We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number 1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
MORPETH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Number 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from another visit to belsfield been going there for 11years now. Lately we,ve noticed a lot of changes to the decor a lot of money has been spent on renovation. The reason we keep going back is the location view [spectacular], friendly staff from management right down to cleaners and the superb food monday night for example chefs special was chargrilled steak what other hotel would offer this without a surcharge been to many hotels in the lakes but this is definetly No 1

Room Tip: stayed in several rooms and never had critiscm of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HANKMorpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your review following your most recent stay with us. We are continuing with the redecoration and refurbishment of the hotel and it is rewarding to note the progress you have noticed during your visits.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    344
    157
    68
    39
See reviews for
214
748
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
254 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Belsfield with a walking group (75+ of us) and our package included two nights stay and a dinner/disco. Our room was comfortable and well equipped with a huge bathroom and slightly soft beds. Many of our group had a panoramic view of the lake from their room, but unfortunately we didn't. My only suggested improvement for the room is to get better quality coffee sachets (even Nescafe would be an improvement on what's on offer).

The hotel is 167 years old and isn't as pristine as a modern building, but is full of character and well maintained, probably within a tight budget. The staff are a real asset here and the reception staff and others were helpful and friendly.

The swimming pool and sauna are an added bonus and the pool is around 20m in length, which is unusually large by today's standards.

Breakfast and dinner were satisfactory. I suspect the dinner for our group was a budget menu compared to the main restaurant offering.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay along with your colleagues. I was pleased to read you found the time to use our indoor pool and sauna as these are often overlooked as our scenic surroundings take precedence.
Your comments regarding the quality of coffee in the bedrooms will be taken on board.
We hope to welcome you back individually or as a group on a future ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

Decided to have lunch on the terrace today to enjoy the wonderful views and sunshine. The offering was typical run of the mill English poor quality food and service. Go to the bar and order and pay for a drink. Heaven forbid the staff could possibly wait on the tables. The place was practically deserted so it was more than feasible. Requested a menu. It took the bar man a while to find one which left me wondering just how many meals do they serve? Order at the bar with your table number: does this ever happen in France or Italy? No. There would be table service and I cannot for the life of me imagine why this rather attractive looking hotel with nice grounds couldn't do similar.
I ordered a PLoughmans lunch. The quantity of cheese was laughably small; the bread was large in quantity and very likely not baked on the premises but more than likely defrosted on the premises. There was a bit of iceberg lettuce and a single slice of tomato! Have they never heard of rocket or radicchio?
This Hotel has plenty of good physical attributes but really they need to up their game.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank RIB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent bar meal at the hotel. Please accept my apologies for the indifferent quality of food as described in your review. It is unusual for us not deliver the correct standard. I take on board your comments with regards to the European style of table service however at peak times of which there are many unfortunately it would not be practical or feasible and this is the practice in all of the larger food outlets in Bowness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked the hotel using a KGB voucher, staying on a Friday and Saturday night at the beginning of March. The hotel is easy to find and has an ideal spot next to the lake and also the town of Bowness-On-Windermere. Check in was quick and front desk staff were very friendly and provided plenty of information about the hotel and its facilities. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was a lot larger than we had expected with a double bed and also a separate room with a single bed. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom were perfect. Although we didn't have a lake view, it didn't spoil the weekend and we found our room comfortable and ideal for our needs. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and found both the food and service to be excellent. The menu offered plenty of choice for us and all courses arrived quickly. All of the waiting staff were very polite, friendly and attentive. The restaurant has lovely decor and looks out onto the lake, although being night time we did not get to see the lovely view. Breakfast in the morning was again a great experience and the staff worked hard to ensure we were provided with coffee and toast and that tables were cleared away quickly and food, juice etc. were kept fully stocked. A good selection of both hot and cold food was available. We both commented how efficient the restaurant was and were also able to appreciate the amazing view of the lake whilst we ate. We chose to have breakfast in our room on the 2nd morning which consisted of cereals, yoghurt, pastries and toast as well as coffee and juice. The pleasant surprise was that this did not cost us extra which I have to say is a first for a hotel but was much appreciated.
Although there was some work going on in the hotel, we had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate in going back. The walk to the town takes 5 minutes where there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.
Well done to The Belsfield and all of the staff who made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matth2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us earlier in the month.
My staff will be pleased to read your praise for there service and friendliness.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at the Belfield two weeks agao for a weekend break and had a great time,the hotel is lovely with lovely views overlooking the lake.We made use of the lovely indoor pool which was very clean as well as the changing area. We ate in the resturant both nights as the food was fantastic as well as the breakfast. The hotel has lovely grounds for a walk with shops and a little town close by. This was a great weekend away with my family and would definatley reccomed staying here and was great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Recently spent a weekend at the Belsfield with a group of friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From making the initial booking (thanks to Kate) to arrival at Reception, staff were very helpful and welcoming. We were a group of 16 and the service at the evening meal flowed from starters to desserts (with the obligatory glass of wine inbetween). The food was excellent (including the buffet breakfast, with a good choice of food freshly prepared) and staff very attentive. I had requested a room upgrade, and was not disappointed with the standard of the room and the lovely view over Lake Windermere.
Admittedly, the hotel is in need of updating re decor, but work seems to be ongoing in parts of the hotel. The centre of Bowness is just a short walk from the Hotel, and I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I think an upgrade is worth the extra. Room 66 is bright and spacious, with an excellent view to Lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IGG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback following your recent stay with your friends. I was pleased to read all aspects of your stay were exceeded and how much you enjoyed the views from room 66. We hope to welcome you back on a future ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed at the Belsfield for 2 nights 28th and 29th February 2012 for a wedding at the Belsfield of my friends Pat and John. It was a fabulous wedding on the 29th, everything was organised brilliantly by the Hotel. The food was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they go out of their way to ensure you have everything that you need. The Hotel is first class, with amazing views of the Lake. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to my friends, and if anyone is thinking of getting married in the Lakes, try the Belsfield you will not be disappointed.

Louise Boardman - Room 316 (Great Room with lovely view of the Lake)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Louise
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay to celebrate Pat and John's wedding reception. It was a memorable ocassion for all of us involved and a pleasure to have played a part in there special day.
I had the pleasure of handling Pat and John's initial enquiry and like many of our weddings they had fallen in love with the views from the hotel and felt comfortable with the traditional style of the building and friendliness of my team.
We wish them every hapinness in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing