We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever !”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Ever !”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I attended a conference at this beautifull hotel this week, what an amazing place, from the breathtaking views to the superb welcome all the staff give you, and the food is just as amazing as the views ! the owner is an absolute gentleman and my hat goes off to him and his staff for the service, welcome and hospitality we recieved whilst there, I will definately be going back !

p.s. also must have the best bar in the Lakes !

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtoad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    188
    50
    23
    21
See reviews for
168
1,007
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed for two nights midweek on an evening meal inclusive tariff. Mistake. You cant eat such rich food two nights on the trot so dont try. Fine as a one-off special occasion but you have to be a foodie really, although all very well cooked, the food was a bit fussy for my simple taste, and the selection of food on the second night was pretty much the same as on the first, in fact more restricted. Service was ok but a but shallow and perfunctory I felt. The drinks were expensive. Room was good modern clean with a great view. Lounge areas were ok but not so I felt comfortable relaxing there. We tried to change our booking so as not to eat in house the second night but didnt get cooperation from the hotel which was a bit disappointing and made me end up feeling a bit robbed. I would recommend it if you get a good deal, on a room only basis, and eating in house one night only, but not what we did....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank givepeasachance3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
To give peasachance (nice email address!):
Thanks very much for your review and we are sorry you didn't really enjoy the "rich food".
I agree it can be rich but it depends on what you chose. Most of our business is based on couples who stay an average of two nights, and over 90% eat in both nights. It's not for everyone who stays though obviously. On the other hand we have just had someone who stayed 10 nights and ate nearly every night!
Anyway, we not only offer the locally sourced and carefully cooked cuisine which most love (see some reviews below), but also a simple alternative including gourmet hamburgers, fish and chips and such like and of course because we are a full service hotel you can just have a sandwich or bowl of soup if that's what you want. We are flexible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Travelzoo brought this to our attention. Winter offer includes B & B, dinner and champagne afternoon tea. It was all very good. The traditional tea was a real treat: enough for four people not two. The food is superb as is the service. Lovely views from the gardens and tarn.( lake ) The only negatives were the rather small standard bedroom, squeaky floorboards and thin walls which carried next door's TV noise.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write to Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

I was looking for somewhere special to take my wife for Valentine's Weekend. We've been to various places in the past, from The Old Vicarage Hotel & Restaurant, Worfield, Bridgnorth to Paris. This had to be special and different. I did a websearch for Valentine's Weekends and came across the Linthwaite House Hotel, Windermere.

It had been a long time since we had been to the Lake District. The downside was that it was the wrong end of the national park for my preference; too many tourists around Windermere but then it would be February so it shouldn't be too busy. The website presented a very attractive option so I booked it, with high expectations.

The hotel surpassed all our expectations. This was no cheap weekend but it was never intended to be. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. Nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail was remarkable. The place oozes with quiet sophistication and unusual touches. A hotel with its own tarn! A communal jig saw in the lounge! A range of CDs and DVDs to borrow. An unusual selection of magazines to read. Beds turned down at night! It was all we could have wished for a special weekend.

Evening meals began with champagne and canapes in the bar. The menu included local smoked salmon, crab, venison and pheasant. There is an extensive wine list; a surprising number were available in half bottles. The restaurant was quiet and meals served efficiently.

The rooms are luxurious. We chose a superior room for the occasion. It wasn't the most expensive available. The view looked down and over Windermere. Molton Brown toiletries and waffle bathrobes helped to make it a special occasion, as did the extensive range of single malt whisky in the bar.

Staff were attentive and uncommonly friendly without being false. When we wanted fresh milk in the room for our tea and coffee, we rang reception and it arrived in minutes. We arrived back later than expected one evening but it was no trouble to put back our reservation in the restaurant. This was no pretentious nouveau riche kitsch. It was genuine, old world charm and comfort. Just right for a specal occasion.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Wow! It's great to know we are getting most things right most of the time. Running hotels is like walking the tightrope; great when you get it right but then just occasionally.....well we are human after all.
Thanks very much for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We have enjoyed staying at Linthwaite House Hotel 5 times and can thoroughly recommend it. Its' stunning location overlooking the lake in beautifully well kept grounds has its own tarn, croquet lawn and, wonders never cease, an area to pitch a golf ball!!! The new rooms are modern, stylish and extremely comfortable, (the older rooms in the original part are quite small). The cuisine and staff are 1st Class, however it appears that some are on the move, which may be detrimental. Time and more visits will tell!

Mr. & Mrs. G.Allaway. S.Derbyshire

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank S_DerbyshireCresta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Just got back from a fantastic break at this beautifull hotel. Everything was more than satisfactory and I will be going back. Terrific Hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fashionvictim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

And, joking apart, that was literally the only fault(!) I could find in a three day stay.

We got a great 'off season' deal (basically, we paid for room and breakfast, - dinner each night was free). i can't remember the last time i felt so relaxed (and i'm highly strung at the best of times). Service wonderful, friendly, warm and intuitive, but never over-familiar. coped very well when the hotel woke on sunday to find it snowing, and everyone wanted breakfast and then check out at once.

Quality of the food ranged from first rate to exceptional. Fantastic game and meat, desserts fantastic. Portions are not by any means hearty, but that's not the point - and at dinner, after olives, canapes (do not miss the canapes) bread, soup, starter, main and dessert, you will not be peckish. Excellent wine list, decent local beers at the bar.

Room nicely appointed and warm. Just be aware that this is a lovely old country house hotel, so it's not as sound proofed as modern ones, and the floorboards creak a little, so i guess you should consider this if you're a very light sleeper.

Lovely conservatory with lake views. 10 mins from windermere, but well out of the way of things, so great location.

Wanted a lovely romantic weekend for me and my girlfriends first anniversary, and it was.

Can't recommend this place enough, brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teutonic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing