We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views, old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“amazing views, old hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has the most amazing location and views across Lake Windermere are fantastic. Half of the rooms, the restaurant, bar and reading room look out across the lake. It is well worth upgrading to a lake view room if you are going to stay here. The breakfast is lovely, with great choice of both hot and cold, with great service. We used the pool and sauna every day of our 3 day break, and each time it was empty and we had it all to ourselves. The pool is quiet big, and a little cool, and is now getting a little old and worn around the edges - but still very servicable. The sauna is quiet small and fits max 6 people, and you have to switch it on 20 mins before use if you are the first person in there. This area is unsupervised and you have to get a key from reception, so cannot allow children there alone. The rooms were adequate with everything we could need, but as with the whole of the hotel, they could do with some decoration and maintenance to bring them back to their former glory. It is a very large, old hotel and has great character. The staff are lovely and helpful, and there is a lot of information availabe about the area, and books on local walks can be purchased at reception. There's a large free car park, and we never had trouble getting our car in even though it was Easter weekend and the hotel was full. The location of this hotel is it's saviour without a doubt, on the lake front, 2 minutes walk to the main street of Bowenss-on-Windermere where there are a number of great bars and restaurants to chose from, and lots of lovely shops to keep you occupied. We visted the nearby Tapas which was good and very resonably priced with great atmosphere, and the Porto restaurant, which was a little more expensive but food was lovely. We did not have an evening meal in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food quality, but the menu looked very good. You can walk easily to Windermere village - 1 mile - and a nice walk from here is up to Orrest head (20 minute walk to top of a hill with great views over the lake - sign posted from opposite the information centre).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. It seems never ending with the maintenance of the building and sometimes we think we have only scratched the surface.
I was pleased to read your praise of my staff.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    359
    159
    68
    40
See reviews for
222
773
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Arrived for a prebooked 2 night stay and the receptionist had all the paperwork ready for us to sign. She was polite and friendly and directed us to our ground floor garden/lake view room. The room was nicely decorated/furnished and had a powerful shower over the bath, t.v., hairdryer, ironing board and iron and tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary biscuits.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and were very pleased with the service, food - nicely cooked and presented. After our meal we enjoyed the views from the lounge over the lake - wonderful.
The hotel has a swimming pool but we did not get chance to use this facility.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short break at the The Belsfield Hotel, the staff were very attentative, the food was excellent (buffet style breakfast) and the accommodation was clean and well presented.
The hotel is situated opposite the lake and is well sited for boat trips, the town and its pretty shops, bars and restaurants (top tip - eat at the hotel it is definitely worth it!)
I would recommend the hotel to others and will be returning myself in the future - thanks to everyone for making our recent break so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldD-Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I booked a two night break for two....on the last minute...directly with the hotel. We were given a very reasonable price for two nights bed, breakfast and evening meal in a room with a lake view. I have always wanted to stay at this hotel due to the location.....directly overlooking the lake..and was not disappointed.
The views were fabulous....from the room, the lounge, bar and dining room. There was also a lovely garden and veranda area where you could take in the lake views. All credit to the gardeners at the hotel which were beautiful and obviously very well looked after.
The food both evening meal and breakfast was of a very good standard and there was plenty of choice plus the menu changed each night. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful.
The room was also very good. We got a very good nights sleep, there were a couple of chairs and table in the window so that we could sit and enjoy the views.
We also enjoyed a swim on one evening and a visit to the sauna.
The only downside of this hotel........and to me it was insignificant especially given the price we paid.....is the swimming pool and the hotel exterior. I think that if the hotel was completely repainted on the outside and some money spent on upgrading the pool.....to include jacuzzi and steam room etc. then the hotel could be outstanding.
I have stayed at several hotels in Bowness and the Belsfield beats them all.
If you want a good nights sleep, good food, fabulous views and the best location.....just a walk down through the gardens to the Lake and Boats ...then I thoroughly recommend this hotel.
The gardening team in particular are doing a fantastic job.......but all the other staff too are a credit to Corus Hotels.
Thank you for a VERY relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room.....it is worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazjam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to record your appreciation of our Views, well maintained gardens, quality of food and caring staff. We are hopeful of painting the lakeside exterior of the hotel iduring the year and your comments with regards to leisure facilities have been passed on.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife booked a two night, mid week break for my birthday, and we stayed in a 'superior' room overlooking the lake.
The first thing we noticed on entering the reception area was a rather foisty smell. Booking in was done very efficiently, and we were directed to our room, although on the second floor, no offer to help with our luggage was offered.
On entering the room we were disappointed with its rather poor overall look.
The carpet looked faded , the furniture tatty...the view however, was fabulous....
The en suite was also disappointing...the cistern was hanging off the wall, the shower was out of the Ark...the maintenance work that had been carried out was obvious to see...rather DIY and by no means professional.
It was also apparent on looking at the outside of the building....that metal gutters were rusting...the wooden soffits rotten, and rust stains running the depth of the building.
The Bar area and furnishings could best be described as looking like a job lot from a second hand furniture auction...
The restaurant was also rather stark...however, the food was of quite a good standard.
Breakfast was very good...a buffet type...and very good quality...
In conclusion, the hotel has some good points but they are far overshadowed by the numerous bad points

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StChristopher_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I can understand your comments with regards to some of our furniture however it is in character with the ambience of the building. I apologise for housekeeping not noticing the toilet cistern had become loose from its fixings but it was not hanging off the wall as you described. I accept the majority of our redecorations have been inhouse and occasionally there are areas for snagging. these will be rectified. It is our desire to repaint the lake elevation this summer when with the correct equipment we will be able to reach the high areas you noticed from your bedroom window.
I was pleased to read the standards pf food and service in the restaurant was satisfactory.
We look forward to welcomeing you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Perfectly situated hotel over looking the lake. Only 5 min walk to all shops, bars, restaurants. The hospitality was second to none and the facilities were great for a 2 night break. The only small note I would make is that the swimming pool could do with a little revamp. The pool is very clean and great temperature but looks a little dated now - would also be nice if they added a steam room & jacuzzi to the sauna area.
Overall, had a fantastic time and great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent 2 night stay. As most peopler discover our location is perfect for all ocassions and so close to Windermere Lake Cruises and local shops and services.
I take on board your commenrs with regards to the swimming pool area. We are hoping as part of the hotels development to create a new leisure facility in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our third holiday here and as always we were quite satisfied. The staff are a credit to the company and could not be faulted from the cleaners to the management. The restaurant is fine and the staff first class. If you do have a steak be particular about the way you want it. Other than that no problems.We shall be back again without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMJ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read we had met your expectations on your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Enjoyed a short break at the Belsfield this week a really good location overlooking Lake Windermere ,Very good attentive staff ,excellent food .. A very positive experence

Room Tip: Ask for view of Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you found all aspects of your stay to be worth praising.These comments are well received by my team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing