We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break at the belsfield hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at the Belfield two weeks agao for a weekend break and had a great time,the hotel is lovely with lovely views overlooking the lake.We made use of the lovely indoor pool which was very clean as well as the changing area. We ate in the resturant both nights as the food was fantastic as well as the breakfast. The hotel has lovely grounds for a walk with shops and a little town close by. This was a great weekend away with my family and would definatley reccomed staying here and was great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Recently spent a weekend at the Belsfield with a group of friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From making the initial booking (thanks to Kate) to arrival at Reception, staff were very helpful and welcoming. We were a group of 16 and the service at the evening meal flowed from starters to desserts (with the obligatory glass of wine inbetween). The food was excellent (including the buffet breakfast, with a good choice of food freshly prepared) and staff very attentive. I had requested a room upgrade, and was not disappointed with the standard of the room and the lovely view over Lake Windermere.
Admittedly, the hotel is in need of updating re decor, but work seems to be ongoing in parts of the hotel. The centre of Bowness is just a short walk from the Hotel, and I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I think an upgrade is worth the extra. Room 66 is bright and spacious, with an excellent view to Lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback following your recent stay with your friends. I was pleased to read all aspects of your stay were exceeded and how much you enjoyed the views from room 66. We hope to welcome you back on a future ocassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed at the Belsfield for 2 nights 28th and 29th February 2012 for a wedding at the Belsfield of my friends Pat and John. It was a fabulous wedding on the 29th, everything was organised brilliantly by the Hotel. The food was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they go out of their way to ensure you have everything that you need. The Hotel is first class, with amazing views of the Lake. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to my friends, and if anyone is thinking of getting married in the Lakes, try the Belsfield you will not be disappointed.

Louise Boardman - Room 316 (Great Room with lovely view of the Lake)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Louise
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay to celebrate Pat and John's wedding reception. It was a memorable ocassion for all of us involved and a pleasure to have played a part in there special day.
I had the pleasure of handling Pat and John's initial enquiry and like many of our weddings they had fallen in love with the views from the hotel and felt comfortable with the traditional style of the building and friendliness of my team.
We wish them every hapinness in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have just returned from a short break holiday. As always we have been very impressed by the high quality service,and efficiency provided by all the staff. The food was faultless. The room was spacious, warm and of a high standard and we are already planning our next visit.
Excellent value for money;,.

Room Tip: When booking state your needs as there are a variety of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a tricky one to rate as I think it depends when you go and which room you have. We were also taking advantage of a special offer so we have to factor in the excellent saving we made. We visited this beautifully located hotel last month and were given a room in the annexe. It was minus 2 outside and we arrived at 3pm. The corridor from reception to our room was unheated and so was our room. A very helpful member of staff brought a room heater and also showed us how to switch on the heating unit on the wall (which doubles as an air conditioner). The bathroom was terribly cold and we immediately switched on the heated towel rail but despite this being on 24/7 this room was always very cold. Our bedroom radiators eventually came on at about 5.00. Looking back, we should have asked to be moved as even when our room warmed up we had to dash down the chilled corridor to get from our room to reception/dining room and bar. However, we chilled out in the bar (no pun intended) until the room warmed up. The hotel has a wonderful history and period decor which we love but where are the log fires? We saw only these deadful mock-stove effect fires which give out little heat and no atmoshere. We overheard that the hotel is about to be given a multi million pound re-fit. PLEASE put back your lovely real fires! We ate dinner in the restaurant and the staff and food were faultless and we were so impressed that we returned the next evening. However, this time the food was rather disappointing - maybe it was chef's night off! The view from the dining room at breakfast time was stunning. Buffet breakfast was OK - but it was buffet, not freshly cooked. The free wi-fi was a bonus. I have been visiting the Lake District for over 40 years and have always wanted to stay at this hotel but was disappointed. If I'd paid the rack rate I'd have been even more disappointed. I think that even if we'd been put in a grander/warmer room I would still have had the feeling of 'past and faded glory'. Will re-visit after the re-fit!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the annexe as the corridor can be quite chilly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woolywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We endevour to keep all areas of the hotel warm in exceptional cold conditions so i cannot understand why the central heating was not functioning correctly. Your request for additional heating was beneficial as you pointed out the receptionist was able to explain the dual function bedroom heating.
Your comments regarding log fires have been noted.
I was dissapointed to read dinner on your second night did not meet the standards of your first evening. The kitchen team are all trained to deliver the consistent standards expected of our guests so there is no reason why they let you down.
We hope you reconsider and will return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A two day break at the Belsfield was just what myself and my wife needed to recharge our batteries at this half-way point between Christmas and Easter. The view from our first floor room was breathtaking and the room itself was clean and comfortable. The staff were professional and friendly at all times. Our swim and sauna prior to our evening meal was relaxing. The breakfast and evening meal were excellent on both days and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: A lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us following your recent stay.
The Lakes is a beautiful area & i cannot think of a better place to recharge your batteries at any time of the year. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My review is only average because I feel 'very good' is not a true representation. The Belsfield is hard to rate but read on. Location is first class and impossible to fault. Good safe and private parking too. The Belsfield is typical of many hotels which were first class 20 years ago. It is a fantastic hotel building oozing with character and typically English, and I feel really bad highlighting the less than positive points. However, it feels a bit dated and rough around the edges. Let me state from the start, staff and service were fantastic and totally without fault. Breakfast was superb and faultless, fresh food and plenty of staff to look after you. Lake views from the dining room, and lovely atmosphere. We had a great weekend in this hotel and I feel awful about highlighting the bad points. I hope that my praise of everything else makes up for this. We did not use the bar or restaurant in the hotel apart from breakfast so can not comment on these, but the bar looked really nice with lake views through the large windows. Unfortunately, I felt our room was poor. It was large with a lovely comfortable and cozy bed. There was a bad dampness problem with the room though (number 75) , wallpaper peeling from the walls and ceiling above the bed. The bath had obviously been re-furbished in the past but was peeling badly and the shower had to be run for 5 minutes or so (no exaggeration), before it became warm enough to use. We did not spend much time in the room, so our priority was a clean bed and shower, and the room delivered this. It was just a shame about the problems above and I feel that the hotel should address these problems. We did not complain to the hotel, the price we paid with Travel zoo was fair and a good buy. However, if we had paid the full price then I would have demanded a change of room. We had a free bottle of wine in the room and the deal we got was very good and I feel bad about highlighting my misgivings about our stay but feel I must be totally honest. To summarise, fantastic location and staff and good private parking. Hotel a bit dated but lovely atmosphere, warm and cozy with great views of the lake from bar and restaurant. Room lost this hotel points though, due to the points mentioned above. However, I would have no hesitation staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spookggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us.
Our location is stunning and can be appreciated from so many aspects within the hotel.
Your positive comments are very much appreciated as are your observations with regards to your bedroom. We have experienced leaking rain water with the flat roof above room 75 and apologise for the wallpaper peeling off as a result of the leak. It was a case of waiting to make sure the leak was water tight before we replaced the paper.
We are in the process of replacing the previously re enammeled bath and will investigate the lack of hot water to the shower at the same time.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £133 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing