We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,646)
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveller rating
874
441
194
87
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
874
441
194
87
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewbeautiful hotelmain restaurantdrawing roomafternoon teaswimming poolbuffet stylelake districtcoffee machinecourse mealcream teasconesreception areahigh standardfantastic viewscar parkmy partner
Filter
Updating list...
1,435 - 1,440 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This isn't 5 star luxury but the character of the building and the staff more than made up for standard of accommodation. The food is excellent, we dined one night in the restaurant and the standard and menu choice is excellent. Also the breakfasts were superb, freshly cooked and served with a smile.

First impressions are that the hotel is tired and needs modernising. Beyond that is a very pleasant hotel that has loads of character and very attentive staff. We will definately be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A large imposing Victorian building that was once a private home - still felt like a private home that had to suffer my visit.
Bedroom / bathroom was clean and well furnished and the quality of the food in the restaurant was very high. Decor could have done with an upgrade as carpets looked 'tired' with ducktape used to repair in some places. Would also recommend an investment in door dampers so doors closed silently.
The location couldn't have been more idyllic with the Hotel having large patio and well kept garden area to enjoy the beautiful view of Windermere.

Room Tip: A lake view is preferrable
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

From being a child I had always wanted to stay at the Belsfield, so as a wedding anniversary present to us both, we stayed here last Friday night. We had an end room on the first floor, with lovely views of the lake - would have been even better if it had not been raining, but there's nothing we could do about that! The bathroom had a new loo and sink but the bath and shower could have done with an upgrade, but this did not bother us.
We had a drink before dinner out on the terrace, even though it was still raining and admired the view.
We had dinner at the hotel which was OK, had alot better and alot worse elsewhere. Feeling stuffed, we went into Bowness for a few drinks and could not get over how quiet it was! We went back to the hotel and had a drink in the room.
Had a very good sleep and breakfast was fine in the morning.
Staff were all very pleasant and friendly and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
We paid £159.60 for dinner bed and breakfast through the hotel website.
p.s. the lift is Victorian, just about fits in 2 people and one bag – it has the old fashioned cage doors that you operate manually.

Room Tip: choose a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyTPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here for an organised break with Titan. The hotel as many others have said before is 'tired' but some effort has been made with regards re- decoration, in our bedroom the wallpaper looked new as did the electrical fittings but the paintwork needed doing and some electic points were loose and fixed crookedly. The buffet breakfast was disappointing as it became 'baked' when sitting from 7.30 until 9. We were on a fixed choice menu which was ok but on the evening when we had the oppurtunity to up-grade it was improved. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. One disappointment was the advertised free wifi, a code is given to enter but we were both unable to access it, but on the bright side it meant no work. The hotel is open to non residents and this makes it rather noisy and crowded at times and when waiting to order drinks at the bar hotel guests could be given a separate one to improve things. The best thing is the view,when sitting looking out over the Lake it was wonderful. I would rate this as good but there isn't this option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I have just returned from at stay at this wonderful old characterful hotel. We went following an offer we couldn't refuse, not knowing what to expect after reading some of the comments on here. We had the most wonderful time. The staff are very friendly and professional. The room was spacious, and although not having a lake view, was comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was extra, but the hotel gave us 2 vouchers, which saved us £3 each per day. It was buffet style, which meant you could have as much or as little as you wanted and was very tasty. We had dinner in the restaurant on our second night and could not fault it. Beautifully served by very able staff and it was delicious! Well done to the Chef. The view from the terrace is to die for. You could sit for hours and watch the ferries travelling back and forth up and down the lake.
Our only criticism.....The bar could do with a bell. Nowadays staff are expected to multi-task and it would have given them some idea that there was someone waiting to be served while they were having to deal with their other duties.
We WILL be back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a room with a lake view. If not, try and get a garden view. Your stay will then be perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews