We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Nights in Virginia Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 Nights in Virginia Cottage”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was one of the best B&B's that we've stayed in.
We were warmly greeted and that stayed with us for the whole stay.
Room was excellent and the breakfast was delicious, just we needed to set us up.
All in all a smashing break which was made brilliant by the B&B.
When, not if, we go back to Bowness we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    144
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
44
545
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

great little place this. a warm welcome, beautiful room (no.11) with nice little touches like homemade biscuits in the room and less than a minute walk from some great restaurants and the lake. really nice breakfast too.

honestly I can't think of a single thing wrong with the place, other than we had to come home.

if you're looking to stay in bowness then just stay here, you wont be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank awonnacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Virginia Cottage at the end of a 6 day walking holiday and treated ourselves to two nighjts in the suite. It really was a treat. The bedroom was huge with a most comfortable four-poster bed. The lounge area was lovely and we were treated to a selection of beautiful home made biscuits on the hospitality tray. The bathroom had a loively spa bath- just the thing to ease the aches and pains! Our hosts could not have been nicer or more welcoming and the breakfasts were lovely. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back to stay at Virginia Cottage. Thank you so much for a lovely ending to a loively walking holiday.

Room Tip: Book the suite, it really is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank martin1096734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The best B&B we have stayed in. Warm and friendly. Good food in a lovely diningroom. The room was elegently furnished and very comfortable. All in all a greatplace to use as a base for planning a holiday in the Lakes.

Room Tip: All rooms well furnished and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dr_Plemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having arrived in Bowness, we found the separate parking and walked on to find Virginia Cottage - ostensibly quaint, but being shown to our room which overlooked the main road, we were quick to discover that it wasn't quite the best. A window overlooked the road and the pub next door, there was a tiny 'luxurious' shower with a separate toilet in an equally as small 'cupboard' and the bed, whilst comfy, was too small for anyone over 6 foot.

Run solely by the owners, which is a lovely touch, Virginia Cottage is a pleasant B&B, the breakfast was ok, as was the room. The owner was very helpful and friendly - sent us next door for food - which was very tasty.

Just a bit too noisy with cars zooming past in the a.m when you're trying to relax. The added bonus was the free access to the Spa down the road (a shame that the staff there were horrific). If we were in a different room, perhaps it would have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JKON86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilleshall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were welcomed with sherry and home-made biscuits on arrival which was a thoughtful touch. The room was small but with an ensuite shower room and lovely and quiet as requested. There were tea/coffee making facilities. As a base for a weekend away it was absolutely suitable for us: within minutes of the town centre, close to the harbour, restaurants, buses, ferries and beautiful views.
Breakfast was delicious and ample with good choices: we filled in a menu form the previous day and the owners had provided a lovely little sitting room where we could read and chat to other guests. We also enjoyed free parking close by which was great. On the whole there was a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DigbyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice place to stay,Close to the lake for boat trips and lots of shops...we had a lovely room and such a nice breakfast too..some nice little touches too,with biscuits home made upon your arrival...well worth the money and would love to visit again sometime.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 with a spa bath and four poster bed..very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Property: Virginia Cottage Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing