We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel aimed at the older market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel aimed at the older market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Belsfield Hotel is located in an excellent location and is a great hotel to stay in for a more older clientelle I think we were the youngest there and we are in our mid twenties!

Breakfast was great a nice selection and eggs to order as could be expected.

The rooms were large and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    345
    157
    68
    39
See reviews for
214
749
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very good helpful staff, good rooms and clean, breakfast good standard, public areas very nice, fantastic location, very nice gardens down to the lake.
This poor old hotel needs some love and attention and a couple of million quid. The indoor pool was very cool (as in cold not kool). and the changing area uninviting. I think our group could have expected better at £150prpn.

Room Tip: If you book by phone insist on a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmaFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our first visit to the Lake District and to the Belsfield Hotel.
After checking in and receiving an access code for the free wi-fi we went up to our room, No.82.
The room was very clean with double glazed windows. It had a very comfortable bed, built-in wardrobe, flatscreen TV with Freeview, kettle and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was modern and spacious with a heated towel rail and white fluffy towels.

We didn't have a view of the lake from our room but we were staying at the hotel for a friend's wedding so we weren't in our room much anyway. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful.

It was a bit busy at breakfast time as there was a Maserati convention happening in the hotel but the staff were very quick and we didn't have to wait very long to be seated.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in this wonderful picturesque location.

Room Tip: Room 82 doesn't have a lake view but it is a corner room so we didn't hear any noise from pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Amazing views over the lake, waking up each day to see a different picture. Staff were so friendly, hotel very clean. Food great. Location perfect. Gardens and terrace very good. Drinks prices a little expensive, but so were the other hotels. Good parking.Like most big older hotels, decor could be better but that did not deter from the great holiday.

Room Tip: we had the top floor, with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Pros: Fabulous location and lots of parking. Cons: Tired interiors throughout. Dated & shabby. Bedrooms priced at least 40% above their standard. Trouser press not working /Grubby bathroom needs way more than a bit of regrouting that had been applied / No Gym/ No Laptop Lan connection/ Breakfast extra & not available till 7.30am, says 'No business travellers please'.
Owners (Corus) need only head South to Lancaster House Hotel for an example of what a modern customer focussed hotel should offer or head North to Hunday Manor. Both cheaper and 2 stars ahead of the Belsfield. Such a shame as a peerless location in Bowness, that alone keeps it in business I suspect. The dilema for the business, take the cash & under invest v refurb and justify the prices? Let me help, you'll only take my cash once.

Room Tip: Only experienced room 74 whcih was shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights at the Belsfield on a bed and breakfast basis and really enjoyed the break. It's well worth spending a little bit more for a lake view - and these are better than those at the Old England down on the shore because of the elevated position. Didn't try the restaurant for an evening meal since there are so many options down in the town, but breakfast was ample and the staff were very friendly. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Always request a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyke50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had a one night stay Fri 7th Sept booked in a double lake view room. We arrived about noon and checked in and was pleasantly surprised that our room was available. We were allocated room 62 which whilst perfectly adequate was a little small and near the far end of the building so not directly over looking the lake. We asked if we could be moved and were given the keys to 52 which was absolutely perfect. This room was a little bit bigger that 62 but this was right at the centre of the hotel with a view to die for of the lake and the perfectly manicured gardens. Thanks to the girls on reception for this as they were so helpful in changing our room. The hotel certainly has an old world charm about it with leather sofas in the lounges to relax in whilst watching the view of the lake. The bar area is small but walk through the doors and you can sit out on the tables in the garden/patio area and watch all the hustle and bustle below from a tranquil elevated view. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant so can't comment on the food but we did have a lovely afternoon tea on Saturday afternoon before heading off home. Another great point of the hotel is the ample on site free parking

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the building look directly out to the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing