We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a perfect short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful bank holiday stay, and we cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. Arriving on a sunny afternoon, the gin and tonic on the terrace overlooking lake windermere set the scene for the weekend. The food was as good if not better than anything we have had at similar hotels - their chef is a real find. Service was relaxed but very efficient and the manager Sarah was an ever present smiling face. The public rooms are spacious and comfortable, and we simply cannot find fault. Not perhaps a hotel for young children, but all ages well represented. It is not the cheapest hotel we have ever stayed at , but well worth the money. We will be back, if allowed !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggins16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    182
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
990
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

This was our second visit to Linthwaite house and, if anything, it was even better than 5 years ago.
Room - very smart and very clean. We had a standard room and it was big enough.
Bathroom - very nice. The towels are absolutely the best! Molton Brown toiletries also very nice.
TV in room - very attractive, slimline although not really needed.
Service - Excellent. They all work very hard and are very efficient.
Food - They have been awarded a third rosette since our last stay and the food merits this. It is delicious. The pre-dinner canapes are also very tasty nd well presented.
The hotel is obviously very well run and reflects good management.

Not so good points - the room was very warm and opening the window let in the damp air.
The hotel is on high ground and the walk back up from town is daunting!
Overall, however, an excellent hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Just back from another wonderful stay at Linthwaite. Sarah, Mary and all the staff truly make one feel extremely welcome.

We booked for our 31st wedding anniversary and as usual we were not disappointed. We had room 31 (the Loft Suite) which is fabulous!

As ever, the food was amazing, and service exceptional - all in all a great hotel, friendly staff and just a wonderfully relaxing place to visit.

We would highly recommend Linthwaite to everyone, except possibly those with children.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYLVIA2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Stayed for one night in the hotel as wedding guests. First impressions were very good. Great view from the front of the hotel, staff very friendly - the reception is quite small so for a large group checking in it was a bit of a squeeze but no-one was in a rush and the receptionist was very attentive.

When we got to our rooms we were delighted. My wife would describe the room was 'boutique' (which means nothing to an ignoramus like me). The layout was fantastic and the shower/bathroom got a big thumbs up.

The meal was excellent and the staff were quick yet unobtrusive.

My one and only complaint was the bar shutting too early for my tastes...but then everyone else had buggered off to bed before 1. :-)

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed at Linthwaite House following our wedding in April. We had the loft suite and we were blown away by the size and the facilities. The pictures on the web site don't do it justice. A beautiful and enormous bathroom with spectacular centrepiece bath and fabulous bedroom with lots of storage and comfortable, stylish lounge area. Three TVs to choose from and so many electronic gadgets to play with! Unfortunately we weren't able to open the retractable glass roof as there seemed to be moisture on it during our stay and it won't open under these circumstances in case rain comes in (clever) and the sky wasn't clear enough to use the telescope provided. The food and service were second to none and as a vegetarian there was plenty of choice and my requests for dishes not on the menu were not a problem for the chef.
Only one (very small) gripe was that the loft suite is situated above the kitchen area and before breakfast and dinner there was a very noticable cooking smell, especially in the bathroom. The suite itself was very warm and there is no heating or air conditioning that you could control yourself. Having said that, when it was mentioned to reception they checked that no heating was on and then provided a portable air conditioning unit. We were also able to open some of the many velux windows in the suite.
The setting of the hotel is superb, with views of Lake Windermere and the stunning scenery beyond. The grounds and tarn are immaculately kept with plenty of grounds for a lovely morning or evening stroll.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie_Masson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe Bay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

My wife and I have just had a short break at this delightful hotel. From the moment we arrived to be greeted by a crackling log fire and the exceptionally courteous and professional staff, we were looked after to the highest standards.The variety ,quality and presentation of the food was exceptional and we were most impressed by the 14 acre gardens and the fantastic panoramic views.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggiesMorecambeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

We booked three nights as a honeymoon here, opting for a lake view (room 14, you can see it on their website) and where more than happy with our choice, it was the most relaxing vacation I have ever taken
The view was amazing; you could opt to pay more for a larger, superior room, but the view is worth more, not less!
We'd opted not to include food in our room rate - thinking we would eat out - but looking back this was an oversight. You won't want to eat anywhere else. The food was amazing, the wine list extensive and added to the atmosphere. The restaurant is cosy and the waiting staff extremely courteous; appertizers and aperitifs in the conservatory, then brought through to have soup, then starter, main course, pudding, and cheese,
before going back out for coffee and petit fours. A good three hours, and on the third night we even went for a walk after the main course and had dessert brough to our room.
On the second night we had all the courses in our room, and it was lovely to sit eating a five star meal after drinking champagne in the bath, followed by dessert, all brought up with minimal fuss.
The only issue we had was not enough table space to eat food in a civilised manner. We left the plates on the bed, but this might not be everyones tastes, and we did end up with a couple of stains on the blanket.
And even that led to a story. My wife had hurt herself at work, and was sleeping with a stuffed blue rat (Disney's Remmi), as well as another two bears. Coming back the first night we looked up to our room and saw them sat in the window, and assumed they'd just been moved from the bed.
In fact they'd been placed, very carefully, looking out at the boats on the lake.
So we wrote a note from them to say thank you, and went out the next day.
Coming back the second day to discover the bears sat on a napkin, with a cookie in the centre and pencil up one of their sleeves, attached to a string with a plastic lobster.
The note read that they'd been having a picnic after going fishing.

From this attention in our room service, to the more serious attention to my wifes dietary requirements, to even reminding her she'd written her maiden name, everything about this hotel is perfect.
We even had a bonus to discover because we'd booked three nights our last meal was free.
All extremely good

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing