We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra if you like quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Well worth the money as a quality, well run, well managed hotel. Just stayed in room 235 this weekend which was at the back of the hotel but it didnt matter. Room was spacious with very clean, modern appliances with the attention to detail you notice if you are used to quality. view from the bar was great and right on the lake! Will book again as old fashioned looks, with modern well appointed rooms is a winner and just what we wanted. Well done to the team @ Old England.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buyerandseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,471 - 2,477 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

stayed in this hotel and would have no problem recommending it to anyone else. Right on the lake so the views are amazing even if the weather isn't. Ate a meal in the hotel restaurant which was very tastey and well presented like the rest of the hotel really. My only complaints would be that its slightly on the overpriced side but you are paying a premium for that view and would have liked to have had some of the treatments but they were so expensive we were prevented from doing so.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beechdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a wonderful 2 nights we had in the Old England Hotel. We booked 1 family room and 2 Executive rooms. All the rooms were lovely with a beautiful view over lake Windamere. The rooms were spotless clean, the beds were huge and very comfortable. The family room we booked was a room with a separate room containing bunk beds. The staff were all very helpful and polite, making sure they made extra effort to make our stay as enjoyable as they possibly could. Breakfast was very nice with a huge selection and again the service was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel & will without a doubt book this hotel on my next visit to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed 3rd & 4th August 2012. Had stayed here a couple of years ago in the February and decided to go back for a relaxing weekend in hopefully better weather conditions!! We arrived on Friday evening around 7.30pm.
Reception: Attilla the Porter greeted us and and organised our bags and car parking, (just pull up outside the hotel and he'll park your car in the private carpark a short walk away) he's a great guy, hard working and very professional. Peter on the Reception desk was an absolute sweetheart and gave us a lovely room (237) overlooking the gardens and lake.
Room 237: Standard room? (not sure if we had a free upgrade, as it was so nice)! This was in the new part of the hotel, beautifully decorated in muted tones, with mirrored sliding wardrobe, dressing table, comfy chairs and table in front of the window and a very comfortable bed.The bathroom was immaculate with seperate shower enclosure, bath and lovely fluffy towels. There's also a great magnified shaving mirror! There is tea & coffee making facilities and an electronic safe (no charge).
Food: Dinner on Friday night was great! don't be put off if you think it's going to be a stuffy atmosphere, it's deffinately not! Bea our waitress was lovely, really bubbly, friendly and very professional! The food was great! Try the venison with roasted beetroot it was delicious! We arrived at 8.30pm for dinner and was last out at 10.30pm! No rush or waiters standing looking at their watches!
Breakfast is just great, again no rush, great selection of continental breakfast as well as juices, breads, pastries etc. and please try the scrambled egg and smoked salmon, it's well worth the £2.50 supplement as there's enough smoked salmon for 2 people! A special mention to Alex at breakfast, she's a star!
We had afternoon tea on the beautiful terrace on Saturday afternoon, and I can only say WOW!! the finger sandwiches were nice, but the cakes were out of this world! Please be warned this is not for the faint hearted or if you're watching your waistline! There was 16 different cakes, scones, tray bakes etc on the tray!! We ended up passing the remaining 10 cakes to the table of 4 next to us, who also struggled to finish it!
The staff really made our stay a memorable one, as well as (almost) a full day of glorious sunshine!

Room Tip: Room 237 is beautiful! great views over the gardens and lake Windermere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Upside: Wonderful setting right on Lake Windermere. We requested a lake view and stayed in a lovely room (145) for 2 nights to attend a family wedding. Our family stayed in 2 other rooms, which did not have a lake view but were large and well furnished. All our rooms were clean and very comfortable. High quality bathroom products. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. All staff polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Downside: Expensive. Expect London prices for rooms, food and drink. The shower, although good would have been difficult for less able people to access. High step up and narrow door, which opened outwards and dripped water all over the floor.
Poor choice for dinner. We are not fussy eaters, but found it difficult to find something we wanted. Steaks tough. There was Internet access in the rooms, but no wifi. This is a major minus for such an expensive hotel. Wifi is an expectation these days in all rooms, in quality hotels. Our bill for 3 rooms for 2 nights was £1100+, although this included some drinks and dinner. Yet, I was expected to pay a £2 charge for using a credit card. I stay in many major hotels around the world and have never been asked to pay this before. I know it's petty, but I disputed this and the receptionist agreed to waive the charge.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Kim_sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I am only commenting on the spa as we did not stay in the hotel. The spa is quite new so the quality is very high but I would not recommned it as a the main point of a break. It is basically a pool with 2 small rooms, one a sauna the other a steam room. There are only 4 loungers. The main problem was the fact kids were aloud to use the "Spa". There is no age limit and no members of staff around other than at the desk so children were running, jumping, diving, shouting and generally having a great time. Reminded me more of a pool at the local leisure centre or a 3 star package deal in Majorca only without a lifeguard. If you want a relaxing spa experience this is definitely not it. Choose an adults only. Might be better mid-week. They seem to do a lot weddings at weekends, the hotel was very busy with guests leaving. We were going to have a coffee in the lounge but were put off by the lad fast asleep on the sofa with his boxer shorts hanging out. suspect he was a wedding guest - staff ignored him. We moved on.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank basnettma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the old England on a number of occasions over the past 4 years. We actually got married here in August 2008 & have returned at least twice a year to visit. This hotel really does tick all the boxes. The location is simply breathtaking & when you actually take a moment to sit back and take in the view of the lake, you realise that you cannot really put a price on staying here! I have stayed in many different rooms and can honestly say that there isn't a bad room. A tip for anyone making a reservation for the first time would be to ask for a lakeside view room and make sure you ask for a room in the "renovated section". The bathrooms are devine and equipped to a really high standard. Everything u would want or need is in your room - bath robes, slippers, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, complimentary water, fridge, coffee/tea facilities etc.
The spa is just beautiful and really worth a visit, even If it's just for a quick swim and a visit to the sauna/steam room. I have had treatments, and yes they are expensive, but no dearer than what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
The breakfast is absolutely scrumptious and it's taken by order, so no buffet style full English, but a personal order which is taken and the choice is excellent and varied. You will leave in the morning feeling full!

Overall, always a consistently wonderful stay. Great rooms, attentive staff where nothing is too much trouble, perfect location with stunning views and plenty to do just on your doorstep. Great place to come as a treat.

Can't fault the wedding service - first class! We used Michelle who is the hotel wedding planner; she was amazing and looked after us really well.
We will continue to visit and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £99 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing