We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short birthday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short birthday break”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our daughters booked us a 2 night stay at The Belsfield as a Christmas present so we came for my birthday.
We booked a lake view room and what a view....
The staff were friendly, food was good, the rooms were clean, what else can you ask for. They had even left an extra heater in the room if we felt the need for it. We went when the rest of the country was under a blanket of snow so it was appreciated.
We had dinner one evening and then breakfasts in the morning all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. After a day out it was a pleasure to sit in front of the fires in both of the large open rooms downstairs. So relaxing.
The staff were not pushy as you often get, they just let us enjoy our stay without being asked every few minutes if we wanted to order a drink, coffee etc.
The dining room was a little run down but it was expected as it is such a large hotel.
We have been before many years ago and will definitely come again but sooner.
Staff at check in and restaurant should be commended. I asked for an iron and ironing board, it arrived within 15 minutes. Any other hotel would have taken a few hours at least.
We would definitely recommend The Belsfield.

Room Tip: We had a lake view which is a must. Imagine opening the curtains to that view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shashi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Belsfield Hotel on Windermere. Your comments regarding the discreet yet effecient service of my team have been passed on.

Please contact the Hotel directly to make your reservation in the future.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    369
    165
    74
    42
See reviews for
237
799
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year. The room was lovely the view was wonderful.

Large room and very clean, The bathroom was very small but was adequate , Breakfast was fine.

Would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your short Christmas break in the Lake district at the Belsfield Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you when you next need a Hotel near Windermere.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

went mid-week and off season for a romantic getaway. our room had a lovely view of the lake and it was spacious and well-appointed. excellent service and we made friends with ian who's been there for 29 years! thoroughly enjoyable dinner at the hotel restaurant (excellent chef!) and hearty breakfast. great location, right in the heart of town and it's a beautiful stroll through the grounds to get to the pier. lovely grounds and facilities like heated pool and sauna. will be back for a longer stay during summer!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterymeatballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in January and really enjoyed our stay. We had room 67 on the front with a great lake view. The room was clean, warm and had all you need from a hotel room. The staff were very friendly both at check in and in the restaurant. We had an evening meal one night and breakfast each morning, the food was excellent on each occasion and to top it all off, the dining room has excellent lake views. The only negative point was that the pool was cool due to a "heating problem" but all in all, a good hotel in a lovely position with friendly staff and good service

Room Tip: Room 67 has a lovely lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Loved my time there with family. Nice weather helped the course. Staff was friendly, food was good, rooms were clean and good, overall service of good value for money. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_M9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here last weekend and really did enjoy it. lovely views over the lake when we sat and ate the breakfast which was also lovely. Room was spacious and lovely and warm and staff very friendly. Will be going back again with the family.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

This was a good hotel in a great location but they keep the heating off most of the day so it was freezing, the wifi is terribly slow and the children's portions are bigger than the adults. All in all this was a ok hotel but seeing the old england hotel we will be staying there in future

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing