book as very busy. Afternoon tea was very good, good balance of sandwiches, cakes and scones but not particularly generous in the quantity but okay. We did not have sufficient clotted cream but damson jam was very good. The cakes were delicious but the scones, although fresh, were a little on the dry side for my palette. Main issue was having to wait 20 minutes until we received more milk by which time my tea was cold, so service could have been a lot better, but the staff were busy. Excellent views especially towards Lake Windermere, however I am not sure I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I'm really sorry to hear about your wait for the milk which obviously had a knock on effect on the enjoyment of your tea. We should, as a result, have brought you fresh tea - I hope you asked for it.
Being busy is no excuse for inadequate service as we do actually turn a lot of business away in order to make sure we can cope with what we have.
There are a number of reviews of our afternoon tea (there is a separate section on Trip Advisor for the restaurant etc i.e. not hotel reviews) which are 5 star, and we do try to make every one perfect. However, we are human after all and sometimes things do go wrong.
Anyway, sincere apologies once again,
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I don't normally review places more than once but feel Linthwaite deserves it. We've stayed several times now after getting engaged there on our first visit and it's always good. The staff are fantastic - always professional and very friendly. You feel like it's important to them that you enjoy your stay and want to return and that you can do what you would like to - it's very easy going.
This time we stayed for three nights as a final break before our baby arrives - I am 37 weeks pregnant. We stayed in Room 29 on a "dine free" break which works out as quite a big saving - although it's still not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for. The room was lovely - we liked the Velux windows and secluded location on the top floor. The food is fantastic and amongst the best we have had with interesting combinations of flavours, dinner feels like a real experience. We had afternoon tea on our last day which was a great way to finish the stay. Breakfasts are very tasty with plenty of choice - I'm not really into Full English but there are lots of other hot options including divine French Toast!!
We normally walk a lot when we visit and did some walking this time but not as much as usual - so we took the opportunity to relax on the terrace as the weather was amazing. The views are stunning and it's very peaceful.
The tarn is beautiful and was admired by friends who joined us for a drink and chat one afternoon (they were staying nearby on holiday).
I would also recommend the in room massages / treatments which are very relaxing and add to the whole experience.
We really hope to come back soon - either with the baby or on our own leaving the baby with Grandma!
If you are thinking about booking I would say to go ahead - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Fantastic. Thanks a million for your additional review. It's really appreciated,
Best wishes
All at Linthwaite
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a beautifully decorated house with stunning gardens and a lovely view to Lake Windermere. We only stayed overnight in a basic room looking onto the rear garden. This was lovely but if we stayed longer we would want a larger room. Note there are no lifts so take a small suitcase. The service at check in could be improved, but this was made up at breakfast time where the waiters were excellent and the breakfast wonderful. There is also some degree of noise in the hallway during the night from squeaky floorboards and other guests. Give yourself some time to wander the gardens and sit in the stunning lounge areas facing the lake.

Room Tip: For longer than one night, pay extra for a larger room. The standard ones are small. Views from all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragamuffin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for your very complimentary review.

Yes it's true we don't have a lift but we do have 7 rooms on the ground floor of all shapes and sizes, and we are a four star hotel, so we always offer to have the luggage brought in and taken up to your room when you arrive and taken from your room to your car when you depart. What we can't do is carry people up and down stairs though!

I think people are worried about us carrying bags because they will feel the need to tip the person who has carried them, and you don't have to! We pay the staff, we don't expect guests to.

Anyway, we hope you'll return and let us do the hard work!
Best wishes
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We came today for lunch and had a fabulous time. Fantastic attentive service but also very relaxed. Great children's menu. At first I thought the lunch options were limited but what we had was stunning and so reasonably priced. Coffee served on the patio with amazing views then a lovely walk around the tarn. An attentive member of staff brought me a cake with a candle once learning it was my birthday. An amazing time had by us all and I can't wait to return for afternoon tea on a sunny day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for your great review about your lunch on the terrace, and yes it's a great place for afternoon tea too!
Sincerely
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Fabulous Sunday lunch and excellent value. All the food was so delicious, well seasoned and served with care. Would definitely come back for Sunday lunch or dinner service! Brilliant location too with views over Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclemhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for your very complimentary review of your Sunday lunch. We think it's a great place to spend a Sunday lunchtime, with lots of grounds you can wander round afterwards and enjoy the view.
Come back soon!
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing