We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,233)
Filter reviews
3,233 results
Traveller rating
1,317
930
525
267
194
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
930
525
267
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old england feature room valet service terrace bar executive room ice room lake view relaxation room lovely hotel car park cooked breakfast on arrival sauna and steam room afternoon tea black pudding evening meal short break
Filter
Updating list...
2,740 - 2,745 of 3,233 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Upside: Wonderful setting right on Lake Windermere. We requested a lake view and stayed in a lovely room (145) for 2 nights to attend a family wedding. Our family stayed in 2 other rooms, which did not have a lake view but were large and well furnished. All our rooms were clean and very comfortable. High quality bathroom products. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. All staff polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Downside: Expensive. Expect London prices for rooms, food and drink. The shower, although good would have been difficult for less able people to access. High step up and narrow door, which opened outwards and dripped water all over the floor.
Poor choice for dinner. We are not fussy eaters, but found it difficult to find something we wanted. Steaks tough. There was Internet access in the rooms, but no wifi. This is a major minus for such an expensive hotel. Wifi is an expectation these days in all rooms, in quality hotels. Our bill for 3 rooms for 2 nights was £1100+, although this included some drinks and dinner. Yet, I was expected to pay a £2 charge for using a credit card. I stay in many major hotels around the world and have never been asked to pay this before. I know it's petty, but I disputed this and the receptionist agreed to waive the charge.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Kim_sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I am only commenting on the spa as we did not stay in the hotel. The spa is quite new so the quality is very high but I would not recommned it as a the main point of a break. It is basically a pool with 2 small rooms, one a sauna the other a steam room. There are only 4 loungers. The main problem was the fact kids were aloud to use the "Spa". There is no age limit and no members of staff around other than at the desk so children were running, jumping, diving, shouting and generally having a great time. Reminded me more of a pool at the local leisure centre or a 3 star package deal in Majorca only without a lifeguard. If you want a relaxing spa experience this is definitely not it. Choose an adults only. Might be better mid-week. They seem to do a lot weddings at weekends, the hotel was very busy with guests leaving. We were going to have a coffee in the lounge but were put off by the lad fast asleep on the sofa with his boxer shorts hanging out. suspect he was a wedding guest - staff ignored him. We moved on.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank basnettma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the old England on a number of occasions over the past 4 years. We actually got married here in August 2008 & have returned at least twice a year to visit. This hotel really does tick all the boxes. The location is simply breathtaking & when you actually take a moment to sit back and take in the view of the lake, you realise that you cannot really put a price on staying here! I have stayed in many different rooms and can honestly say that there isn't a bad room. A tip for anyone making a reservation for the first time would be to ask for a lakeside view room and make sure you ask for a room in the "renovated section". The bathrooms are devine and equipped to a really high standard. Everything u would want or need is in your room - bath robes, slippers, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, complimentary water, fridge, coffee/tea facilities etc.
The spa is just beautiful and really worth a visit, even If it's just for a quick swim and a visit to the sauna/steam room. I have had treatments, and yes they are expensive, but no dearer than what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
The breakfast is absolutely scrumptious and it's taken by order, so no buffet style full English, but a personal order which is taken and the choice is excellent and varied. You will leave in the morning feeling full!

Overall, always a consistently wonderful stay. Great rooms, attentive staff where nothing is too much trouble, perfect location with stunning views and plenty to do just on your doorstep. Great place to come as a treat.

Can't fault the wedding service - first class! We used Michelle who is the hotel wedding planner; she was amazing and looked after us really well.
We will continue to visit and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a very pleasant stay, couldn't really fault the hotel. The weather was terrible, but that been the case for much of the summer. Breakfast was good,loads of choice available, on both morning's had a table with a lovely view of the lake, and the service was fine. Also enjoyed the pool, steam and sauna.

Room Tip: Didn't have lake view, but just as well as it was very misty.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank materialgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at the Old England to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From arrival to checkout, the staff were excellent. We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite overlooking Lake Windermere, it was absolutely stunning. Food excellent, cleanliness spotless and the whole hotel both inside and out was wonderful.

Room Tip: Lake views are a must.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herindoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews