We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Just returned from a two night stay and have to say i really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is quite old fashioned in certain places but this just adds to its character, the staff where friendly and welcoming and the food both at breakfast and evening dinner was delicious. The bar prices are quite steep but i suppose this is to be expected when staying somewhere like this

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Belsfield so other interested parties will be keen to stay with us.We hope to see you again in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    359
    159
    68
    40
See reviews for
222
773
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed here last minute for my birthday and upon arrival we felt the woman on reception was looking down her nose at us. It is overpriced for what it is, as it is in need of a refurb and we were given a very small room. We also had to wait a long time to be served at the bar. It is in a great location and the view of the lake is lovely but we weren't impressed with the welcome we received so i'm not sure we would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beautygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I can only offer my sincere apologies for the lack of welcome & hospitality you received on arrival. This is out of character for my reception team. I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding your impression of your bedroom and the hotel for as you will have noticed from earlier replies and other guest feedback we have invested in the redecoration of guest bedrooms and public areas. Should you decide to revist the hotel please contact me so i can ensure you visit will be memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed her to celebrate my wife's birthday, booking it last minute. The room was very good for such an old style hotel, the bed was huge and the decor was fresh (looked like it had been refurbished recently). All the staff were very friendly, it was a delight to relax in the bar admiring the fantastic view across the lake. The food was first class, from the full English breakfast to the wonderful 3 course meal we had on the Sunday. During our stay my wife misplaced her Iphone in the lounge and it was handed in by an honest member of staff.
Would/will recommend this to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gholt417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your praise for all aspects of the hotel you experienced on your recent visit. I was pleased to read of the safe return of your partners iphone. We look forward ro welcoming you back on a future celebratory ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Comfy rooms with a great view of Windermere. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was well equipped. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the full english breakfast which was buffet style with plenty of choice. The evening meals were nicely presented, again with plenty of choice, and variety, and we enjoyed our coffee in the lounge which had great views of the lake.
Little disappointed with the indoor pool as it was quite a trek to get to as we stayed in the 'Garden rooms', the pool looked somewhat tired and was poorly lit when I viewed it.
The reception staff were very helpful when we were booking the room and we were pleased with this.
The gardens are well kept and would be lovely in the summer, but in October they were still nice to walk through.

Room Tip: In the centre of Windermere and close to the launches - you can watch them during breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTaz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive comments following your recent stay. We look forward to welcomong you both back in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My girlfreind booked us in here for my birthday..on arrival there was a birthday card for me in our room..the views of lake windemere was breath taking,and the lounge area was very relaxing.were looking forward to our return very soon

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay to celebrate your birthday. I was pleased to note your appreciation of the Birthday Card in your bedroom as this was an initative introduced by Mara to recognise all celebrations.
We look forwatrd to welcoming you back on a future celebratory ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

dont bother untill the corus group spend some money and bring this hotel up to standard
as is run down & tired.

Room Tip: take your own mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We felt we had done all we could to please this guest but we accept that this may not always be the case. We recognise the comfort of hotel mattresses to be a challenge as every guests experience on a mattress is different. Corus hotels have invested substantially in the Belsfield so i refute the claim of the hotel being run down and tired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have been meaning to write this for so long because this place was exceptional! My wife and I got married here in May 2010 and have returned several times since. We love it and whats even better is that we see the same faces here each time. Roger (the manager) was absolutely fantastic - he sorted out all our wedding needs and made the day the best day of our lives... the venue is so beautiful, the food tasty and all very reasonably priced.

All of the staff are very professional and friendly - they are all so helpful.

The hotel has so much character - the building has been kept in good condition with a number of rooms recently refurbished. The view from the front are incredible!

We will keep returning to this hotel and hope others love it as much as us

Room Tip: Lake view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for your comments with regards to your wedding reception and subsequent visits to the hotel. It is rewarding for us as much as yourselves when we see familiar faces returning to the hotel. At times it feels like we are one big happy family. We also cater for christenings and hope you may consider us when the ocassion arises.
Best wishes
Roger and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing