We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views from a fine traditional English hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Yokohama, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent views from a fine traditional English hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times before and love this hotel. OK, so it's not new and modern, and things are a bit creaky, but it's got character and a warm relaxing ambience. I don't get to the UK enough, and this was a shortish trip, so we booked a lake view suite and it was fantastic, helped by the amazing weather at the time. Food and dining room service faultless, professional and friendly. Bar prices reasonable and service honest and genuine. It's virtually in the quaint town of Bowness with it's good shopping, and close to the lake. Garden absolutely beautiful. I just feel so lucky to have been able to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    370
    166
    74
    42
See reviews for
238
799
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Went to the lakes district with no accommodation booked or preconceived ideas, we were looking for accommodation and drove into the driveway of the Belfield, it was a little drizzily and chilly and we walked in to inspect the property first, there awaiting us was a lovely fire and the warmth of it radiated through to their staff who could not have been more helpful, we were offered a suite for 110 pound including breakfast and upon inspecting the rooms could not sign in quick enough. the view over the lake at Bownes was spectacular,the hotel although old was oozing the old world charm of yesteryear and a certain granduer that made you feel you were being treated to a lifestyle of a bygone era. the lift was an original and could cope with 2 people or 1 person and 2 bags, the dining area and bar invited you to just want to sit and enjoy the ambience of the room and meal.
We walked all around the town found a quaint movie theatre,watched a movie and then had dinner at one of the delightful pubs on the way back.The next day we woke to the unusual english sight of sunshine streaming into the bedroom looked at each other and said lets stay here a few more days, friends met up with us who were staying elsewhere and you could see the pangs of jealousy as we brought them to our suite for a glass of red wine.How did you find this was their comments and i am just so glad we did,if you want old world charm ,romance and a picture perfect then look no further. this was one of the genuine highlights of our UK visit

Room Tip: ask for a lakeview room or suite if avalable, you will not be disappointed in anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenroben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. Clearly you had a fantastic stay with us and was able to appreciate the charm and splendour of this beautiful victorian property.
When guests mention there stay with us as being a highlight of there holiday it makes it all worthwhile for my team and staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed here having decided at the last minute not to drive back from Ambleside after working in the area on Saturday evening. There were two of us (males) in a twin room which drew some curious looks from the coach load of pensioners who surrounded our room...we aren't!!

We found ourselves in a ground floor room which opened out onto a small terrace in a beautiful garden which you can walk through down to the lake, this and the view from the breakfast table made the hotel worth the money on it's own. Some of the decor is a bit tired and like most other hotels of this kind it has that musty damp smell in places but the room itself was clean and facilities were of a good standard.

Being musicians we rolled in at 2.30am and were greeted by the night porter, unfortunately we then decided we were hungry and went out to look for food...I forgot we were in Bowness...so on arrival back at the hotel at about 3 am we were let in again without fuss and on pleading starvation the night porter offered to get us some sandwiches. Very welcome indeed and unexpected.

I am planning to return for a leisure break with my wife in the future but no traveller should have any qualms about booking here.

Room Tip: The view from the ground floor annexe rooms is not spectacular but if the weather forecast is good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skidsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your rather brief but enjoyable stay with us recently. I was pleased to read how accommodating the night porter was with your request for late refreshments. Bowness can be quiet at 3.00am!!
Our ground floor link rooms are popular with access to the outside terrace and patio tables and the current views of the gardens are spectacular.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Had an excellent bar meal - on a sunny day sitting outside with the superb view - really excellent

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback with regards to our bar food and the abundance of sunshine you and other diners enjoyed overlooking the Windermere Bay. Not quite as sunny over the Jubilee weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My partner and I booked the Hotel on recommendation of a relative who had stayed here on several occassions. I am also one of those individuals who uses Trip Advisor for reference. I am more than pleased to add our experience was first class. Yes, - this loveley Hotel is old, full of character and historic charm but provides an ambience of excellent hospitality, guest service and excellent food in a magnificent location overlooking Lake Windemere. I would have nop hesitation in returning. My thanks to management and all the staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I was pleased to read your comments with regards to taking a balanced view of previous trip reviewers and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have previously stayed at the belsfield but havent been for 2 years. just back after a glorious sunny weekend there. I was really impressed with the improvement and refurbishment done since the last time I visited. I would advise if possible to upgrade to the suite or four poster rooms as the view is one of the best in the world. compliments to all the staff at the hotel from kitchen, house keeping, reception, management etc. they couldnt be more helpful and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel for the price and view you cant beat waking up to panoramic view of lake windermere and the mountains. Thanks to all at the Belsfield

Room Tip: try to upgrade to a lake view, suite or four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback covering all aspects of your recent stay. I was pleased to read you had noticed the improvements we have made over the last couple of years.
It was a fantastic week end for weather and so pleaseing to see the hotel grounds overlooking the lake bursting with resident and day visitors. Lets hope we have so more of the fine weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Me.andmy partner didnt stay at the hotel.but loved look of it so we went for a look around.staff were really freindly we stayed there all evening,having drinks with beautiful view you can see its loved,we loved that it was old and lift fab,there was a couple there on there 6th visit,we really want to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your positive comments further to your recent visit for drinks on the patio are overlooking the Lake. As you mentioned we hope to welcome you on a future ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
972 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing