We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely break”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

spent a lovely night on kgb deal .well worth money hotel style and decor is lovely ,homely and interesting. full of character far better than boring modern that you can get anywre .dined in restaurant in evening food lovely ...overall staff nice and pleasant.grounds are lovely views are amazing and the location is superb.very clean and would recommend to anybody .pool was bit cold but sauna was good would like to reurn in future x

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0ntey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    359
    160
    68
    40
See reviews for
226
776
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just back after spending two nights at this hotel and we truthfully had a great time. Hotel is a bit old fashioned but with character which is what I prefer. Hotel was spotless, rooms very clean and staff very helpful.

The grounds at the hotel were superb and you can see the amount of work which is put into it. We were lucky as the sun shone around 4 pm and the view over the Lake was magnificent.

We would recommend this hotel and will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: If you want you can pay more and get a room overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brando28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I was pleased to read you liked the traditional atmosphere we have maintained. Not always every ones cup of tea!!
As for the sunshine we could do with more of the same.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

we visited on the 15th of july for 1 night with a kgb voucher,we arrived early on the sunday as wanted to make the most of it and parked up and went to see reception to see if we needed a parking permit and where told our room was ready early so we checked in at lunch time and left the car and went for a wander round
we arrived back and had the afternoon tea which was lovely we sat in the bar looking over the lake and the gardens outside are lovely cannot fault the views the only thing was the bar man could of been a bit more pleasant but the rest of the staff where lovely
the room for us number 77 was fine it was clean and comfortable
breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we have had fabulous choices and very nice efficient staff we would definately return as is in a prime location and easy to get around bowness just wished we had packed swimwear

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for your praise of the hotel. We look forward to you staying longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The location of this hotel is superb, there are lovely gardens and fabulous views across windermere. However this is spoilt by the dated and at times weird decor. I really didn't understand all the dog ornaments in the reception area a large bowl of fresh flowers would be much nicer.
The whole place is in need of a facelift everything looks rather tired. Our room was a good size but dark and dingy and the bedding was past it's best. The shower room was tiny and the towels well used. The food was ok but the breakfast dishes were refilled very slowly so people were standing around with plates of bacon waiting for eggs.
The staff in the restaurant were very nice but management seemed to be having a breakdown in communication. I had telephoned the hotel the day before to confirm arrangements for a room and a trolly for the wedding cake but on our arrival no one knew what we were talking about.
On our first night as part of a wedding party there was also a large coach group. Only one person was on duty at the bar and the queues were long all evening.
As part of a wedding group we understood we were charged a discounted price of £135 per night I have to say I don't think the package was worth that. I have stayed in much nicer BandB's for a fraction of the cost.
We did write to the manager stating our disappointments and received an apology. Unless a massive facelift is undertaken and the management start working together these prices are not justified.

Room Tip: Unable to do that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joyce24_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your opinions following your stay to attend a wedding reception at the hotel.
The decor of the hotel reflects the character and charm of a period building. We quite like the bric a brac in the lounge area and this is reflected in the number of positive comments we receive and young children find the dog ornaments amusing and friendly.
As you mentioned in your review and earlier letter whilst the trolley may not have been available as you expected it was resolved without any further fuss.
Your comments with regards to the quality of linen and food service were taken on board and reviewed in light of your experience.
My letter of apology clearly failed to address your concerns.
We do have a perfect setting and from the majority of reviews we function well as a team and recognise we will never meet every ones expectations irrespective of how much they pay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 for my sisters wedding, i can see why the picked this hotel as the views are amazing we were lucky enough to have fantastic view overlooking the lake..... and that where the good stops.... rooms had holes in the duvets, wall paper peeling off, paint on window sills peeling off, chipped shower tray, stains on the carpets it was very poor to be honest and at a special rate of £135.00 per night i think it was very poor, the hotel is very tired and needs a good revamp then and only then will it be worth the rate they are charging ...... breakfast was poor at no point during breakfast was any food replenished, not impressed.

On a good note i did write a letter of complaint to the hotel on my return , it was dealt with straight away and i was given £135.00 refund with a covering letter explaining the issues i had raised, i believe i was one of the lucky ones though as i have spoken to other guests who had there own issues, who have been offered nothing other than a letter saying how sorry the hotel was.

Overall the hotel has a perfect setting its just a shame its tired!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view as the back of the hotel is horrendous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank littlemissla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay to attend your sisters wedding in June.
As you correctly pointed out you did raise concerns after your stay and a gesture a financial compensation was made as your comments all be it some what exaggerated were fair to a point. Other guests also raised similar issues however I believe a written apology was sufficient with regards to there concerns.
The hotel is in a magnificent location and the perfect venue to celebrate all family ocassions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

stayed here just for 1 night on a kgb deal b&b room (no33) was spacious and very clean,its not a modern hotel so dont expect to have walk in showers but it is a beautiful old building and just sitting in the grounds takes you back in time.breakfast is a buffet style so its up to each person how much or little they want, we noticed that you can have a very reasonably priced sunday carvery there even if you'e not stayig at the hotel take advantage of this as the views from the dining room are spectacular. would certainly stay again and use the leisure facilities next time. the hotel is just a short walk into the village or you can walk through the grounds to get to main road and the lake.the staff where all very helpful and pleasant. thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scouser58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Upgraded to lakeland view bedroom and must have one of the best views of the lake. Our bedroom was very comfortable and clean but have stayed in a caravan with a bigger bathroom. When in the shower the controls stuck in your back and so little room the shower curtain stuck to your body. The receptionist found us another room but the bathroom looked no better and room not as good. All staff in the hotel were friendly and very amiable, the food was okay for what we paid. Would recommend if you enjoy bathing do not have room 32 unless you are willing to forfeit your bathroom for the superb view.

Room Tip: Check with receptionist if bathroom is adequate in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Thankfully the views from the bedrooms do in some cases compensate for the compactness of the shower room. This will addresses as part of the hotels development programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing