We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An overnight stop in Bowness on Windermere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An overnight stop in Bowness on Windermere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here overnight on a private visit to Bowness so the glamour attached to it now being THE LAURA ASHLEY BELSFIELD was somewhat lost on us.
Laura Ashley has recently taken over this hotel and are giving it an extensive face lift and refurbishment. It is paying off and the hotel is looking vastly improved. Currently there are works still In progress (August 2014).
Room was small and had very little storage space for clothing. With wife sitting at dressing table, I could not get past to go to bathroom. Room had green newly decorated and fitted with new curtains etc., possibly Laura Ashley products, and why not, quality was excellent.
We lunched and dined in brasserie which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Breakfast was 'serve yourself' with plenty of choice.
Bathroom was fabulous however, all part of the refurb!

Room Tip: Question the size of room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    353
    158
    68
    39
See reviews for
220
760
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Beautiful renovations. Stayed room 66 august. Views from room stunning. Staff all polite, courteous and friendly. Kate reception very helpful, an asset to hotel. Ian aka Boris Johnson, restaurant very attentive. Sally, bistro and others whom names I have forgotten. Deputy manager Joe attentive, helpful and very on the ball at what must be a taxing time with all the renovations which are still ongoing, but almost finished. Renovations at no time caused any inconvenience so don't hesitate to book.
We shall certainly return.
Francis & Denise, East Yorkshire

Room Tip: Lake view rooms worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel August, excellent staff , clean and newly refurbished bedrooms in Laura Ashley style with lovely ensuite. The views from the hotel are fabulous.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice of fruit juices, cereals, toast, full english breakfast,
We arrived before check in and we were escorted to the lounge overlooking the lake
and we were offered tea and sandwiches at no extra charge. All in all it was a very nice experience and would definitely recommend it to families or couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view (it's extra) as our room had a view that would have been better seen through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

it is now the Laura Ashley Belsfield. I was in a new room , and you can imagine being Laura Ashley, the room was very nice. Furnishings and bathroom were first class. This hotel has fabulous views of the lake, and its a short walk through the gardens to the centre.The breakfast buffet was incredibly average, probably the poorest I've ever experienced in the Lakes. The rooms and location are so good , I will go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have been changed, but ensure its a new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Laura Ashley have and are continuing to transform this hotel into a modern hotel of the highest standard. Every aspect of our stay was exceptional and we would recommend it without hesitation. Difficult to fault but one major annoyance was the ability to hear neighbouring ablutions through the paper thin partition walls created when the bedrooms were furbished. Our toilet was sited in such a way that only the skinniest people could use it. In the winter you would have burnt your knees on the towel rail when you sat down. Our American cousins would have no chance but then they are used to riding side saddle!

Room Tip: Keep away from room 20 because of siting next to fire door bumping as people pass and this room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this stylish hotel and it really deserves to be a Laura Ashley Hotel. You can see the signs of Laura Ashley everywhere. Hotel is still under renovation but it seems it will be best hotel around by far when it is completed. Very nice hotel, strongly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank doliche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel. Friendly staff and nice food. The host "Csaba" made a big difference to our visit by giving excellent ideas and suggestions especially for redtaurants.

The reception staff were excellent too especially the Romanian lady, i can't remember her name.

Housekeeping service was the negative part. They did not come to our room intil 4 pm. It wasn't a good time for us. We told them to come later but they refused because our room was the ladt room to clean and they want to go home after they finish cleaning our room. So, there was no housekeeping service done that day!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Unaizah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing