We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

stayed here and it was amazing, beautifully done out to a high standard, and the staff are lovely and friendly, reception staff are very helpful and try to help you in any way they can and being under refurbishment have had to put up with a lot of disruption.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kat62142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and specifically refer to the Belsfield as an "excellent hotel."

The refurbishment is something that we are all extremely proud of and it is nice to read that you found the refurbishments to be 'beautifully done'. The bedrooms have been finished with Laura Ashley furnishings, demonstrating a number of different styles and themes, depending on which floor and room you are in. Furthermore, the downstairs of the hotel has also been given the Laura Ashley magic touch; including the Brasseire, Restaurant, Bar, Lounges and Reception.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Despite being in the midst of a total refurbishment the stay was just what we were looking for. Relaxation and quality.
When finished the hotel will be as lovely inside as the view is from the outside across the lake.
Staff doing a valiant job in difficult times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that enjoyed your long weekend in the Lakes and the refurbishment was not a hindrance. The work is now coming to a close and we are excited to show all of our guests the newly refurbished bedrooms that have been finished from top to bottom with Laura Ashley furnishings, the downstairs lounges, bar and reception which of course, have also had the Laura Ashley magic and finally the Restaurant and Brasserie, which, as you mention, share an unimpeded view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

just returned from a break at the belsfield. it was surprisingly good. we had rm 30 which was a junior suite. we went with friends which made it even better. breakfasts excellent, buffet style .the only thing which was poor was the wait at dinner. we ordered meal at 7 45pm and it was 8 45pm before we had our starter. the whole experience was relaxing and we definitely had our moneys worth. we shall return. we sat on the terrace in the sun on both nights and if you closed your eyes you co.uld pretend you were on a hillside in southern italy

Room Tip: always ask for a room overlooking the lake because rooms at the back can be a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank coronets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed room 30. We are incredibly fortunate to have 25 rooms that share the tremendous, unimpeded view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. We also have a range of rooms, ranging from standard rooms, to Suites and family rooms. All of which have been finished from top to bottom with Laura Ashley furnishings.

You couldn't be more accurate about the terrace. All of our guests enjoy the Belsfield terrace and many enjoy it so much that they opt to spend the afternoon on our terrace with our outstanding views, than go off and explore.

Thank you for your feedback regarding dinner service. We have set ourselves high standards at the Belsfield and it is disappointing to hear that on this occasion we have not lived up to them.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel even though still being refurbed the parts that are finished are beautiful all done out with Laura Ashley Furnishings & fabrics. Our room was modern and the beds really comfy. Lovely bathroom with Laura Ashley toiletries. The view from our room wasn't very nice as we were at back of hotel but I had a look in one of the rooms overlooking the lake & would pay a bit extra for one of those when I visit again, which I definately shall! The outside terrace has the most amazing views we sat and had lunch there as the weather was beautiful. The staff were all very lovely and efficient especially the bell boy who carried our luggage to room for us. Overall we had a lovely time in great surroundings and will return.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank PrestonNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you found the terrace to be "fabulous". With the lovely, summer weather that we are currently enjoying in the Lake District, we believe that there is no better place to enjoy the view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. For those, that also want to enjoy the view in perfect peace and quiet, many often find their own deserted part of the gardens and enjoy the day away.

Thank you for your comments about the staff and our Host, Csaba in particular. Each and every member of staff have set themselves high standards and they will be most pleased that they have managed to help you enjoy your stay further.

The bedroom that you stayed in is one of our standard rooms. Each and every room in the hotel has been finished from top to bottom with Laura Ashley furnishings and there are a number types of bedroom available; from standard rooms to suites. 25 of which have a beautiful view of Lake Windermere. A further 12 rooms also share a room over the hotels peaceful gardens.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Under refurbishment, but stunning hotel in lovely grounds. We came for champagne afternoon tea and it did not disappoint! The price was about average for afternoon team but there was far more variety and quantity than normal. Really good value for money. But make sure you're hungry before you arrive! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linds-sax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am most pleased that you refer to the Belsfield as a "fabulous hotel" and specifically enjoyed our signature afternoon tea. Chef has put great thought in to afternoon tea and how it can be more than just large cakes, made and then portioned out. He has created what we believe to be a spectacle, demonstrating a variety of flavours, textures and colours, as well as a few good fun items. Coupled with a refreshingly different variety of sandwiches, we believe there aren't many better around. However, we would advise arriving hungry.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived on miserable day after flight from Dublin,although after 3pm were informed room not ready ,when we asked what time it would be we're given a short reply of ready when it's ready. When we did get a room ,no porter to help with bags,then the most overpowering smell of paint. My husband is an asthmatic and found this stay very difficult,I,m not but was still unpleasant.
More was to come ,the view was of the back of the building overlooking a roof covered with building rumble,windows were still masked with tape on the outside.the compendium was a few pieces of paper stapled together giving no info of local area.
Self service breakfast on the Sunday was fine ,however the next day nothing was on display,no menu but were asked what we would like.Amused to receive one poached egg the size of a golf ball sitting on a slice of toast and my husband about two tablespoons of baked beans on one slice of toast.not sure what we paid for this as we ordered through travel agent but don't believe it was cheap.next day as we had prepaid had to endure again, asked for two eggs and more toast.
Perhaps it would have been better to shut hotel down while renovations were being done ,thankfully this was our only negative stay in England but disappointing enough to want to put it in writing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rickomokoroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was "disappointing". Here at the Belsfield we have set ourselves high standards and we of course are most disappointed if we have failed to match these standards.

we aim to ensure that each and every bedrooms is ready for no later than 3pm and on most occasions, rooms are ready sooner for our guests to begin relaxing and enjoy their stay. I am sorry that this was not the case during your stay.

The smell of paint, once again is not acceptable and I do apologise for this. My only explanation is that this smell has come from a corridor in the vicinity, as we would not let out a room that smells of paint. We will of course have to double check the area in future and learn from our mistake.

My apologies once again.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

On booking the hotel we knew that it was still undergoing refurbishment and decided to book due to good reviews on trip advisor. So glad we did! What an amazing hotel! Perfect location in a beautiful setting.
After booking, the hotel emailed us informing us of the refurb with the option of moving our stay back after the refurb was finished. We decided to go ahead with our planned stay.
The main rooms (drawing room, restaurant etc) of the hotel plus bedrooms are all renovated and to a high standard. The only part of the hotel needing completing are a few rooms which aren't in use and corridors. The renovation had no effect on our stay what so ever.
We payed a bit extra for a lake view room (number 22) which I would highly recommend! Wow! Amazing views, and well worth the extra money.
Service is extremely good. The staff are friendly and very helpful.
We tried the restaurant on our first evening, 3 courses for £20. Beautiful food and great service.
The drawing room is perfect for some quiet time or afternoon tea with views of the lake.
I was so sad to leave the hotel but can't wait to come again after the refurb is complete.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank amylizzywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvsior.

I am incredibly pleased to read that you find the hotel to be beautiful and stunning and specifically enjoy the location of the hotel. we believe that we are extremely fortunate to have such stunning, unimpeded views of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond, whilst being close enough to Bowness village itself to enjoy the hustle and bustle if you choose.

The refurbishment is something that of our guests tend to comment on and we are extremely proud of the Laura Ashley finishings throughout the hotel. Whether that be the bedrooms that have been refurbished from top to bottom or the stunning lounges, restaurant, Brasserie or reception.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £128 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing