We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night on Good Friday I so wish we could have stayed longer it is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location. We had room 22 which had been refurbished couldn't have wished for a better room very well furnished and lovely and clean.The staff were all very friendly and smiley.As for the view we had it was like a picture post card, I never thought we would have had a room like this when i booked this hotel thankyou Belsfield.

Room Tip: Room 22 stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to be read that you found the hotel to be stunning and were incredibly pleased with your room. The ongoing refurbishment has seen a large number of the bedrooms fully fitted with Laura Ashley furnishings and many of our guests seem to be very happy with this.

You are correct that the view from 25 of our bedrooms, overlooking lake Windermere and the fells beyond is fantastic and can be described as a postcard. I am pleased you enjoyed this. Our terrace area has recently been re-opened to our guests as well. During a sunny day, we believe there is nowhere more relaxing to sit in the Lake District.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    359
    159
    68
    40
See reviews for
222
773
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner surprised me with a break here and we stayed in the suite with view. It was fantastic big bedroom with a very comfortable bed and seating area in front of the window. Then we had a seating room with a leather chesterfield couch and TV. great view of the gardens and lake from both rooms. Hotel and rooms were very clean. Location was perfect!! Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda-evo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you found the Belsfield to be a fantastic place and specifically liked the Suite that you were staying in. We have a number of suites with fantastic views and spacious seating areas that once again are finished with Laura Ashley furnishings.

The location of the hotel is something that our guests often comment on and I am glad to read that you describe the location as perfect. With the hotel elevated from the hustle and bustle of the promenade below you can choose to watch the world go by below or of course can have a gentle stroll through the hotel gardens and you are straight on to the lake side.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Booked for a weekend break a while ago and though our room was spacious, well furnished and comfortable the bed itself was far too 'bouncy' - I felt it every time my husband turned over - and the duvet too thin for the cold weather, so didn't sleep too well. We had been warned the lift was out of action and we wouldn't be able to use the swimming pool, but we couldn't get to the terrace or gardens either, and weren't made aware of any lounges we could use, so the planned 'drinks with lovely view' were unavailable. The car park was full of builders vans and equipment - though the builders were very lovely about getting us into the temporary entrance and noise did stop as advised - but the reception area was freezing cold and uninviting (doors wide open, builders inside with kit and supplies and discussing all sorts...not just the work!)

Didn't eat here...no decent B&B rate on offer when we booked, and there are plenty of places in Bowness for a good breakfast at half the price.

I think it will be fine after the refurbishment and might come back to have a look. Those views would be worth it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ClanCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found the room to be spacious and well furnished. All of the finished rooms are complete with Laura Ashley furnishings and demonstrate an array of themes that our guests seem to enjoy.

I am sorry to hear that you did not find the bed to be comfortable. Each and every room has a brand new bed with a minimum of 2000 spring count. Hopefully this will mean that in future you wont have any further disturbance.

It is a shame to hear that the lounges were unavailable during your stay. As you mention we do try and inform all of our guests that work is ongoing during your stay and there may be some form of disruption. The lounges have now been complete and once again are fully furnished with Laura Ashley and make a lovely environment to enjoy the views, what ever the weather.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband & i stayed at The Belsfield for 3 nights, the staff were very attentive but discreet. The room we had was at the rear of the hotel and not one of the ones that had been refurbished but was a large room that was very clean with a large bathroom, we was very happy with the room but having one of the refurbished rooms would have obviously been more preferable. Due to the ongoing work we was not able to see any of the excellent views that the hotel has to offer as all of the rooms at the front of the hotel were closed to guests which was disappointing, a shame that at least one room with views couldnt be kept open for guests to relax in! An excellent stay though and really need to return to be able to enjoy the full facilities, views, rooms & use the swimming pool as this was also closed to guests, this facility was available nearby but a shame it wasnt on site at the time of our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you were very happy with your room in particular. The final phase of refurbishing the bedrooms is about to begin and will be finished in the coming months, meaning that if you were to come and stay with us again in future we could guarentee that you will be in a newly refurbished room.

Fortunatly we have also completed the downstairs lounges for our guests to enjoy. I Can only apologise that they weren't complete during your stay as in my opinion they have been finished to the highest standard, with Laura Ashley furnishings once again.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great service and very nice staff,just back from the belsfield,stayed in a newly refurbished room ,they have not done this on the cheap,rooms are done to a very high standard,and breakfast is cooked to order,great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased to hear that you find the Belsfield to be a great hotel and enjoyed the service in particular. Throughout the hotel, from the food and beverage staff through to the housekeeping team we all aim to please each and every guest and the staff will no doubt be grateful for your comments.

Further to this, I am glad that you like the newly refurbished bedrooms. The Laura Ashley finshings seem to be incredibly popular with our guests and i would agree that they have been done to a lovely standard.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Got to the belsfield hotel at 10.30 in the morning we wasn't supposed to check in until 2.00 o'clock but the suite we booked was ready an checked in early great result, the room was fine and cosy the view was great except for the scaffolding but the hotel knocked some money off the price. Breakfast was nice continental and the choice of full English the staff were polite and helpful and the room was cleaned every day exceptionally well, Thank you again we will be booking again in the future


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gleamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the newly refurbished Laura Ashley bedrooms in particular. Currently we have a number of rooms fully refurbished with Laura Ashley finishings throughout and a further 17 rooms that are to be completed next week.

The restaurant is another area that is also coming close to completion and is also due to be fully completed next week. I am glad however that you enjoyed your breakfast and hopefully in future, you can enjoy your breakfast overlooking lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
270 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This year's visit by our walking club was again a great success and we were well looked after by the hotel staff, who managed things well considering the refurbishment in progress. The food at our dinner and at breakfast was very good once again. A bit of feedback though on "make your own muesli" - stop it please. I'd rather have muesli ready-constituted, rather than having to assemble the ingredients myself.

We were lucky to get one of the refurbished rooms and this had been decorated to a very high standard and we were very pleased with it. The only issue for us was the very soft beds which although obviously top quality, just didn't suit us at all. A few other minor points about room 61:
- No bedroom coat hook on the back of any of the doors
- Bathroom windows un-frosted - if you forget to pull the blinds, passers-by on Back Belsfield Road may get a shock
- Bathroom door has no lock
- Pictures: please find some local scenes, when I'm staying in the Lake District I don't really expect pictures of Spanish villages in my room!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you had a 'good experience' here at the Belsfield and that you are excited about the refurbishment as much as we are. Currently we have a good number of the rooms fully refurbished and our guests seem to give some lovely feedback on them. The remaining rooms are due for completion in the coming months.

The rooms however are not the only areas having work done, as the lounges, bar and restaurant are being fully furnished with Laura Ashely finishings throughout.

In order to get the hotel to our guests liking we always appreciate feedback and i thank you for your comments.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing