We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely service but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely service but expensive”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Old England is centrally located in the heart of Bowness. Just a few steps beyond the front door are all the shops and restaurants and also the jetty's for the lake boat trips. The hotel is very nicely decorated, it is warm and homely and without exception the staff are super friendly. The swimming pool is an excellent size for a hotel and the gym is brilliantly equipped - the spa is frequented by private gym members from the local area hence how well set up it is. Evening meals are of good quality but we found the breakfast patchy - it was wonderful to not have a lukewarm hotplate buffet and to have breakfast freshly cooked, but given how cold it was when it arrived, I felt there was a stock of stuff sitting in the kitchen. The staff seemed run off their feet at breakfast, particularly over the weekend when wedding guests swelled the numbers. The only real disappointment was the feature rooms. They were well appointed but I paid extra for these to get good lake views and felt really shortchanged. The lake views from the feature rooms in the modern wing are quite limited. You can certainly see the lake, but your view isn't necessarily uninterrupted and you can't sit n the window and enjoy it, you kind of have to strain to see. Our view was of the roof and rear areas of the sailing club which wasn;t entirely pleasant. So, it is a procey hotel, but the staff, location and general feel are great. I didn't give it five stras because of the lake views, the impact on service to other guests when there are weddings booked and the fact that tables in the restaurant seemingly had to be booked in the morning to get any chance of eating before 9pm.

Room Tip: Try a feature room in the older part of the house rather than the new wing, they are more quirky byt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feedbackmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    834
    445
    217
    135
See reviews for
473
1,696
44
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Having stayed here before we were really looking forward to our stay...so before I get started the hotel itself still delivered, the staff are very attentive and the location is breathtaking.
However, on this, our third visit, the room was disappointing to say the least. Tired and shabby I could forgive, but a bathroom that is so dirty that we found silver worm bugs crawling on the floor was quite unbelievable! I would have happily recommended this hotel before, but having stayed here last weekend I would be embarressed to do so...so if I'd feel embarrassed, how do you feel - as the manager to read this?
Our comments refer to our stay in room 320.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MMc575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

we have just spent a few days here for our honeymoon.... it was fantastic!!! Edward the GM has fantastic staff and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Michael the restaurant manager was wonderful too. we had a small problem with our breakfast but he sorted this out and wasn't over fussy with us, however we were confident that he had listened to us and remedied the issue. the leisure facilities are faultless. evening dinner was spectacular, the cheese souffle was absolutely perfect - (not something i say about food very often). we tried something differente every evening, but i would've quite easily had that each meal!! we had the pleasure of being served our meals by a lovely young man called Chris - he is a credit to the hotel. we both had a facial and massage in one of the "couples rooms" anna and dawn were wonderful, and we would recommend this to anyone! the pool and steam/sauna/ice rooms are great too. our room...wow! we overlooked the lake with a private balcony. it was our not-so-little slice of heaven. the service we received was first class, from friendly, helpful and very polite staff. the hotel is quite large, however the entire place is immaculate and yet still cozy. it was a pleasure to have our honeymoon there and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing weekend at this hotel. Pricey buy worth it. Lovely to have a pool and our room had an excellent view. Also defintely reccomend the breakfast! Black Pudding was very nice and service throughout the whole trip was spot-on.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

stayed overnight on a business trip - good food, excellent room, breakfast first class, might even have a leisure break there at some point. Views are stunning - they will also valet park your car int heir car park as there isn't much room adjacent to hotel. decent base for a wander too

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room with a veranda - worth it even in november
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 684JohnW684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very chilled out break at half term, not a cheap break but worth every penny. Food excellent especially the evening menu, just as expected from a Macdonald hotel. loved it. No problem with parking as parked outside hotel and staff moved it for us as parking at a premium.

Room Tip: Lake view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

stayed here several time over the year as a location for business meetings.
the hotel is well placed with terrific views from all of the bedrooms I have stayed in.
the restaurant setting is superb but the chef unfortunately thinks he is Raymond Blanc. Breakfast was just what you would want it to be but by lunchtime Raymond is into his stride and what is available is a vast array of small nouvelle cuisine light bites - not for me unfortunately
want a bowl of soup and some nice crusty bread served with forest of bowland butter - not a chance.
bedrooms are excellent, well laid out ,good furniture et al and great views - although the shower didn't work in the bridal suite
wi fi available at no cost and easy to get into
main lounge /bar area is well appointed but in an old style and quite gloomy
parking is very difficult although the staff will gladly take your keys and disappear with your car - although I always worry about that!!!
you'll be pushed to find anybody british working in the hotel - would be a great place to stay if you wanted to learn eastern european languages

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing