We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I wasn't expecting much as I know this hotel is undergoing a major and long overdue refurbishment - however I was incredibly surprised.
The reception area hasn't been touched yet and looks pretty dilapidated and depressing but the lady checking us in was helpful and very welcoming.
The public areas that have undergone the refurb are exceptional with beautiful views over Lake Windermere. The gardens are fantastically maintained and an absolute pleasure to sit and relax in with stunning views of the lake.
Our room was one of those which had already been refurbished and was completed to a very high standard and very comfortable. We paid for just a standard double but I was impressed with the standard and finish of the room.

The main highlight for me however was the staff - all of whom are incredibly friendly, professional and helpful - they have excellent knowledge of the local area. They all seem to genuinely enjoy what they do and go out of their way to make your stay as welcoming and pleasant as they can. Csaba in particular was very helpful and pleasant, both behind the bar and during the breakfast service - he is a credit to the hotel. He pointed out local walks that we may be interested in, and gave some excellent recommendations on sightseeing and attractions for a rainy day.

The breakfast was excellent with a good choice from a cold buffet and a hot selection cooked to order - once again all staff were exceptional. I had mentioned on the booking that I am intolerant to gluten and they had this covered as soon as we mentioned the room number - they went out of their way to make sure I was accommodated.

I look forward to visiting again once the refurbishments are completed and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Lake District. We are about to check out but I don't want to and wish we could stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that your stay was such a success and that the staff in particular have made a large impact. Here at the Belsfield we set ourselves high standards and I am sure that the staff will be most pleased to read that they have specifically made an impression.

You are correct regarding the old reception, it did need a new lease of life. This is why we have now created a large open, air conditioned, glass reception, overlooking Lake Windermere and the Belle Isle. This isn't the only work that has been carried out to date we are very proud of the bedrooms that have had a sprinkling of the Laura Ashley magic, the Restaurant, Brasserie, bar and lounges.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    359
    160
    68
    40
See reviews for
226
775
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel and few times in the last number of years. The upgrading of it is really beautifully done, using Laura Ashley materials, it makes it very relaxing. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Some of them have been here a long time and there are a few new ones, but all of them are impeccable in their manner and politeness.The refurbishment doesn't spoil the stay at all. Definitely recommend, hope we can come back next year.

Room Tip: The views over Lake Windermere are stunning, especially the higher up you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LC67Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to read that you describe the hotel as delightful and specifically your reference to the refurbishment. The updating programme is now coming to a close and this has encompassed reception, the lounges, bar, restaurant and created a brasserie.

Furthermore, the staff will be grateful of your comments. Each and every staff member, old and new are very proud of our hotel and hope that you will enjoy it as much as we do.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I feel compelled to respond to a review by Delten submitted a few day ago. I cannot believe how/she is writing about the same hotel I have had the pleasure to stay in several times. Breakfast is cooked to order, and is hot and well cooked. Bar drinks were reasonably priced. The rooms are a delightful to sleep in,with every convenience.,
And I greatly look forward to my next visit

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased to read that your review was a contrast to the previous review that you refer to. Of course everyone is entitled to an opinion and I am sorry that they were left disappointed.

Regarding the rooms, I am glad that you find them to be delightful. Each and every room has been refurbished of late and they have all been finished with furnishings throughout.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Beslfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We often stay in the Lakes and one of the best things for us is the Sunday lunch at the Belsfield. You will need to book in advance as they are always fully booked. The view from the lounge is one of the best in the Lake district, and I would recommend that after a delightful lunch you sit and enjoy the view with a large drink and the company of friends. That is certainly what we will be doing in the first half of September
Andrew. Fareham. Hants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our afternoon tea experience. We have put in a lot of time in to creating what we believe the perfect afternoon tea should be. Our aim is to have a variety of textures, styles and flavours of cake. Served alongside Chef's sandwiches and savouries, you are correct that we recommend arriving hungry.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Despite major refurbishment works we have just spent a very enjoyable three nights in the Belsfield.
At no time did the work interfere with our stay.
Friendly professional staff took care of all our needs.
A longer menu would be a bonus but I presume this will be addressed s part of the refurbishment.
Already looking forward to return visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that your stay has been a success and that you are looking forward to returning to the Belsfield.

Further more, I am glad that the on going work has not had an impact on your stay. The refurbishment is now coming to an end and has seen each and every room in the hotel having a refurbishment with Laura Ashley finishings. This also includes the all of the public areas such as the bar, lounges, restaurant and brasserie.

Thank you for your advice regarding the menu. We have now launched a second menu in the restaurant. This menu focuses on the fine dining experience, with each and every dish showing a number of carefully presented dishes as appose to the more rustic, traditional English food served in the Brasserie.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful location and hotel! Stayed for a short few days in the Lake District and loved it. Great location in the heart of Windermere, walkable to lots of good pubs and places to set. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am please that you found the Belsfield to be a "great place to visit and stay" and specifically rated the rooms to be 5 star. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment programme, where each and every room is being re-fitted with Laura Ashley furnishings and to date we are very happy with the result.

Further more, I am glad that you were happy with the location of the hotel. We are incredibly lucky to have a completely unimpeded view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond, whilst being a gentle stroll in to Bowness villiage.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Unfortunately the hotel was being refurbished but it needs more than a cosmetic update. The bar was near to double the price of the next local pub we visited but only had one table and two chairs and no character. Breakfast was a disaster which is why the staff should be taken to the Best Western at Kendal to see how to do it. The reason was it just has a two hour slot and when busy -not enough staff to prepare. We had to queue for eggs and when they came the bacon had run out and most of the other food was now cold on the plate. Where would you keep the sauces 5 metres away with the cereal was the answer to that one. So make this over a 3 hr slot and the crowd would not be so large and staff could cope. Room was ok but the shower took some working out as the water comes into the bath but you have to reverse the screw to get it out of the shower. Probably better to find another hotel than face all the mess of the refurbishment and lack thought that has gone into this place. The other couple we were with couldn't face the poor room that they were given and moved out the same day.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Delten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that during your stay we did not meet the usual high standards that we set for ourselves here at the Belsfield. I am investigating as to why there was a delay for eggs and bacon in particular during stay and hopefully we can learn from this.

Regarding the bar, we are currently in process of creating a brand new, spacious and elegant bar. This will be finished by late July and will be up to the same high standards as the rest of the refurbishment.

With regards the prices of the drink and the comment that we charge twice the price of our nearest competitor I must categorically refute this point. We have done vast research in to the price of both food and drink locally, as we believe that value for money is hugely important for our guests. So much so, that our main competitor actually charge twice the price of drink than we do at the Belsfield. This is a policy that we will continue to maintain once the refurbishment is complete.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing