We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable stay”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Previous reviews have said all there is to about the quality of the hotel and staff, all excellent. The hotel is only a pleasant 20 minute walk into Bowness although a short stretch (200yds) is on the fairly busy A5074 with no pavement. The grounds are lovely with short walks and viewpoints offering wonderful views over Windermere lake and the mountains beyond.
From the hotel we were able, in a day, to drive through Ambleside, over Hardknott Pass (Roman Fort) into Eskdale ( walk up to waterfalls at Stanley Ghyll ), visit Wasdale for views of Scafell Pike and back through Broughton and Newby Bridge.

Room Tip: Hotel receptionist said to book direct if wishing to request particular room as rooms are often book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigDontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Many thanks for your kind review.
Sounds like you enjoyed some of the great sights of the Lake District. Many more to be had!
Look forward to being able to welcome you back,
Best wishes
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently stayed at Linthwaite in August after visiting at Easter. They were extremely accommodating for our family requirements and nothing was too much trouble, even dinner for our girls at short notice. Rob and the team are a great asset to Linthwaite.
The restaurant was excellent as usual, we always feel relaxed and welcome.
R & J

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Fantastic, thanks very much for the very kind review.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed recently at the Linthwaite House Hotel as part of a weekend break on the Northern Belle. Everything was perfect - the room (22) was comfortable and well-equipped, bathroom was immaculate and spacious and the hot tub was much enjoyed too! The public spaces are delightful, with spectacular views from the light and airy conservatory. The staff were courteous and friendly - we were surprised how quickly they knew our names. And the food was some of the best we've ever eaten. A big thank you to all for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Wow, the best food you've ever eaten! That's a big compliment. Naturally we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future with or without the Northern Belle!

Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Comfortable, welcoming hotel in a lovely location. The establishment prides itself on offering excellent service, and the friendly staff really do make you feel that nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in a "Superior Standard" room (room 16) which was of very generous proportions and had the benefit of an adjoining dressing room / walk-in wardrobe and even a small balcony overlooking the croquet lawn.

The hotel offers some nice quirky features such as a room just off the main lounge packed with information on places to visit and things to do in the region, together with an IPad for guests' use which is a handy facility to have. The private tarn a couple of minutes' walk from the front door is a lovely peaceful place to be.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant, which was very good (see separate review) on one night of our stay and in the more informal terrace area on the next. This was also generally very good, though the "Unstuffy Burger" was a bit grim. Manager Andy dealt with that issue in exactly the right way however, so no complaints and I'm sure the dish is usually much better.

One final point: I have seen a few reviews state that Linthwaite is not cheap. Whilst I suppose that is undoubtedly true, by comparison we spent the previous two nights of our stay in the Lake District in a poky room at the Macdonald Old England in Bowness which had virtually no hanging space, barely room to put a suitcase down, and a partially obstructed view of the lake which was just visible when standing at a particular angle to the single small window - all for 50% more per night! Makes Linthwaite sound like a bit of a bargain to me...

Room Tip: Room 16 is good sized, and has the benefit of a separate dressing room / walk-in wardobe (containing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mysel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Ha! Well that is the first time I've seen Linthwaite described as a bargain but I can see where you're coming from. Thanks very much for the very kind review. As an independent hotel we have to offer good value and we pride ourselves in working hard to provide good service. Unlike the big brands we can adapt quicker and don't have to abide by the head office rule book. All our guests have names and aren't numbers.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel was nice but not all rooms have view. The room was "preferred category" but some stuff was missing like ear cotton and vanity kit ... ect. Although it looks professional and spacious at the entrance, it was unfriendly, we have been watched by the staff, and you can't feel free setting anywhere at the lobby!

Couldn't feel home, it's a place where you have to whisper everywhere in the hotel !! And kids are not allowed in the restaurant at dinner time !!! One of the staff member (the restaurateur staff manager) was serving all the guests and talking friendly with every single English couple except us ! We are tourist in UK. So the impression was tourist are not welcomed !

I didn't feel comfortable! It felt like an elderly residence rather then a house hotel !

Room Tip: Not for family .. only for old couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_G18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the trouble to review Linthwaite. I'm really sorry you didn't feel at home at Linthwaite. If we failed to make you feel welcome in any way then we have failed. It's true we aren't Disneyland but we do have families stay through the summer and they keep coming back.

Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We've taken advantage of a couple of special offers recently to stay at linthwaite. First was the dine free offer when we stayed in room 34 - beautiful room in lovely tranquil greens with the most amazing bathroom, double shower & bath big enough for 2!! We then did the special Friday only offer last week and stayed in room 16 - again a beautifully decorated room in warm tones with a large walk- in dressing room and a balcony overlooking the croquet lawn. We've stayed in many rooms over the years and they are all fabulous - attention to detail makes it!! Hand written welcome notes, weather forecast & list of things to do, chunky glasses & house water, bathrobes, Molton brown toiletries.

Food at linthwaite is amazing - well worthy of all the received accolades and more! We tend to have the tasting menus with matched wine package. Each course is imaginative, beautifully presented and so tempting. Service is impeccable, and it's always a pleasure to see so many familiar faces who have been at linthwaite for years - always a good sign!

We've tried pretty much every high end hotel in the lakes - trust me - nothing compares to Linthwaite!!! It really is the best! We won't be wasting any more time or money going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel and tell them what you like! Different rooms match the different seasons , ie room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank delta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Many thanks for your fabulous review; you should write our copy!
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Best wishes

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked here on the recommendation of some dear friends and how right they were. An extremely warm, stylish and welcoming country house .... it feels like staying with friends. We had taken my ageing mother with us and our rooms were opposite each other ... A great help. The staff are very friendly, use names in most cases and nothing seemed too much trouble. Rob and Kip deserve special mention for their kindness and attention. Two small negatives: soft mattresses and pillows and very slow wifi - not quite the standard of the rest of the hotel. All in all we highly recommend this hotel for a short stay ... We had five nights and it's central location in the Lakes was very good for sightseeing drives.

Room Tip: 24 & 25 are ver private at the end of the corridor and secluded views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Lovely! Thanks for taking the time and trouble to review Linthwaite.
I hope we can welcome you back again another time,
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £200 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 36-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Spring 2018. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing