We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lakeland view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakeland view.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Upgraded to lakeland view bedroom and must have one of the best views of the lake. Our bedroom was very comfortable and clean but have stayed in a caravan with a bigger bathroom. When in the shower the controls stuck in your back and so little room the shower curtain stuck to your body. The receptionist found us another room but the bathroom looked no better and room not as good. All staff in the hotel were friendly and very amiable, the food was okay for what we paid. Would recommend if you enjoy bathing do not have room 32 unless you are willing to forfeit your bathroom for the superb view.

Room Tip: Check with receptionist if bathroom is adequate in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Thankfully the views from the bedrooms do in some cases compensate for the compactness of the shower room. This will addresses as part of the hotels development programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    352
    158
    68
    39
See reviews for
219
760
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Having just returned from an over nite stay with three of my friends I can say we were all very pleased with this hotel. After reading some of the reviews we were a bit worried but decided too book it anyway and were so glad we were not put off. It's a lovely hotel with loads of character an fits in very well with it's surroundings we had two twin rooms with lake views what were very clean with really good facilities ie iron,tea an coffee biscuits and even a fan to keep us cool. The views from our rooms were amazin an the grounds are beautiful. The staff are all helpful an friendly especially at breakfast and we had no complaints about the breakfast we all enjoyed it. Really good location too. Well done the Belsfield I would recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lea-anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your honest assessment of the hotel and accurate in many respects. You have mentioned the hotels character which is in keeping with its heritage. Trip advisor does offer a balanced perspective from each guest and as we all know we all have different expectations according to previous experience and value for money.
I was pleased you enjoyed your brief stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Belsfield has seen better days. The decor is very old fashioned, the rooms smell musty, paint is peeling and the carpets need fitting properly (a trip hazard if you are not careful). It felt like we were walking into an old people's home (no offence to old people but you get the picture). On arrival after a very long and stressful journey through appalling weather, we had to wheel our cases through the dining room while people were at dinner. Too late for dinner, we were told we 'just might be able to get a sandwich' despite the advertised 24-hour room service. However, our room on the ground floor (no. 16) had a great view of the garden and lake for which we paid extra. The gardens are beautifully kept.
Buffet breakfast was OK but decided to eat out in the evening (can highly recommend Rumours- just a short walk away).
This hotel could be a wonderful, luxury hotel if it was given a complete face lift. The location is great with wonderful views and just a short walk from the lakeside, shops, bars, cafes etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden or lake view but be prepared to pay extra for it. Don't use Nos 14 or 16 as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Loolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. As mentioned in an earlier reviw we experienced some water damage to our entrance carpets hence the odour of staleness. The accompanying humidity caused our lounge carpet to stretch causing ripples which is being addressed by our carpet fitter. The direct access route to rooms 14-18 is througth our restaurant as opposed to corridor over & stairs down.
Like many hotels in offering 24 hour room service this is limited to traditional sandwiches when the kitchen is closed. I was pleased to read you found the location to be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here for long weekend great base ideally located on the lake quite old fashioned look and feel but think that's what makes it work very ideally located in bowness for walking around shops pubs etc very nice

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read how much you were at home with the Traditional Aspects of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Horrible musty smell in reception - building seems badly in need of decoration, refurb, and deep clean. Paid extra for lake view but window was small and in the corner. Very noisy room next to the door to get onto the floor. Vastly overpriced!! Location is good near to the lake and town. Not overly impressed with the breakfast - cereal decanted out of boxes so no idea of brand or how long it's been sat out. Just disappointed as expected better for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmilyandAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I apologise for the musty smell however as with many private homes & businesses in recent weeks we have experienced the full force of nature and the odour of rain water can linger.
I am sorry on this ocassion the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to have a short break in Bowness and thoroughly enjoyed it. Right on the front in Bowness its situated perfectly to go for a wander around. We stayed in a double room which to our surprise when we got in was more like a mid sized suite with living room and sofa which was brilliant! Room whilst quite plain was perfect for what we needed for our base. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

When we first arrived at the Belsfield the staff were very polite & friendly and couldn't do enough for us, hotel has a nice cosy feel. It could do with a lick of paint, but that didn't dampen our stay in any way! We had a lovely room overlooking Lake Windermere & the gardens and grounds are lovely for a stroll about in the evenings. We feel there could of been more choice on the bar menu as we prefer eating in the bar, which has more relaxed feel on holiday rather than sitting in the restaurant! Breakfast is buffet style, which is great as you can pick & choose how much you want to eat! Had a game of table tennis & snooker in the games room which is a great way to unwind! Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone & look forward to booking our next stay at the end of the year!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay. Your suggestions with regards to our bar menu will be taken on board for the benefit of other guests. I was pleased to read your praise for the magnificent views and the well cared for gardens. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing