We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Look, it really is this simple.
If you want a superb hotel with fantastic lake views, excellent location, great staff just book this hotel.
Forget any negative comments, there is nothing to fault this hotel, honestly.
It stands in manicured grounds above lake Windermere like some grand old defender of Bowness ready to repel any unwanted invaders.
Everything you could need is within a 5 mins walk, bars, shops, restaurants, all that Bowness has to offer.
The best rooms are the lake view ones, thses really give meaning to the phrase
" A room with a view ".
So if you fancy a trip to this part of the world you will not go wrong in visiting this hotel, they have spent Millions revamping it and boy can you tell.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: even numbered rooms in the 20s & 30s are best for Lake Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireBradfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I incredibly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your review is uplifting to read. The staff in particular will be most pleased that you refer to the service as "unbeatable". The staff set themselves high standards and I am delighted that they helped you to enjoy your stay.

The view is often referred to by our guests and I am most pleased that you to enjoyed the view. We are incredibly fortunate to have unrivalled, unimpeded views over Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. This splendid view is shared by 25 of our bedrooms, lounges, restaurant and the brasserie furthermore.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We strolled up from the lake hoping to enjoy afternoon tea. At 4pm on a summer's day we were told that they had run out of scones as they'd already served 15 cream teas but we could have sandwiches. Eventually the sandwiches arrived although the bread seemed more liked standard sliced than the promised home made bread. The grounds and view are beautiful. However whilst there seemed to be plenty of staff there wasn't much in the way of efficient service to customers. I'd hope it's a much better experience for residents.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we could not share what we believe to be a magnificent afternoon tea experience. As you mention, to date we have received a vast amount of positive reviews about our afternoon tea offering and on this occasion it seems that we have run out.

Our afternoon tea is freshly produced and encompasses an array of style of sandwiches, savouries, six cakes and scones. Chef provides a specific focus on making cakes individually that provide a variety of flavours, appearance and familiarity for our guests.

Once again, I am sorry that we could not offer you the whole experience. In future, we do recommend booking a table to avoid disappointment.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and wish it could have been longer! The Laura Ashley decor in the bedroom and public areas is gorgeous. Our room had a superb view of lake Windermere which was gorgeous even when the sun wasn't shining. Our table at breakfast, seats in the drawing room and library all overlooking the Lake, great to sit and relax here. The room was beautiful, bed unbelievably comfortable, made you want to lie in but the breakfast is worth getting up for, good choice of hot and cold food, I requested vegetarian sausages the first morning and the waitress remembered each morning after that. All the staff we met were very professional and friendly the young man who took our cases to our room on arrival was very knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. we had lunch on the terrace on our first day which happened to be the re-launching of the refurbished hotel, lunch was excellent and there was a duet playing and a welcome drink, very nice start to our holiday. We will definitely return to the Belsfield Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent spot, quiet to return to but a few minutes from the lovely centre of Bowness.We recommend eating at the Villa Positano restaurant in Bowness the food is excellent here, we go each time we are in Bowness. Overall an excellent short break we couldn't fault any of it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Lake Windermere are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TillyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you find the hotel to be excellent and specifically enjoy the Laura Ashley refurbishment. The Laura Ashley magic encompasses bedrooms, the lounges, bar, restaurant, brasserie and also our picturesque reception. All of which have Laura Ashley fixtures and finishing's from top to bottom.

The view is something all of our guests enjoy and once more I pleased that you did as well. Our unimpeded view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond is a marvellous view that is shared by 25 of our bedrooms, as well as the lounges, restaurant and brasserie.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our two day stay was excellent from start to end. Managment and staff couldn't do enough for us concerning a little medical blip at the start of our stay. This ensured us we were in safe hands. The hotel is spotless and our room/view was excellent. Breakfast was something to die for, the spred was amazing . A good way to start our day for a site seeing day in the lakes. We would definitely stay again and hope to do so in the near future. We had a very refreshing break. Thanks Belsfield.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you describe your stay as "superb" and that you specifically enjoyed the food. We have recently launched a second evening menu which gives our guests two clearly different dining experiences furthermore.

The location is something our guests often refer to and I am pleased that you find this to be five star. We are incredibly fortunate to be located so close to the lake, whilst being far enough away from the promenade that you can peacefully watch the world go by beneath you. Whilst at the same time enjoying the glorious view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights early July. Special treat as it was meant to be our wedding weekend but due to circumstances we married earlier in the year. We used our Avios points that we earned when we went abroad but paid for lake view upgrade. Very easy to find the car park. There was still refurbishment works being carried out when we were there but there was no noise and it was only visible by the hoardings and direction signage. To our surprise we had been upgraded to a suite. WOW, absolutely gorgeous. The porter who took our case to the room was very enthusiastic about the Laura Ashley decor - it is nice but probably what you would expect but a hotel of this stature. The Lake view was just as advertised.

Breakfast were good as was the evening meal we had on the second night. A little pricey but only to be expected.

Would recommend and would love to go back again one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you were impressed with your room. The bedrooms have been thoroughly decorated from top to bottom with all Laura Ashley fixtures and furnishings. This is also the case in the lounges, restaurant, brasserie, bar and reception.

The food is often talked about by our guests and I am glad that you enjoyed this furthermore. We are currently offering two different dining experiences for our guests. There is the relaxed environment in the Brasserie where we offer an ala carte menu with a strong focus on English dishes and English ingredients. Whilst the restaurant is a five course, fine dining experience which focuses on attention to detail with both flavour and presentation.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I purchased a living social deal after reading good reviews of the hotel. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous, overlooking lake windermere. On arrival we were upgraded to a lake view room which was fantastic. The hotel is still going through renovation but it didn't affect our stay at all. All new decor is Laura Ashley, the whole hotel (well what we saw) looked amazing and very grand. Our room was really nice, small bathroom but very smart decor and the shower was amazing. The bed and duvet were so comfortable, literally wanted to stay in there all morning! The breakfast was fantastic, a wide range of buffet style continental and english fry up with plenty of choices of cold drinks + different cereals and great tea and coffee too! The only problem we had with our stay was that there was a power cut in bowness which resulted in us not having our 3 course dinner, obviously this can not be helped and the staff we very apologetic. In stead of our planned meal we had sandwiches and a cheese board but also 2 free bottles of pinot grigio and in the morning I was refunded part of what I had paid with no issue at all. All staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful . Im so glad I stayed at this hotel and I would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the new Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield and found the hotel to be "gorgeous". The refurbishment has brought a fresh new look to the bedrooms, which have been refurbished from top to bottom with Laura Ashley fixtures and finishings. The lounges, bar, brasserie and restaurant have also had the Laura Ashley magic wand furthermore.

I do hope that the power cut was not too disruptive during your stay. We have been informed that this also effected 800 properties locally and it is very disappointing when it means that our guests can not enjoy our food.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had tea on the terrace with my wife. This was the grand opening so they made it special. Fantastic service, fantastic afternoon tea and spectacular views of Lake Windermere in the sun with a singer and saxophonist playing their stunning music. This was paradise. To top it all, we were given a grand tour of the hotel which was marvellous!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dwplucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea at the new Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield. Chef has put particular thought in to the afternoon tea and aims to combine traditional cakes with new, modern fun varieties. In total we offer a variety of sandwiches, savouries and also six cakes and a scone. In other words, we do recommend arriving hungry.

I hope that you enjoyed your tour. The entire hotel has received a Laura Ashley make over from top to bottom. This includes the bedrooms, lounges, Restaurant, Brasserie and bar and we believe that it is looking stunning.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £133 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing