We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view.......of a flat roof and a wall....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my husband as a treat for my birthday. I'd wanted to stay there for a long time, because of the location- which is absolutely fabulous- and I thought that for £140 a night, a decent view would have been part and parcel of the deal. We should have checked the small print! View of a flat roof and a wall was a little disappointing......

The room itself was on the small side, with a very basic, and again, small, en-suite shower/toilet. The room was clean, but in need of a bit of a revamp, as the decor looked a bit tired. The bed looked lovely and comfortable, but there was a bit of "rolling" towards the middle of the mattress going on! Worryingly, the door to the room looked like it had had a bit too much wood shaved off the top and the bottom of it....we could hear everything that went on along the corridor....including a three person argument at half past one in the morning! Nice :-)

The breakfast was lovely, with a great selection, and the view down to the lake over bacon and eggs was perfect. This has got to be the biggest selling point of the hotel, the view is beautiful. Unfortunately, I don't think the cost of the rooms is worth it, when you can just as easily enjoy the view with a drink in the bar or on the terrace (both lovely) as a non resident, and stay somewhere more reasonably priced and comfortable- which we have done numerous times.

I really hope that some money is spent on the hotel soon, it really deserves some love and attention.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kittylitterbobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We got married at the hotel recently and had a wonderful day. The staff were helpful and courteous throughout and should be praised for their efforts. We stayed in one of the suites and the room was even better than we had expected. The food and service was excellent. The hotel has loads of character and is in a great location with breathtaking views of the lake from many of it's rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Belsfield Hotel is located in an excellent location and is a great hotel to stay in for a more older clientelle I think we were the youngest there and we are in our mid twenties!

Breakfast was great a nice selection and eggs to order as could be expected.

The rooms were large and comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very good helpful staff, good rooms and clean, breakfast good standard, public areas very nice, fantastic location, very nice gardens down to the lake.
This poor old hotel needs some love and attention and a couple of million quid. The indoor pool was very cool (as in cold not kool). and the changing area uninviting. I think our group could have expected better at £150prpn.

Room Tip: If you book by phone insist on a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmaFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our first visit to the Lake District and to the Belsfield Hotel.
After checking in and receiving an access code for the free wi-fi we went up to our room, No.82.
The room was very clean with double glazed windows. It had a very comfortable bed, built-in wardrobe, flatscreen TV with Freeview, kettle and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was modern and spacious with a heated towel rail and white fluffy towels.

We didn't have a view of the lake from our room but we were staying at the hotel for a friend's wedding so we weren't in our room much anyway. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful.

It was a bit busy at breakfast time as there was a Maserati convention happening in the hotel but the staff were very quick and we didn't have to wait very long to be seated.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in this wonderful picturesque location.

Room Tip: Room 82 doesn't have a lake view but it is a corner room so we didn't hear any noise from pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Amazing views over the lake, waking up each day to see a different picture. Staff were so friendly, hotel very clean. Food great. Location perfect. Gardens and terrace very good. Drinks prices a little expensive, but so were the other hotels. Good parking.Like most big older hotels, decor could be better but that did not deter from the great holiday.

Room Tip: we had the top floor, with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Pros: Fabulous location and lots of parking. Cons: Tired interiors throughout. Dated & shabby. Bedrooms priced at least 40% above their standard. Trouser press not working /Grubby bathroom needs way more than a bit of regrouting that had been applied / No Gym/ No Laptop Lan connection/ Breakfast extra & not available till 7.30am, says 'No business travellers please'.
Owners (Corus) need only head South to Lancaster House Hotel for an example of what a modern customer focussed hotel should offer or head North to Hunday Manor. Both cheaper and 2 stars ahead of the Belsfield. Such a shame as a peerless location in Bowness, that alone keeps it in business I suspect. The dilema for the business, take the cash & under invest v refurb and justify the prices? Let me help, you'll only take my cash once.

Room Tip: Only experienced room 74 whcih was shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £132 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing