We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break at Winderemere”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Just got back from a fantastic break at this beautifull hotel. Everything was more than satisfactory and I will be going back. Terrific Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fashionvictim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2010

And, joking apart, that was literally the only fault(!) I could find in a three day stay.

We got a great 'off season' deal (basically, we paid for room and breakfast, - dinner each night was free). i can't remember the last time i felt so relaxed (and i'm highly strung at the best of times). Service wonderful, friendly, warm and intuitive, but never over-familiar. coped very well when the hotel woke on sunday to find it snowing, and everyone wanted breakfast and then check out at once.

Quality of the food ranged from first rate to exceptional. Fantastic game and meat, desserts fantastic. Portions are not by any means hearty, but that's not the point - and at dinner, after olives, canapes (do not miss the canapes) bread, soup, starter, main and dessert, you will not be peckish. Excellent wine list, decent local beers at the bar.

Room nicely appointed and warm. Just be aware that this is a lovely old country house hotel, so it's not as sound proofed as modern ones, and the floorboards creak a little, so i guess you should consider this if you're a very light sleeper.

Lovely conservatory with lake views. 10 mins from windermere, but well out of the way of things, so great location.

Wanted a lovely romantic weekend for me and my girlfriends first anniversary, and it was.

Can't recommend this place enough, brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teutonic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Just back from a stay at Linthwaite Hotel celebrating my wife's 40th. The location is truly stunning, just outside the town and with views over the lake.
Overall, however, we had a disappointing stay. This was due to the laxness of the staff, not unhelpful just 'forgetful'. Considering the price and the reviews on this site I was expecting better, there wasn't one big problem just lots of little things adding up over our stay (only one night).
I was particularly disappointed by the attitude of the manageress when we pointed out that the price we had paid was more than they were currently advertising in reception. She compared it to buying a pair of shoes only to find them discounted in the sale. Whilst our stay was certainly more Clarke's than Jimmy Choo's this isn't the sort of attitude I'm used to from a service industry. Suffice to say, if you are going to book here, don't do it early, you're likely to leave short changed!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2010

Many thanks for reviewing Linthwaite and we were very sorry to see the complaint regarding service which we are normally renowned for (see above and below) and the complaint about the price. Firstly please accept apologies if we let you down on the service; it's not something that we are complacent about and most of the time it's very good. We are human though and occasionally fail. We know if we provide good service people come back so we'd be daft to deliberately provide bad service.

Regarding the price though, it is self evident when buying my own hotel rooms, plane trips, and other things, that the model for selling these items, since the advent of the web, is one which, if you want to be sure to book something of a specific type and for a specific date, you have to do it early.

Of course if you wait until later you may be lucky and find what you want for less, but it's a risk. If you sat on a plane and asked everyone what they'd paid for their seat you'd find many different rates. In hotels it's no different. However, if you book really early you may buy a seat or a hotel room for less, then when demand picks up so does the price. The nearer the date of departure (or arrival) if demand has slackened there may be an unloading of inventory; this is simply called yield management in the travel industry. Rooms and airline seats are highly perishable; once the date had passed we can never sell the space again.

You can't imagine someone booking a wedding to leave it to the last minute can you? So depending on how important it is to you you make a booking judgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Just so idyllic! Everything perfect from the wonderful food to the sumptious bed!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

A weekend break with our sister and brother-in-law to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and in a spectacular location. With a magnificent menu and courteous attentive staff our weekend became a relaxing culinary delight. Mike Bevans has a perfect balance with Linthwaite which only goes to prove that you get what you pay for. Can't wait to return. PS... Nearby Windermere Golf Club is as perfect a course as you will find with breathtaking views. Can't wait to return there either!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Fabulous food in a beautiful setting; staff are friendly and very helpful. How anybody in his or her right mind can rate it as 'terrible' is beyond me.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I had a one night stay here at the end of January with my husband, brother & sister-in-law as an after Christmas treat. My brother and his wife have stayed here before and rated the place highly. We were not disappointed. We booked standard rooms (this was all that was available when booking in early Jan) which were an adequate size and beautifully furnished. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. There are a few sitting areas with fires blazing and the atmosphere was lovely on such a chilly night and you never had a problem getting a seat.

The hotel is located in a great position overlooking the lake and has it‘s own tarn in the grounds..

Only downside is that there is no on site swimming pool or spa facilities. You can use somewhere nearby though.

I would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2010

Thanks very much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £193 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing