We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,251)
Filter reviews
3,251 results
Traveller rating
1,321
938
531
267
194
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,321
938
531
267
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old england feature room valet service terrace bar executive room ice room lake view relaxation room lovely hotel car park cooked breakfast on arrival sauna and steam room afternoon tea black pudding evening meal short break
Filter
Updating list...
2,755 - 2,760 of 3,251 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

stayed in this hotel and would have no problem recommending it to anyone else. Right on the lake so the views are amazing even if the weather isn't. Ate a meal in the hotel restaurant which was very tastey and well presented like the rest of the hotel really. My only complaints would be that its slightly on the overpriced side but you are paying a premium for that view and would have liked to have had some of the treatments but they were so expensive we were prevented from doing so.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beechdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a wonderful 2 nights we had in the Old England Hotel. We booked 1 family room and 2 Executive rooms. All the rooms were lovely with a beautiful view over lake Windamere. The rooms were spotless clean, the beds were huge and very comfortable. The family room we booked was a room with a separate room containing bunk beds. The staff were all very helpful and polite, making sure they made extra effort to make our stay as enjoyable as they possibly could. Breakfast was very nice with a huge selection and again the service was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel & will without a doubt book this hotel on my next visit to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed 3rd & 4th August 2012. Had stayed here a couple of years ago in the February and decided to go back for a relaxing weekend in hopefully better weather conditions!! We arrived on Friday evening around 7.30pm.
Reception: Attilla the Porter greeted us and and organised our bags and car parking, (just pull up outside the hotel and he'll park your car in the private carpark a short walk away) he's a great guy, hard working and very professional. Peter on the Reception desk was an absolute sweetheart and gave us a lovely room (237) overlooking the gardens and lake.
Room 237: Standard room? (not sure if we had a free upgrade, as it was so nice)! This was in the new part of the hotel, beautifully decorated in muted tones, with mirrored sliding wardrobe, dressing table, comfy chairs and table in front of the window and a very comfortable bed.The bathroom was immaculate with seperate shower enclosure, bath and lovely fluffy towels. There's also a great magnified shaving mirror! There is tea & coffee making facilities and an electronic safe (no charge).
Food: Dinner on Friday night was great! don't be put off if you think it's going to be a stuffy atmosphere, it's deffinately not! Bea our waitress was lovely, really bubbly, friendly and very professional! The food was great! Try the venison with roasted beetroot it was delicious! We arrived at 8.30pm for dinner and was last out at 10.30pm! No rush or waiters standing looking at their watches!
Breakfast is just great, again no rush, great selection of continental breakfast as well as juices, breads, pastries etc. and please try the scrambled egg and smoked salmon, it's well worth the £2.50 supplement as there's enough smoked salmon for 2 people! A special mention to Alex at breakfast, she's a star!
We had afternoon tea on the beautiful terrace on Saturday afternoon, and I can only say WOW!! the finger sandwiches were nice, but the cakes were out of this world! Please be warned this is not for the faint hearted or if you're watching your waistline! There was 16 different cakes, scones, tray bakes etc on the tray!! We ended up passing the remaining 10 cakes to the table of 4 next to us, who also struggled to finish it!
The staff really made our stay a memorable one, as well as (almost) a full day of glorious sunshine!

Room Tip: Room 237 is beautiful! great views over the gardens and lake Windermere.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Upside: Wonderful setting right on Lake Windermere. We requested a lake view and stayed in a lovely room (145) for 2 nights to attend a family wedding. Our family stayed in 2 other rooms, which did not have a lake view but were large and well furnished. All our rooms were clean and very comfortable. High quality bathroom products. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. All staff polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Downside: Expensive. Expect London prices for rooms, food and drink. The shower, although good would have been difficult for less able people to access. High step up and narrow door, which opened outwards and dripped water all over the floor.
Poor choice for dinner. We are not fussy eaters, but found it difficult to find something we wanted. Steaks tough. There was Internet access in the rooms, but no wifi. This is a major minus for such an expensive hotel. Wifi is an expectation these days in all rooms, in quality hotels. Our bill for 3 rooms for 2 nights was £1100+, although this included some drinks and dinner. Yet, I was expected to pay a £2 charge for using a credit card. I stay in many major hotels around the world and have never been asked to pay this before. I know it's petty, but I disputed this and the receptionist agreed to waive the charge.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Kim_sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I am only commenting on the spa as we did not stay in the hotel. The spa is quite new so the quality is very high but I would not recommned it as a the main point of a break. It is basically a pool with 2 small rooms, one a sauna the other a steam room. There are only 4 loungers. The main problem was the fact kids were aloud to use the "Spa". There is no age limit and no members of staff around other than at the desk so children were running, jumping, diving, shouting and generally having a great time. Reminded me more of a pool at the local leisure centre or a 3 star package deal in Majorca only without a lifeguard. If you want a relaxing spa experience this is definitely not it. Choose an adults only. Might be better mid-week. They seem to do a lot weddings at weekends, the hotel was very busy with guests leaving. We were going to have a coffee in the lounge but were put off by the lad fast asleep on the sofa with his boxer shorts hanging out. suspect he was a wedding guest - staff ignored him. We moved on.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank basnettma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews