We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - Excellent staff”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - Excellent staff”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed at Linthwaite House for 3 nights in January and had a great time. The room was nice, not massive, but was clean and had all we wanted. We ate in the restaurant the 3 nights we we're there and it was really good. There was the odd occasion when the flavours weren't quite there but that was a rarity. The presentation and service was faultless! The staff were helpful but not overbearing (which is a hard medium!) and always on hand to help with all important wine choices. Of which there are many thanks to there superb (and award winning) cellar selection. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere. Formal and with the feeling of it being an occasion but not stuffy thanks to a good mix of guests and the staff not afraid to have a joke if the right moment presented itself.

The grounds are pretty special too, what with the view of Windemere, and the Tarn just up a well marked path (which was frozen when we visited but still beautiful). We were sad to leave as by the 3rd day we were just getting into our daily routine of a very nice filling (but not greasy breakfast), a day out exploring then back to Linthwaite for a Gin and Tonic and a great meal.

I keep mentioning the staff but they really did make our stay so much better, thanks to there warm welcome, always being helpful and friendly and above all always trying to make our holiday really special. There are more expensive hotels in the area to stay at but I doubt they'd be as welcoming and enjoyable to stay at as Linthwaite.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonkeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
171
1,007
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights in one of the Delux Rooms, as a birthday treat. We could not fault it one bit, it was fantastic. We had everything in our room that we would possibly need such as Wide Screen TV, DVD Player, IPOD radio/alam, WiFi, kettle, fridge, iron etc. There was also a complimentary bottle of water and a jug of fresh milk in the fridge for our tea/coffee and we could even borrow DVDs and CDs from Reception. The breakfast was superb and there was plenty of choice. The hotel staff were so efficient and friendly; they made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed for three days and had a wonderful time. The hotel is extremely comfortable with attentive but not intrusive staff. Dining is a memorable experience with excellent food and wine. The grounds include a beautiful tarn and wooded hillside with views across Windermere to the wooded hills and fells beyond. I could find no room for improvement!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had a really excellent weekend in Linthwaite House, where we joined two other couples for a relaxing break. The welcome set us up perfectly - log fire in reception and friendly faces. Our room was lovely - another fire, gorgeous big bed, fresh milk and mugs for tea. Superb bathroom. Food was terrific, from the lovely canapes served on snuggly sofas in the lounge to the gorgeous desserts - all prepared with real care. Local food and lovely flavours. Breakfast was amazing - interesting choices and again all superb quality. This is a great hotel for a weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BargeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We visited for afternoon tea today and although the food was absolutely delicious and the decor and setting are beautiful we were disappointed with the service which lacked the attention to detail I would expect of a hotel with such a promising reputation.

The chef was very accommodating of my dairy intolerance, but the service was poor. Dirty cups from previous guests were not removed until we had drunk coffee and our cakes had arrived and one glass remained throughout, our own sandwich plates were not removed at all – all this despite the fact that we were clearly pushed for space – see below. We were only asked once if we would like more tea or coffee, and this was very shortly after receiving our drinks.

We took the only set of 4 seats available and it was clear we would not have sufficient space for afternoon tea as there was only a very small table set by the chairs, this would have been fine if a member of staff had brought over one of the other tables in the room. As they did not do this we were concerned how we would manage but other guests left, so we took their place, but a heavy chest/table was set far too close to the seats to make this comfortable, my mother and I clearly had our knees together and lower legs splayed uncomfortably – a little attention to detail would have noted this and a hotel team members could have offered to have moved the sofa to give us more space.

All in all a disappointing experience due to lack of attention to detail which means I will not be staying here and am unlikely to return for a meal, a real shame as it has glowing reviews and accolades.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emielovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
We are very sorry to read this review. There are no excuses for an off day; the staff involved were very upset to read this review, but that's because they care. As you can see in the other reviews, and refer to in the "perhaps an off day", we do not normally offer an experience such as you encountered. But thanks for telling us. As I say to my team, "there's no such thing as failure, only feedback!"
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed for two nights in January. The hotel is set in its own grounds overlooking Lake Windermere - an idyllic setting! Reception - warm and welcoming. The room was spotless, roomy and comfortable -quality toiletries in bathroom. Service was impeccable, from all staff throughout our stay. The food was exceptional- beautifully prepared and presented, at both dinner and breakfast. Restaurant staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the food and the wine. All in all an exceptional hotel in every way!! Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Wow! Many thanks for your great review and pictures. You might like to know we are starting a photo competition at the end of March; watch our web site for details. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I thouroghly enjoyed my stay. Starting from the crispy welcome by the front of house staff to the professionalism in the dinning and lounge area. Hotel is perfactly situated in the hill top with an excellent view of the lake from my room. Very quiet, peaceful and embedded with flora fauna. I like the tran very romantic and nice place to stroll.
I booked the hotel to spend my anniversary and a surprise to my wife. The way i visualised and planned the act it was professionally executed by the hotel team, my wife's first expression was wow! Its not very easy to perform as the third person think but this hotel team have exceeded beyond imagination. Im not giving a single flowery word but thats the truth. In the food and berage serving areas SIMON was excellent and professional, we enjoyed his hospitality through out. Big cheers to him.
As a location walking distance to Bowness pier, Marina village and so on.
I loved Windermere and in the near future i ll positively come back to receive such a royal hospitality.
A big thnx to th LINTHWAITE TEAM for making my anniversary sooooooooooo.. special.
Special thnx to Simon, Amy and Jessika.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirthankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Many thanks for your glowing review, we are all blushing! Simon is a great member of staff, and he typifies the way we like to do things.
I hope we can welcome you back for another anniversary, if not before.
Many thanks
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing