We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St. Annes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel looks very impressive perched above Bowness. Inside too there are some impressive rooms. However positive remarks end there. We booked in for two nights and were assigned a dismal and depressing room with one window. The room we booked on their website was desribed as having "stunning lake views" and the photograph showed windows on both sides and two armchairs and a coffee table. We had been assigned a standard room which is about £30 a night cheaper. Our complaints fell on deaf ears and "the manager" who it turned out was their Operations Manager displayed her total lack of knowledge about the hotel in the most arrogant manner. If you're thinking of booking this hotel we suggest you telephone the hotel first and get them to describe the room you want to book. We escaped the following day.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel and ask them to describe the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    359
    160
    68
    40
See reviews for
226
776
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We got married here in September absolutely brilliant day the staff worked so hard to make sure everything ran smoothly the food at the day venue was top class and the views are the best in Windermere would definaltly recommend this hotel to everyone who wanted a nice relaxing weekend we will be back for our 1st wedding anniversary and a special thankyou to Kate you made our day the best day ever and all the staff at the Belsfield thankyou so much , lee and Karen

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesharpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The location is good, the gardens are lovely. That's where the positives end. The place is very dated, out of the 1980's with peeling wallpaper and dated design. It's cold in nearly every room. The room itself was so cold they had to bring in a separate heater. The dining room and reception room and bar were so cold we had to leave early, as did many other guests we spoke too. The swimming pool was also cold. The bar was only partly staffed, we had to search for someone to serve us. The food was average and the service was quick but perfunctory. We will not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDED084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just come back from a very relaxing wedding anniversary, this hotel is lovely! The location is out of this world I recommend the lake view room , waking up to stunning views every morning is very special.The hotel itself is very dated and could do with a lick of paint and a few up dates but is very clean and the staff are fantasic they all work very hard,its I feel the little details that need some attention an example the cups in the bedrooms were not matching the kettle was a little dated and discoloured, although I do like the old fashioned lift! The swimming pool could do with an update but is clean and tidy, the games room is a little out of the way and needs updating as it reminds me of a 1970's working mens club it has a small pool / snooker table however there are a couple of balls missing.
The bar and sitting areas are lovely and the views over the lake are fantastic but again some of the chairs could do with a little TLC.The walks around the hotel are lovely and relaxing it does not matter what the weather is doing the views are still stunning, I do feel the hotel group should do something with the very tired looking pavillion on the front as it spoils the look of the hotel maybe use it to serve cream teas in the summer? some chairs on the front over looking the lake will make the cream tea extra special. I do not want to sound negative about this hotel as we will definatley be stopping again it just needs a little update.Overall we had an amazing time.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for the lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRoberts211011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel for which I was grateful after attending a function there. This place used to be quite grand, about 40 years ago, but it certainly isn't now. It really does need a massive makeover, it looks old fashioned and tatty. The food was at best, average, and the service a shambles, I most definitely would not want to visit this place again. I think the hotel thinks because it has a lovely view of the lake from the garden, it can rely on this and pay less attention to the finer details which would take it from second rate to first rate. On the plus side, the toilets were clean and well maintained!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbodymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We arrived on Thursday afternoon. Check-in was efficient and quick. Room we were given was standard good size bedroom. I must stress that even the hotel is a bit outdated, room was clean and contained all facilities you would expect, T&C making facilities, toiletries, plazma TV, hair dryer, troussers presser, clean towels and lake district guides, Everything in room worked and quality of toilet paper was really good. We went for dinner that night and again staff was so helpful and polite, the food portions looked small, but would fill you up if you order 3 course meal. Service was quick and food was great. our bed was also comfortable and we had our room cleaned every day, fresh towels, very good housekeeping. It was a bit cold though so we asked for portable heater and it was brought to our room within seconds. I found staff to be working in all different departments restaurant-breakfast-bar. Which is possitive of course. Breakfast for entire stay was excellent apart from Sunday when they run out of few items but what do you expect on Sunday? It was busy so I understand. I also had a chance to try swimming pool and sauna. Swimming pool ok, sauna what a joke. When I got in it was 50 degrees then I had to push the button to operate the heater which was also timed for half an hour and then switch itself off again. Temperature reach 80 and doesn't go higher than that. So if you are regular sauner this is not the place to go. Location is just excellent. Lake view, just 2 minutes from everything you neeed to go. Information centre, bus station, pubs and bars, restaurants, cruises and boats, food & drink, shopping centre, everythings close. Quiet at night and comfy sleep, helpful, friendly and polite staff. Place is a bit outdated but it is what it is. Would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms that must have recently been updated as it seemed quite tidy and new. However this was in contrast to the main public areas of the hotel which really need updating and decorating. It looks pretty scruffy in some areas which is a shame because it could be a stunning hotel with the location it's in. It would also benefit fom having someone on the bar at all times. We waited 2 or 3 times to be served because no one was manning it. It could be lovely

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing