We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect weekend away could not hav asked for anymore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Me and my partner went for are birthday and had an amazing time we stayed in the suite which was lovely and verry clean room made up every morning . When we got there there was home made buiscits which we're verry yummy and I nice thought in the room . Breakfast every morning was perfect I am veggie so had a veggie sassage which was verry nice my boyfriend had bacon and sassage which he says was really nice there was not one thing I could fault about are stay and we will defiantly b e going back again soon .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolamahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here with friends who recommended it as they'd stayed before. We were not disappointed. Wonderful staff, superb 4 poster, delicious home made biscuits and perfectly situated. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KerryShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to the B&B and the stay was as fab as the other 2. We take our cocker spaniel with us and stay in room 4 with its corner spa bath and 4 poster bed. Always well looked after and catered for even the dog gets a sausage for breakfast. Can't wait till next time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dawsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely B&B. Spa facilities nearby (included) were very enjoyable. Great location. The couple that own the Cottage cannot be more helpful. Full of little details like home made biscuits on arrival. Breakfast might not be very varied but excellent quality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angus2014271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I called up to book a holiday for my husbands birthday. There was a room available that wasn't online as it had a skylight instead of a window. The room was small but gorgeous and practical. Homemade cakes were set on the dresser with the tea n coffee. Sherry and biscuits a available in the downstairs lounge. There was a power cut in the morning of our stay and the staff still managed to serve a full English breakfast on time and perfectly cooked. That was amazing!!! Made us feel so welcome and comfortable. I will recommend this place to everyone. Just fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent host,great location in the heart of bowness. our room upper level in need of modernising and was alittle small for the cost of the room.
Breakfast superb every
morning good selection available.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here in March with my partner for an overnight stay. Brilliant location as it is near shops, greats bars and restaurants. The owner is friendly and welcoming and our room was lovely with the added bonus of an air bath. Very reasonably priced and we were served a fantastic breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
582 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £90 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing