We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host,excellent breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent host,great location in the heart of bowness. our room upper level in need of modernising and was alittle small for the cost of the room.
Breakfast superb every
morning good selection available.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here in March with my partner for an overnight stay. Brilliant location as it is near shops, greats bars and restaurants. The owner is friendly and welcoming and our room was lovely with the added bonus of an air bath. Very reasonably priced and we were served a fantastic breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here on 25th April.

I arrived in advance of my Boyfriend who was playing golf until 5pm and was joining me thereafter. I arrived just after 2pm and received a lovely warm welcome.

I was shown to my room - a delightful large room with a 4 poster bed; one small snag for me was that it had no shower. Although the hotel was pretty full - with no fuss whatsoever - I was offered an alternative room. I was given Room No.5 and I could not have been happier. Although not a 4 poster, it was a most delightful spacious room - with the most comfiest bed ever! and the little pack of home made biscuits was a lovely touch.

I enjoyed a little time in the Guest Lounge reading my book (the lounge has complimentary Port and biscuits) ... lovely touch!

My Boyfriend joined me at 5pm and we went out to dinner at Postillion (see separate review).

Breakfast at Virginia Cottage was beautiful .... the best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted and piping hot! My Boyfriend - always - wherever we stay, complains about the quality of breakfast sausages - but not on this occasion - he said they were excellent quality!

Virginia Cottage is in an excellent location and the ability to use the car park of the hotel opposite without any charge is a godsend. (Parking voucher given on arrival).

Thank you very much for a most enjoyable stay.

We will not hesitate to return and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Perfect location and good breakfast and good service and cleaning engouh. The boss is very kind. Easy parking you can go other lakes very easy.

The room is very nice for the four foot bed, my daughter is very interesting on it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here on 25th & 26th april. Easy to find and in a great location. Car park is just over the road in another hotel. Had an issue with our room after the first night which was resolved immediately. Breakfast was excellent and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very good B&B in an excellent location, only 100 yards from the shops, pubs and restaurants. Great breakfast. Friendly and informative staff. Owners have plans in place to update and modernise where required. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Tague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Virginia Cottage. We received a very friendly welcome and were made to feel at home. The accommodation was very good, as were the breakfasts.Virginia Cottage is well situated in Bowness. All in all, a very welcome break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,053 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £88 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing