We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No shower due to poor water pressure. ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here last weekend for our anniversary. It is expensive but it was a special occasion. The tower room had a wonderful view but it really is only suitable for a one night stay. The shower was none existent due to the very poor water pressure. The receptionist agreed that the pressure was low but did not offer any resolution. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susancrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the tower room during your stay. Room 73 was originally the water tower when the hotel was first built in 1845. This is the only room in the building that is on the 3rd floor and the view that greats you from this room is one of the best in the building. With unimpeded views over the lake and the fells in the distance, this room is often requested by our guests.

I was alarmed to read that the water pressure in the shower was not sufficient and I can sincerely apologise for this. We have recently invested in a new system that generates tremendous water pressure throughout the entire building and this is something which our guests currently enjoy. During your stay with us, it seems that there was a problem with this system and I do apologise and hope that it did not cause too much inconvenience.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has/is under going a major refurb. The quality is very good, the room was superb and the bathroom perfect. Couple minor moans, I arrived at 17.30 and my room wasn't ready. I was taken to the bar for a free drink, but no one came and told me when the room was ready, I had to go and ask. Also the reception didn't offer any advice on the hotel or restaurant other than breakfast times. This did cause a slight hitch when I arrived at the restaurant, to be told they were fully booked. But once I explained no one had told me I had to book or even how to book I was given a table. The meal was very enjoyable.
I think these minor things will soon be ironed out.
Most of the staff are very good and helpful and make the stay that bit better.
I wouldn't hesitate to return, but hope they don't get carried away with the room prices

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank BigStuNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you found the food to be "very enjoyable". We have recently created a new dining experience in our restaurant which now provides our guests with two completely differing dining experiences: the traditionally English, rustic dishes served in the Brasserie, or the fine dining, nouvelle cuisine in the restaurant.

My sincere apologies that you room was not ready for you until late afternoon. I have spoken with our team and we will learn from our mistake. We set ourselves high standards at Laura Ashley Hotel, the Belsfield and it is always disappointing when we have not met these standards.

I am delighted however, that you would not hesitate to return and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a two night stay at the Belsfield using a LivingSocial voucher.
We arrived in the afternoon and parked in the carpark at the rear of the hotel. The reception is an area between the main building and another wing and as you enter the view of the lake is very impressive.
We checked in quickly and were shown to our room by a very helpful young man who,then proceeded to give us a tour of the newly refurbished hotel. Some of the refurbishment was still ongoing but it was nearly complete and didn't affect our stay in any way. We were warned of this when we booked.
Our room was compact but very comfortable and there was everything we needed including coffee and tea making facilities.
We decided to take a stroll around Bowness and left the hotel from the front exit which has a fantastic view of the lake and lovely well looked after grounds. There are tables and chairs at the front where you can have a drink or a bite to eat and just take in the beauty of the scene.
The Belsfield is in the perfect location in my opinion, being so close to the centre of Bowness yet it's position is relaxing being on the hillside above the ferry terminal.
My wife and I both slept well and got up early for breakfast on both mornings and were seated at a window table in restaurant giving us a lovely view over the lake. The breakfast was excellent and being a buffet you can have as much or as little as you like. There were other breakfast choices available at extra cost but for me the buffet was first class, as was the service.
All in all we had a lovely time and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: It might be worth paying extra for a Lake View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsTravelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you find the hotel to be a "beautiful spot". We believe that we are fortunate to have such tremendous, unimpeded views of Lake Windermere, with Belle Isle in the foreground and the Fairfield Horsehoe in the rear. The hotel's position gives our guests the choice of joining the hustle and bustle on the promenade, or simply relax on our terrace and watch the world go by.

Sleep is something that our guests frequently say they have found comfortable at the Belsfield and I am glad that you have too. This is because we have brand new, memory foam mattresses in each and every room which are a minimum of 2000 spring.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for a coffee and to look round the hotel as we are potentially coming to stay in October . Beautifully renovated . Parts still being finished. The laura Ashley decor is clean and modern & the glass reception area stunning . There is a lovely garden & views from the top.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank helent100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you approve of the refurbishment to date and I hope that we can welcome you to stay with us in October. The refurbishment has incoroporated the bedrooms which have been finished with Laura Ashley furnishings from top to bottom, the lounges, restaurant, brasserie and bar.

The Belsfield gardens offer our guests there own little piece of tranquillity. With six acres of land, we have stunning views of the lake and with most of our guests choosing to sit on the terrace, those who head towards the gardens seem to find their very own haven.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Look, it really is this simple.
If you want a superb hotel with fantastic lake views, excellent location, great staff just book this hotel.
Forget any negative comments, there is nothing to fault this hotel, honestly.
It stands in manicured grounds above lake Windermere like some grand old defender of Bowness ready to repel any unwanted invaders.
Everything you could need is within a 5 mins walk, bars, shops, restaurants, all that Bowness has to offer.
The best rooms are the lake view ones, thses really give meaning to the phrase
" A room with a view ".
So if you fancy a trip to this part of the world you will not go wrong in visiting this hotel, they have spent Millions revamping it and boy can you tell.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: even numbered rooms in the 20s & 30s are best for Lake Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireBradfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I incredibly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your review is uplifting to read. The staff in particular will be most pleased that you refer to the service as "unbeatable". The staff set themselves high standards and I am delighted that they helped you to enjoy your stay.

The view is often referred to by our guests and I am most pleased that you to enjoyed the view. We are incredibly fortunate to have unrivalled, unimpeded views over Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. This splendid view is shared by 25 of our bedrooms, lounges, restaurant and the brasserie furthermore.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We strolled up from the lake hoping to enjoy afternoon tea. At 4pm on a summer's day we were told that they had run out of scones as they'd already served 15 cream teas but we could have sandwiches. Eventually the sandwiches arrived although the bread seemed more liked standard sliced than the promised home made bread. The grounds and view are beautiful. However whilst there seemed to be plenty of staff there wasn't much in the way of efficient service to customers. I'd hope it's a much better experience for residents.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we could not share what we believe to be a magnificent afternoon tea experience. As you mention, to date we have received a vast amount of positive reviews about our afternoon tea offering and on this occasion it seems that we have run out.

Our afternoon tea is freshly produced and encompasses an array of style of sandwiches, savouries, six cakes and scones. Chef provides a specific focus on making cakes individually that provide a variety of flavours, appearance and familiarity for our guests.

Once again, I am sorry that we could not offer you the whole experience. In future, we do recommend booking a table to avoid disappointment.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and wish it could have been longer! The Laura Ashley decor in the bedroom and public areas is gorgeous. Our room had a superb view of lake Windermere which was gorgeous even when the sun wasn't shining. Our table at breakfast, seats in the drawing room and library all overlooking the Lake, great to sit and relax here. The room was beautiful, bed unbelievably comfortable, made you want to lie in but the breakfast is worth getting up for, good choice of hot and cold food, I requested vegetarian sausages the first morning and the waitress remembered each morning after that. All the staff we met were very professional and friendly the young man who took our cases to our room on arrival was very knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. we had lunch on the terrace on our first day which happened to be the re-launching of the refurbished hotel, lunch was excellent and there was a duet playing and a welcome drink, very nice start to our holiday. We will definitely return to the Belsfield Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent spot, quiet to return to but a few minutes from the lovely centre of Bowness.We recommend eating at the Villa Positano restaurant in Bowness the food is excellent here, we go each time we are in Bowness. Overall an excellent short break we couldn't fault any of it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Lake Windermere are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TillyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you find the hotel to be excellent and specifically enjoy the Laura Ashley refurbishment. The Laura Ashley magic encompasses bedrooms, the lounges, bar, restaurant, brasserie and also our picturesque reception. All of which have Laura Ashley fixtures and finishing's from top to bottom.

The view is something all of our guests enjoy and once more I pleased that you did as well. Our unimpeded view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond is a marvellous view that is shared by 25 of our bedrooms, as well as the lounges, restaurant and brasserie.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Laura Ashley Hotel, The Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £141 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing