We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and relaxing hotel,catering well for Gluten free diet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely location and relaxing hotel,catering well for Gluten free diet”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Visited this lake district hotel because of its central location .The reason was to take photos of the autumn colours (but the trees had not yet changed colour-10th oct.)
The room had a super view of Lake Windermere, was warm ,clean and the Tea making and toiletries were good quality.Good start!!
We had dinner and the staff made every effort to cater for my dietary needs.
The Spa room gets booked up quickly so if you want to treat yourself to any of the treatments
avoid being disappointed and book before you arrive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcliff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    840
    449
    220
    136
See reviews for
477
1,719
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here for our mini moon in September, beautiful hotel, beautiful view from the room and the bar area. The only down sides we had, we waited 4 hrs to check into our room luckily we had spa treatments booked in so we got on with them but 4 hrs is a very long time to wait to get into your room, when I complained about this as it as our mini moon they gave us a complimentary bottle of fizz with our evening meal, which was delicious meat was so tender just melted in my mouth :), day two we went out for a boat trip which was nice took 45 mins then had a coffee when we returned to our room, the door was wide open wedged with a towel! We walked right in a stood by the window in complete shock, the maid then walked in said hello and got on with the cleaning, I went straight down to reception to complain about this as it was highly unacceptable! I was stood waiting in a que then was told to take a seat and waiting another 5 or so mins for the manager, when I told him what had happened and how unhappy I was as we had left our wedding gifts in the room and my jewellery he replied, they have to leave the doors open for the cleaning supervisor to check the rooms! He asked me to check that everything was there and let him know, he then offered us another free bottle of fizz with our evening meal, nice gesture but still didn't take away the fact that they happily leave rooms wide open for someone to check, they have keys so they should just let themselves in! He then rang straight away to check that all out things were still there, which they were. The morning after we went for breakfast and waited 15 mins to be seating, once seated we waited a further 10 mins for our drinks to be ordered, we then waiting another 10 mins for them to come and for our food to be ordered, they had 4 people cleaning one table while they had guest sat down not having been seen to, we complained about this and the manager dealt with our complaint in a very nice mannor. Having had some many problems in a small amount of time we wer left not wanting to return, but the managers apology made us feel better. We would visit the hotel again so it wasn't that bad that it made us not want to go back again, the manager offered us to contact her when we return for our anniversary so she can make sure our next visit has no problems :) we would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nici S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel. Lovely friendly service, fab location and good rooms. Bathroom a tiny bit dated but clean. Reception very kindly upgraded us to a lake view as it was a special occasion. Restaurant was busy but the food was good and we were very well looked after by Tania - who managed to be everywhere at once! If you like uber-modern hotels and stylish minimalism don't stay here - but if you like old fashioned grandeur, fab service, a cosy bar and valet parking, book now!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAGEL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

As a thank you for helping with their wedding our son and daughter -in- law booked this break for us knowing we harboured a wish to return to the scene of our honeymoon back in 1974.

We were greeted with a welcome smile and from that moment on nothing was too much trouble. The room we had overlooked the Lake and was very comfortable so no complaints there !!
The food was as good, if not better, than we have experienced at other Macdonald hotels so again no complaints there and if fact they were extremely good.

Had the afternoon tea one day and what an experience ! Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the variety of goodies provided and don't book dinner as in our experience you won't need it.

As I said found all of the staff friendly and helpful but have to single out Tania who went that extra mile and always with a smile.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Lake is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the heart of Bowness with outstanding views from the lounge/ dining room. Booked a standard room on a Friday night for £136-- room 119(over the flagpole above the entrance)really well presented room with high ceilings and a huge bed. Bar area is really spacious and reasonably priced-- just a note for you late night revellers the bar isn't open 24 hours ---- found out when we came in from the pub next door at 2 am(probably a good thing in hindsight!!!!!).Only negative was the slow service at breakfast, took around 70 mins for cooked breakfast to arrive and when it did one of our party's breakfast was cold and when I say cold I mean cold-- no check back from the server either so didn't get chance to bring it to her attention. Other breakfasts in party were fine, tasty and plentiful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yorksboy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester (uk)
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip.
The parking at the hotel is a little random and the best way to approach parking is to stop on the double yellow lines outside the hotel (you wont get a ticket dont worry!) and ask for directions to the hotel car parks as they are a 5 minute walk away.
The hotel staff are pleasant and willing to help.
The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing and the suite rooms overlook lake windermere. (worth the upgrade)
The food in the hotel was good although there are plenty of restaurants to choose from that are a short walk from the hotel.
I would saty here again for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed in the Suite with Balcony, fantastic setting with views over the lake, Breakfast,lunch and evening meal were all good. Robes in room had dirty marks on them. Very central for the village and its charming shops and eateries. Great walks, and self drive hire boats. nice swimming pool. Great stay for a relaxing 4 days.

Room Tip: Choose the Winander suite with balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing