We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Everything good from start to finish. Good location. Brilliant Rooms. Brilliant Staff. Nothing we did not like

Room Tip: Good Staff, Nice Rooms, Brilliant Management
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    369
    165
    74
    42
See reviews for
237
799
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

booked a late break deal dbb,arrived monday 28th march, sun was shining bright.
turned up a little early went to book in car with reception and had pleasant surprise room was ready.
stayed in room 73 which is known as tower room,lift to second floor then one flight of stairs,the walk is worth it for the outstanding views,however stairs could be problem for the less mobile.
meals and service were spot on as usual could not fault it.
looking forward to our next visit.
a big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Fantastic views, the staff were really helpful. A slight problem one day when there was a wedding on and we had to ask for our room to be cleaned at 3oclock.
Overall we enjoyed it and cannot wait to get back there this year.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank stingray888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

the hotel is so rich and grand, has loads of potential. looks beautiful from the ouside. The views over the lake is simply stunning. However for the price paid i eel you do not get the money worth as the rooms are dates, including the bath suits. a bit of tlc would take this hotel far. other thn that, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, they also delivered extra freshh towels instantly when ordered. couldnt do enough to help..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The poor service and meal we recieved at this hotel has inspired me to write a review and warn others not to waste their money when choosing a hotel in the lake district. On arrival we were given a double room with a nice view overlooking lake windemere. The room and the hotel were fine but appeared a little neglected and unloved. There was no bath just a shower and the showerbase was chipped and had black mold on the lower tiles.

The dinning room staff appeared disorganised and unsure which tables they were covering. For a starter my husband ordered a dish with blackpudding being the main ingredient. On arrival at our table the main ingredient had vanished!!! When we asked the waiter what he thought had happened to the blackpudding he looked perplexed and said if we wished he would ask the chef.

The main course reminded me off my old school dinner but my husband suggested his school dinners were a vast improvment on the mess we were served. One slice of lamb was presented on a bed of what looked like wallpaper paste made from potatoes . This was accompanied by a medley of over cooked veg and burnt saute potatoes dripping in gravey . When we were asked if we wanted mint sauce a dollop of mint in concentrated vineger was delivered onto the plate by the waiter. The vast amount of mint sauce merged with the gravey and swampped the dinner plate. At this point we decided not to continue with our meal and declined dessert and coffee. We complained to the manager who accepted that our experience was not a good one. I have to admit we were not charged for the meal but we did go to bed slightly hungery.

We had stayed at the Belsfield Hotel 22years ago when I was pregnant with our daughter and the return after all these years was most disappointing to us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LancsMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The location of this aging grand hotel is excellent with a lovely view of the lake ,quietly situated ,but yet central to Bowness and all its ameneties.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and genuinely seemed to care.
The Victorian hotel however is in need of updating .The cavenous dining room lacks charm and atmosphere and certainly needs redecorating..Take a look at the Old England hotel which has been refurbished ,with comfy sofas and appealing furniture,the owners ,Corus ,could learn a lot from how the Belsfield should be marketed.Our bedroom was a good size and had a lovely view of the lake ,but we needed an additional heater in the room to keep us warm.The blankets were old and tired and should be replaced .The bathroom was dated and the noise from the gurgling plumbing was amusing but not in the middle of the night.
We had dinner on the first night -but would not recommend.The lamb was tough and was very strong in flavour.It was served in mint gravy which was so acidic that it would have removed rust from metal.Needless to say I didn't eat it .The vegetables were raw -not al dente -but the broccoli was cooked to a mush.The potato served was a quarter of a roasted jacket potato,reroasted ,so it was dry and hard.
Breakfast on the first day was good.Self service.On the second day ,due to an apparent rush of guests ,there was very little food left for us,the staff tried to be helpful and asked the kitchen to cook some sausages and saute potatoes for us -this was gratefully received, but the bacon was so dry and overcooked that you could have soled your shoes with it.
In conclusion ,it is such a shame that the Belsfield did not meet our expectations.The food should be better and with some TLC this wonderful building could be great again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anniversarycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Having booked a 2 night break, we were pleased to be told we were being upgraded to a room with a "Lake view" when we checked in.

The hotel is a magnicent looking building from the outside with fantastic views of the lake. When exiting from the main entrance at the rear of the hotel, it is a short 2 minute walk down to the numerous pubs and restaurants in Bowness. The rooms had clearly been recently refurbished with wall mounted flat screen TV, new light fittings and good mattress / modern bedding. However, the carpets still looked shabby, particularly in the corridor where several tears were taped up. We were also slightly disaapointed with the shower. Despite the shower head being a new fitting, the water pressure was non-existent as the water flowing from the shower was a mere trickle.

Most of the staff we came into contact with were East European and were keen to provide a good service. We found breakfast to be excellent - this was cooked to order on the first morning (due to there being only a small number of guests) and was buffet style on the 2nd morning.

Our only real gripe was the noise coming from the adjacent room whose bathroom shared a wall directly with our bedroom. During the evening / night, we were periodically disturbed by banging against the wall, usually followed by the toilet flushing. Elbow room was tight in the bathroom and we could only imagine that the guests next door tended to lose their balance and fall against the wall when visiting the toilet. Whatever the reason, this caused our sleep to be disturbed on both nights. Given the low number of guests staying in the hotel, we would have preferred it if guests could have been spaced out more to avoid noise coming from next door neighbours.

If returning in future, we may turn down an upgrade to a "Lake view" if we are likely to get a better nights sleep in a less popular area of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing