We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps an off-day?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perhaps an off-day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We visited for afternoon tea today and although the food was absolutely delicious and the decor and setting are beautiful we were disappointed with the service which lacked the attention to detail I would expect of a hotel with such a promising reputation.

The chef was very accommodating of my dairy intolerance, but the service was poor. Dirty cups from previous guests were not removed until we had drunk coffee and our cakes had arrived and one glass remained throughout, our own sandwich plates were not removed at all – all this despite the fact that we were clearly pushed for space – see below. We were only asked once if we would like more tea or coffee, and this was very shortly after receiving our drinks.

We took the only set of 4 seats available and it was clear we would not have sufficient space for afternoon tea as there was only a very small table set by the chairs, this would have been fine if a member of staff had brought over one of the other tables in the room. As they did not do this we were concerned how we would manage but other guests left, so we took their place, but a heavy chest/table was set far too close to the seats to make this comfortable, my mother and I clearly had our knees together and lower legs splayed uncomfortably – a little attention to detail would have noted this and a hotel team members could have offered to have moved the sofa to give us more space.

All in all a disappointing experience due to lack of attention to detail which means I will not be staying here and am unlikely to return for a meal, a real shame as it has glowing reviews and accolades.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emielovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
We are very sorry to read this review. There are no excuses for an off day; the staff involved were very upset to read this review, but that's because they care. As you can see in the other reviews, and refer to in the "perhaps an off day", we do not normally offer an experience such as you encountered. But thanks for telling us. As I say to my team, "there's no such thing as failure, only feedback!"
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    179
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
984
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed for two nights in January. The hotel is set in its own grounds overlooking Lake Windermere - an idyllic setting! Reception - warm and welcoming. The room was spotless, roomy and comfortable -quality toiletries in bathroom. Service was impeccable, from all staff throughout our stay. The food was exceptional- beautifully prepared and presented, at both dinner and breakfast. Restaurant staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the food and the wine. All in all an exceptional hotel in every way!! Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alandug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Wow! Many thanks for your great review and pictures. You might like to know we are starting a photo competition at the end of March; watch our web site for details. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I thouroghly enjoyed my stay. Starting from the crispy welcome by the front of house staff to the professionalism in the dinning and lounge area. Hotel is perfactly situated in the hill top with an excellent view of the lake from my room. Very quiet, peaceful and embedded with flora fauna. I like the tran very romantic and nice place to stroll.
I booked the hotel to spend my anniversary and a surprise to my wife. The way i visualised and planned the act it was professionally executed by the hotel team, my wife's first expression was wow! Its not very easy to perform as the third person think but this hotel team have exceeded beyond imagination. Im not giving a single flowery word but thats the truth. In the food and berage serving areas SIMON was excellent and professional, we enjoyed his hospitality through out. Big cheers to him.
As a location walking distance to Bowness pier, Marina village and so on.
I loved Windermere and in the near future i ll positively come back to receive such a royal hospitality.
A big thnx to th LINTHWAITE TEAM for making my anniversary sooooooooooo.. special.
Special thnx to Simon, Amy and Jessika.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirthankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Many thanks for your glowing review, we are all blushing! Simon is a great member of staff, and he typifies the way we like to do things.
I hope we can welcome you back for another anniversary, if not before.
Many thanks
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

have only been home a few hours and am wondering when we can return. after hours of searching for hotels i chose Linthwaite and booked a weekend there as my partners xmas present. As it was a gift i plumped for the Loft suite and was not disappointed, it really is special and i highly recommend it. The staff are so welcoming, the food is wonderful, the ambiance is warm and there is no stuffiness here, the restaurant staff particularly deserve mention, our waiter was lovely and a credit to thre hotel. I considered Holbeck Ghyl . The Samling and Gilpin Lodge but as a fan of Chic Retreats chose Linthwaite and I urge you to do the same! We will without doubt return!!

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alistretford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Many thanks for your kind words, it really does make it worth while for the team to see that their hard work and efforts are rewarded like this.
We hope to welcome you back again soon and hope you continue to get many more wonderful Christmas presents like this.
Best wishes,
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

This is a top hotel with food, staff and location to match.

I wanted a special place for my wife’s 40th and was delighted with the Linthwaite. It is perfectly located; set in beautiful landscaped gardens, 30 minute stroll to the pubs and restaurants of Bowness and the Brent Fell walk is a very pleasant.

The hotel is appointed to a high but unstuffy standard with very comfortable beds and pillows. My wife always approves of Milton Brown, so was pleased to see the bathroom kitted out with various creams and cleansers. Room 4 is a belter.

The food is first class. Great choice of local produce, superbly cooked (didn't use the salt or pepper once). This and the service were faultless. The staff are incredibly friendly but not over the top and are happy to either chat with you or leave you in peace. The wine menu is extensive to say the least with prices starting at around £ 20.00. Andy, the GM, (Nice bloke) is a wine buff and more than happy to recommend wine to suit. The pre-dinner canapés are a nice touch. The breakfast, especially the haddock and poached egg, is a must with great orange juice.

It’s not a cheap stay but will not disappoint. Having walked around the areas of Bowness and Ambleside and seen some of the other hotels I was contemplating, I was relieved to have paid the extra for the Linthwaite.

Would definitely recommend and already looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger_Dad70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
As one who was born in Leicester, I suspect I am addressing a Tiger's supporter. Anyway, many thanks for choosing Linthwaite and thanks for all the kind words.
We hope we will be able to welcome you back again one day, after all it's only a short drive from the City.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hotel was recommended by a friend and it was exactly as one would expect. The food exceptional the ambience exactly right. Indeed it is what anyone would wish for from an hotel. We will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thanks very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Linthwaite, and each time we book we think it can't get any better than our last visit - but it does!

They really have mastered the art of making guests feel well looked after, whilst not being too "in your face" - the hotel is tastefully decorated and well looked after, and the food is truly exceptional.

We're already planning our next trip..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wernhamresidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing