We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveller rating
887
450
201
89
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
450
201
89
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view beautiful hotel main restaurant afternoon tea drawing room swimming pool buffet style lake district course meal coffee machine cream tea scones reception area high standard fantastic views car park my partner
Filter
Updating list...
1,455 - 1,460 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We got married at the hotel recently and had a wonderful day. The staff were helpful and courteous throughout and should be praised for their efforts. We stayed in one of the suites and the room was even better than we had expected. The food and service was excellent. The hotel has loads of character and is in a great location with breathtaking views of the lake from many of it's rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Belsfield Hotel is located in an excellent location and is a great hotel to stay in for a more older clientelle I think we were the youngest there and we are in our mid twenties!

Breakfast was great a nice selection and eggs to order as could be expected.

The rooms were large and comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very good helpful staff, good rooms and clean, breakfast good standard, public areas very nice, fantastic location, very nice gardens down to the lake.
This poor old hotel needs some love and attention and a couple of million quid. The indoor pool was very cool (as in cold not kool). and the changing area uninviting. I think our group could have expected better at £150prpn.

Room Tip: If you book by phone insist on a lake view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmaFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our first visit to the Lake District and to the Belsfield Hotel.
After checking in and receiving an access code for the free wi-fi we went up to our room, No.82.
The room was very clean with double glazed windows. It had a very comfortable bed, built-in wardrobe, flatscreen TV with Freeview, kettle and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was modern and spacious with a heated towel rail and white fluffy towels.

We didn't have a view of the lake from our room but we were staying at the hotel for a friend's wedding so we weren't in our room much anyway. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful.

It was a bit busy at breakfast time as there was a Maserati convention happening in the hotel but the staff were very quick and we didn't have to wait very long to be seated.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in this wonderful picturesque location.

Room Tip: Room 82 doesn't have a lake view but it is a corner room so we didn't hear any noise from people in the corridors. I would recommend this room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Amazing views over the lake, waking up each day to see a different picture. Staff were so friendly, hotel very clean. Food great. Location perfect. Gardens and terrace very good. Drinks prices a little expensive, but so were the other hotels. Good parking.Like most big older hotels, decor could be better but that did not deter from the great holiday.

Room Tip: we had the top floor, with great views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews