We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lonsdale House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairfield Garden Guest House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,121)
Filter reviews
3,121 results
Traveller rating
1,282
911
507
250
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,282
911
507
250
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold englandfeature roomvalet serviceexecutive roomterrace barice roomrelaxation roomlake viewlovely hotelcar parkcooked breakfaston arrivalsauna and steam roomafternoon teablack puddingevening mealshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2,832 - 2,837 of 3,121 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Received this complimentary break due to a poor service at Kilhey Court, Standish for our wedding in 2010. We arrived on the Friday night and the welcome we received was excellent. We had a lovely room with a lake view and balcony (think this was down to the manager from Kilhey Court) . We went to the restaurant for dinner and the choice of food was very disappointing. If vegetarians don't like mushrooms you will have to eat elsewhere!! The view was gorgeous though. Although our dinners were paid for we decided to eat elsewhere on the Saturday night as the menu didn't change and it isn't value for money. We went down for breakfast and were told we had to pay for any hot food - again the choice was disappointing and the same for both days. If you had paid for bed and breakfast at £120 (minimum) a night you would have expected something hot!! There was a lovely pub called The Albert 2 minutes away which had some good entertainment on Friday night and excellent food. The staff love anyone who is willing to pay over the odds for service (older couples) and will run around after them prioritising over others (especially younger couples)
Everything at this hotel was very clean and well maintained. The free car park was 2 minutes walk away but is not very secure - you need to pay for a card to go in but you get the money back at the end but you don't need to swipe it as you leave the car park at any time so anyone could take your car as it is down a side street - the hotel will not accept any responsibility. Overall a good experience and would stay again - without breakfast and dinner!

Room Tip: You would probably have to pay for it!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahhobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay. We here at the Old England Hotel and Spa appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive and we also share them with the team on a regular basis.
I am disappointed to learn that your thought your meal on the evening was unvaried as the restaurant market menu changes every day and offer a vegetarian opinions as well as our a’ la carte menu that has three vegetarian options in addition.
In regards to the breakfast option, when we refurbished the hotel three years ago we took the opportunity to review all the services that we offered, and how we wanted to sell the hotel going forward.
It may seem unusual that we do not include Full English Breakfast in a Leisure based hotel, but we did do our market research first based on our customer needs before we made the decision to charge.
We found that as the Macdonald Continental buffet breakfast standard was so extensive that our guests were not eating all of the cooked breakfast items like they used to and there was a lot of waste, perhaps it was a sign of the times that people choose to eat more healthily options these days. I would like to make it clear that all our staff treat all guest the same regardless of age and I am sorry that you felt that other guests received preferential treatment as this is never our intention. In with regards to the Car Parking, we have three car parks at the hotel, two being onsite with our larger car park a short walk away from the hotel. Because of this we do offer valet parking and we would have been delighted to park your car for you. Due to the heritage style streets of Bowness we have no option but to use the off site car park as parking around the hotel is very limited. Guest are offered free use of this car park, however if they wish for extra security there is a council cark park 500m from the Hotel with CCTV and is charged at £9.00 per day. If you are planning to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be more than happy to assist you in enjoying the lake view room experience.
Kind Regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed in the hotel for two nights in May, the room we were allocated was absolutely stunning, with views over the lake, couldn't have asked for more.
The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice, although they were a bit disorganised on the days we stayed, it didn't take away from the overall enjoyment.
All the staff were welcoming from the reception staff to the waiting staff in the restaurant. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewart1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

From arriving when the conceirge parked the car, everything was wonderful!! We stayed 3 nights mid week and departed on the Royal Wedding day in April. Our room was for 2 adults and 1 child and was spacious, the only down side was the building work outside (cause of the view) but the hotel can't help that!! Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and we didn't even order a full english as the continental had lots of choice. The breakfast room had wonderful views of the lake. As the weather was hot, we sampled a couple of drinks on the terrace bar overlooking the lake and it was relaxing. The hours for the children was a bit restricting but we managed to have an hour 4-5pm for a relaxing swim and sauna after walking our legs off all day!! We found all the staff helpful especially the conceirge (the funny grey haired gent). Hotel is in great location in Bowness and we went out for a couple of lovely Italian meals on an evening. Lovely time was had by all!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

hree day break in April. Gorgeous location and opulent surroundings. Helpful, friendly staff throughout, good bedrooms and superb facilities. Dinner menu restricted (winter fixed menu) but good value and well presented.- and willing to provide alternative food to menu when asked. Continental breakfast is somehting to be cherished - dont bother to pay extra for cooked breakfast.
Not the cheapest hotel but very high standards

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDGID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Many thanks for your positive comments. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff involved and we are happy to have been of service to you.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Best Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed a night over the May Bank Holiday and had a lovely time.

On arrival our car was valet parked and our bags taken to our wonderful room. Big bed and bathroom and a fantastic view of the lake.

The pool and spa areas were great and when we returned to the room and ordered ice it was delivered by room service in minutes.

We had dinner in the evening in the hotel and were given a table in the window which again had wonderful view over the lake and we really enjoyed the food, again the service was swift and attentive.

Although cooked breakfasts were not included it was far more than simply a continental breakfast. We could have eaten breakfast for hours!

Checkout was quick, though we did leave earlier than most.

All in all it was wonderful, we can't wait to get married there in August!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks, I am delighted to receive your positive comments about the Hotel and service. I have made a point to pass on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are very happy to have been of service to you and your family. We look forward to accommodating you again.

Kind Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews