We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again. Margie/ Skipton & Linda/Isle of Man” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Would stay again. Margie/ Skipton & Linda/Isle of Man”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My sister & I stayed here for one night. This hotel is in an excellant spot, as we only had room only I cannot comment on the breakfast, or dinner, we could have paid extra but it seemed really expensive, so we enjoyed our own food in the bedroom. The room we had was at the back, we did book at the last minutes through expedia, so no lake view but the room was large and very comfortable. It was a bit conjested on arrival as a coach has just arrived at the same time, the very friendy concierge helped us and took our car and parked it a short walk away, checking in, no problem and quick. The Spa we enjoyed very much and we went to the "The Ship Inn" in the evening, live music being played which we enjoyed. The check out in the morning was easy as be had paid up front.....

Room Tip: Book early as Hotel very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Guest
We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality, and it is wonderful to see this is coming through in our service. I have pass on your comment to the concierge team and the fellow staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Edward
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    815
    437
    210
    131
See reviews for
460
1,661
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

The Old England Hotel has a great location, but be sure you actually have a view of the lake or not, we booked through the Internet and requested a view but our room only has a view of the lake if you are over 5ft tall and stand on a chair to look through the small roof light.
We are paying over £350 for two night stay with continental breakfast, I tried to get an upgrade at an extra £50 per night but nothing available.
Not tried the Restaurant as only times available on checking in at 2.00pm were 6.30 or 8.45.
Very disappointing, I would move on or go home if I could get a refund, but I have paid and refund is not available. Nigel Richardson,Rearsby,Leicestershire.

Room Tip: Ring first or book direct with Hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Legintonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, at the Old England we appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive. We offer an array of different rooms from the traditional classic rooms to the new Lake View suites. I apologies that we could not accommodate you in a room with a view of the lake. I was also disappointed to read that we could not provide you with a dinner reservation at time of your choice. It is only by receiving feedback from our guests that we are able to improve the service that we offer, so please be assured that we take your comments very seriously.
Kind Regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durahm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is delightful. Car parking whilst limited is free and the concierge was on hand to direct us to a space and then help with our luggage. Check in was speedy and our room was upgraded free of charge to a room with a view of lake Windemere which was a lovely gesture. We had dinner reservations at a local restauraunt in Windemere and a taxi was ordered for us on check-in which was prompt and inexpensive.The continental breakfast selection was fresh and plentiful with a lovely variety of cereals, breads, fruit, meats and cheese. The cooked breakfast menu was extenxive too. We had a lovely view of the lake at our breakfast table.
Our room was very comfortable and well appointed and the bathroom exceptionally clean with a power shower.
Check out was plesant and speedy and all of the staff we met were friendly and professional. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. Please be assured that we always take feedback on board and I am delighted to receive the positive comments that you have given our hotel from you experience. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all of the staff. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back the Macdonald Old England Hotel and Spa.
Kind Regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed for a two night break, and thought the hotel offered a good quality stay in the lakes. Parking is limited, but car park is only 200 yards away, and you know this in advance.
Views very good, spa is good, superior rooms pretty good. Plenty of local restaurants if you don't want to eat in house.

Room Tip: Need a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardfamilyhgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Many thanks for all of your positive comments. Macdonald Hotels have a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is really encouraging to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

My fiance and i visited this hotel to celebrate our recent engagement. From the word go the staff were extremley helpful. The valet parking service was extremely efficient as was the check in process. The location of the hotel is excellent overlooking windemere lake itself with spectacular views from the sun terrace. All of the local restaurants and shops are within a stones throw of the hotel. We stayed in the Winander Suite which has a lovely private balcony overlooking the lake. Unfortunatley it had been a while since the balcony had been cleaned, much to the delight of the spiders and their many cobwebs. We also rang room service to have ice delivered which never came. Apart from them very small issues our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty111uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay. We here at the Macdonald Old England Hotel and Spa appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive and we also share them with our team on a regular basis.
Delivering the highest standards of service for all of our guests is at the heart of our core values. I was disappointed to learn about your balcony and your dealing with room service. However, I was happy to read that despite these discrepancies you had an excellent stay. Please be assured that we always take your feedback on board and I am delighted to receive the positive comments that you have given our Hotel for the Spa and our staff. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all of the staff involved.

Best regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We booked this hotel as we wanted a 2/3 night last minute cheap deal at a hotel with a pool and spa. The offer was a 2 night stay for us both for £258 to include dinner on the first night and b&b on the second and third mornings. We decided to upgrade to a bigger room with a lake view so in total it was £359 for the two of us.
Staff: Really friendly and helpful from moment of arrival till day of departure. Nothing was too much bother. We ordered lots of ice buckets and wine coolers for our room during our stay (no mini bar). There were no chocolates in our room as promised but these were delivered in minutes after we reported it to reception
The room: Nice sized room, with lovely view of the lake, 6ft wide bed (really comfy). Only down side was a big stain on the carpet in front of the coffe/tea making area, plus some of the surfaces could have done with a bit of a clean; the desk and windowsill looked as though they hadn't been wiped down proerly after the last guest had departed. Also, the wall-light on the side of the bed nearest the window was wobbly (dangerous? I'm no electrician).
Location: Spot on we didn't use our car at all for the length of our stay ,everything you need is on the doorstep. Loads of choice for food, pubs, shops, boat-trips.
Pool and Spa: Very dark and tired looking. Whilst we were there there was NEVER any ice in the ice-room. There is also a lack of signage about general hygiene whilst using the facilities. I even saw one guy walking poolside in his outdoor shoes and socks. I just kept my fingers crossed that he hadn't walked anything unthinkable in on them.
Hotel restaurant: Lovely food and great service (we're non-meat eaters) but found our requirements adequately fulfilled by choices such as Pumkin Ravioli and Wild Mushroom Lasagne.
Value for money: The drinks are food in the restaurant and bar are extortionate, from memory it's about £8 for a medium (175ml) glass of wine and although we could spend up to £28 p/p for dinner on the first night we still went over by £17 and then we only had one glass of wine (just me) and a bottle of mineral water and no coffee. However, the hand-cut chips they do are massive and 'to die for' and at £3 a portion are worth ordering in your room for supper and quaffing with a bottle of wine from Tesco's.
Summary: All-in-all a really nicely located hotel with great staff which is only let down by the gloomy pool and spa, the haphazerd housekeeping and the really high prices at the bar.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uberbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay and we appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive. We also share them with the team on a regular basis. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality, and it is wonderful to see this coming through in our service. In particular, it was nice to read your positive comments about the staff. I was however, very surprised to read about the cleanliness issues in your room. Haphazard cleaning is not indicative in our hotel, indeed we receive many compliments regarding our rooms, but I am sorry that we clearly fell short on this occasion. I was also sorry that you did not like our spa facilities, this is a comment I have never received before, but I am respectful of your point of view and have taken on board your comments regarding the signage. Your comments regarding your dining experiences have been passed to our executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager and they thank you for your feedback. If you are planning to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be more than happy to assist you with your future booking.
Kind Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes, cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Received this complimentary break due to a poor service at Kilhey Court, Standish for our wedding in 2010. We arrived on the Friday night and the welcome we received was excellent. We had a lovely room with a lake view and balcony (think this was down to the manager from Kilhey Court) . We went to the restaurant for dinner and the choice of food was very disappointing. If vegetarians don't like mushrooms you will have to eat elsewhere!! The view was gorgeous though. Although our dinners were paid for we decided to eat elsewhere on the Saturday night as the menu didn't change and it isn't value for money. We went down for breakfast and were told we had to pay for any hot food - again the choice was disappointing and the same for both days. If you had paid for bed and breakfast at £120 (minimum) a night you would have expected something hot!! There was a lovely pub called The Albert 2 minutes away which had some good entertainment on Friday night and excellent food. The staff love anyone who is willing to pay over the odds for service (older couples) and will run around after them prioritising over others (especially younger couples)
Everything at this hotel was very clean and well maintained. The free car park was 2 minutes walk away but is not very secure - you need to pay for a card to go in but you get the money back at the end but you don't need to swipe it as you leave the car park at any time so anyone could take your car as it is down a side street - the hotel will not accept any responsibility. Overall a good experience and would stay again - without breakfast and dinner!

Room Tip: You would probably have to pay for it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahhobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay. We here at the Old England Hotel and Spa appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive and we also share them with the team on a regular basis.
I am disappointed to learn that your thought your meal on the evening was unvaried as the restaurant market menu changes every day and offer a vegetarian opinions as well as our a’ la carte menu that has three vegetarian options in addition.
In regards to the breakfast option, when we refurbished the hotel three years ago we took the opportunity to review all the services that we offered, and how we wanted to sell the hotel going forward.
It may seem unusual that we do not include Full English Breakfast in a Leisure based hotel, but we did do our market research first based on our customer needs before we made the decision to charge.
We found that as the Macdonald Continental buffet breakfast standard was so extensive that our guests were not eating all of the cooked breakfast items like they used to and there was a lot of waste, perhaps it was a sign of the times that people choose to eat more healthily options these days. I would like to make it clear that all our staff treat all guest the same regardless of age and I am sorry that you felt that other guests received preferential treatment as this is never our intention. In with regards to the Car Parking, we have three car parks at the hotel, two being onsite with our larger car park a short walk away from the hotel. Because of this we do offer valet parking and we would have been delighted to park your car for you. Due to the heritage style streets of Bowness we have no option but to use the off site car park as parking around the hotel is very limited. Guest are offered free use of this car park, however if they wish for extra security there is a council cark park 500m from the Hotel with CCTV and is charged at £9.00 per day. If you are planning to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be more than happy to assist you in enjoying the lake view room experience.
Kind Regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing