We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th wedding aniversary disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“25th wedding aniversary disapointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Good reviews encouraged us to book this hotel for a 2 night stay to celibrate our 25th wedding aniversary. 300 pounds ish for 2 nights. The room is small but clean and comfortable. Lovely views of the Lake etc. But when we tried to book for dinner in the restaurant there was no room at the inn so to speak :-( what a disspointment. Therefore can't really coment any further. Our raiting are base on a spoilt silver wedding aniversary celibration. My advice would be if you want to eat at the hotel book the restaurant before you book the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalewis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that we didn't manage to fit you in to our restaurant for dinner on your 25th wedding anniversary. Unfortunatly the hotel was full on this evening and the restaurant was incredibly popular due to chefs new popular menu. I completely understand that this may have caused frustration and can only apologise for this.

I notice that you rate our location as five star and i am pleased this was an element that you enjoyed. We are incredibly fortunate to have such a magnificent view over Lake Windermere and to also have fantastic proximity to Bowness-on-Windermere itself.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    353
    158
    68
    39
See reviews for
220
760
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is the most beautiful hotel overlooking Lake, close to bus stops and tourist information center. The grounds are beautiful. I had to wait 10 minutes to check in. Then they asked if they could changemy room just down a few stairs. I said, ok but I wouldn't do it again. It was two flights of 8 stairs each and I could hear overhead people in other rooms. This was in a corner so I felt like I was in a cave. The single bed was small and so was the bathtub. It was okay but at 140 pounds a night I expect more.

Room Tip: Price was 140 pounds a night. The location could have not have been better. They changed my room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel location to be five star. We are incredibly fortunate to be on a raised bank overlooking Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. Our proximity to the lake is something that our guests also tend to comment on as they can nip on to lake cruises.

Our beautiful grounds are another draw of the hotel and we are lucky to have six acres strecthcing down towards the lake and I am pleased that you liked them.

I am sorry to hear about the complications with the bedrooms. I have spoken to our team and I feel we should learn from this as we do aim to please each and every guest who stays with us.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The staff were excellent, as was the location and car park. The hotel is kindest described as faded. We stayed in room 74, way up in the eaves of the building in a clean but shabby room, like the rest of the Hotel. Asking £200 per night for a musty hotel is daylight robbery. Save your money, stay in a nicer hotel on the outskirts of Bowness and enjoy the walk into the centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auditor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Fisrtly I will say that I am pleased that you found a number of aspects to be excellent. The service throughout the building is an area that we work incredibly hard on delivering and we aim to make each and every guests stay as enjoyable as possible.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room and have found it to be musty. Our housekeeping strive to keep the cleanliness of the building to the highest standards and I imagine they will be alarmed that you found the room to be musty and in turn we will look to address this.

I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be five star. We are incredibly fortunate to be in such close proximity to the Lake as not only does it give our guests unrivalled views of the Lake and the fells beyond but it also enables our guests to catch lake cruises, bus rides or simply walk in to the village and experience the local shops.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited this hotel after a return boat trip to Ambleside from Windermere. The climb up through beautiful gardens opens onto outdoor seating commanding excellent views over Lake Windermere, taking in the boats & hustle & bustle below - just stunning. However, you get what you pay for, and we found the price for drinks and food to be excessive. The 4 meals we ordered were more or less double the cost of other pubs/restaurants we visited during an 8 day stay in the area. The fish platter in particular included prawns in a shot glass tumbler - all lettuce & 3 prawns only I kid you not. Win some, lose some - but we won't be paying another visit to this overpriced hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found the view from the terrace and gardens to be stunning. This is something that we are incredibly fortunate to possess. We have 25 bedrooms which share this same view as well as our restaurant, bar and lounges.

I am sorry to hear that you found the price to be excessive for our food and drink. Of course we value all of customers and to ensure that we give them the best value for money we have put work in to our prices and have made sure that we are similar to all other similar establishments in the area.

Our proximity to the lake is something that our guests often comment on. With us being a stones throw from Lake Windermere and the ferry terminal, the bus stop and the village itself, we believe that there is something for all of our guests.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My whole family came to the beautiful Lake District to celebrate 3 birthdays We stayed in 4 rooms for 3 nights in this hotel because as the grandparents did not have a car it was important to be near to transport. The view of Lake WINDERMERE was stunning from the rooms & also the lovely lawns running down to the harbour.,the ideal place to enjoy a drink & a snack. Our suite was huge with a separate lounge a lovely bathroom, 2 massive TV'S & storage space. As it was very hot the air conditioning was very welcome. It was not cheap but it was worth every penny to wake up every morning to watch the sun rise over the water & the mountains.We had a birthday dinner on the first night which was excellent and very reasonably priced. we were given a large table with a lake view & were very well looked after by the staff. Next morning we came down to breakfast (self service & well cooked) to find that the waiter had saved a lake view table for us.The children loved having their own rooms with TV & also the games room & swimming pool.

Room Tip: A suite with a lake view is pure luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcblewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased to read that you had your best birthday ever at the Belsfield. It is good to hear that your room was five star and that you found the view to be stunning. We are incredibly fortunate to have 25 lake facing bedrooms and so our view can be shared by so many. The same view can also be viewed from our lounges, bar, terrace and restaurant.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Our dinner menu is seasonal and we are launching our latest menu in the coming weeks which we are all exctied about. Our breakfast buffet will also be growing to enable our guests even more choice.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We decided to go to the restaurant to get a lovely view of Windermere. Yes, we got the view, but £7.50 for a scone and tea is a bit excessive, even if it was a good scone. We also ordered some drinks which were again were overpriced. We've seen the lake from up above now, and at that price, once is enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with the price of our cream tea. As we value all of our customers, we have done vast amounts of research in to how much all other similar venues in the area charge for the likes of cream tea and set our prices in line with them as we most certainly don't want to leave a bad taste in peoples mouths.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from our restaurant of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. This is something that most guests specifically enjoy. We are incredibly fortunate to have such a fantastic view and this vantage point is shared by the bar, terrace, lounges and 25 of our bedrooms.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

As we've recently had a bad experience at a Corus hotel I'm shocked this hotel is from the same chain. Amazing place, staff, food and rooms (would recommend room 66).

Polish waiter was a delight very cheerful, accommodating your every need. All the other waiters were also fabulous could not fault the whole team.

Only issue was with wifi it was not working up until the last evening of our stay.

Would recommend!!M

Room Tip: Room 66 or one with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sioned W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased to read that you found the hotel to be fabulous and enjoyed the service in the restaurant. Service is an area that we are working incredibly hard on throughout the building and I am sure that Albert and his restaurant team will be most pleased with your comments.

With regards the food, it is nice to hear you found this to be amazing. We have recently brought a new chef in to our team who has a specific focus on producing quality food, sourced locally where possible. Our summer menu has been a big hit in particular and we will be bringing in a new exciting menu for the autumn, which we hope will be equally as succesfull.

I am sorry to here that the internet was not up to scratch during your stay. We have recently installed new software and it seems that we have had some teething problems with this and I do apologise if it has effected your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing