We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 November 2012

just got back from a cracking 3 day stay at the old engalnd hotel in bowness on windermere ,i could not ask for more .the staff were the best and always had a smile .nothing was to mutch trouble even when i asked for some milk at 5 am so i could make a cup of tea brian the night manager and his team were there .the day staff as well could not do enough .if you in the lakes and want a nice hotel that gives a 5 star service this is the one .the food was 2nd to none like the service .i look forward to going again .thanks to all .

Room Tip: try the rom with the balcony its great on a nice day and the view is world class .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,401 - 2,407 of 2,962 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Old England is centrally located in the heart of Bowness. Just a few steps beyond the front door are all the shops and restaurants and also the jetty's for the lake boat trips. The hotel is very nicely decorated, it is warm and homely and without exception the staff are super friendly. The swimming pool is an excellent size for a hotel and the gym is brilliantly equipped - the spa is frequented by private gym members from the local area hence how well set up it is. Evening meals are of good quality but we found the breakfast patchy - it was wonderful to not have a lukewarm hotplate buffet and to have breakfast freshly cooked, but given how cold it was when it arrived, I felt there was a stock of stuff sitting in the kitchen. The staff seemed run off their feet at breakfast, particularly over the weekend when wedding guests swelled the numbers. The only real disappointment was the feature rooms. They were well appointed but I paid extra for these to get good lake views and felt really shortchanged. The lake views from the feature rooms in the modern wing are quite limited. You can certainly see the lake, but your view isn't necessarily uninterrupted and you can't sit n the window and enjoy it, you kind of have to strain to see. Our view was of the roof and rear areas of the sailing club which wasn;t entirely pleasant. So, it is a procey hotel, but the staff, location and general feel are great. I didn't give it five stras because of the lake views, the impact on service to other guests when there are weddings booked and the fact that tables in the restaurant seemingly had to be booked in the morning to get any chance of eating before 9pm.

Room Tip: Try a feature room in the older part of the house rather than the new wing, they are more quirky byt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedbackmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Having stayed here before we were really looking forward to our stay...so before I get started the hotel itself still delivered, the staff are very attentive and the location is breathtaking.
However, on this, our third visit, the room was disappointing to say the least. Tired and shabby I could forgive, but a bathroom that is so dirty that we found silver worm bugs crawling on the floor was quite unbelievable! I would have happily recommended this hotel before, but having stayed here last weekend I would be embarressed to do so...so if I'd feel embarrassed, how do you feel - as the manager to read this?
Our comments refer to our stay in room 320.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MMc575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

we have just spent a few days here for our honeymoon.... it was fantastic!!! Edward the GM has fantastic staff and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Michael the restaurant manager was wonderful too. we had a small problem with our breakfast but he sorted this out and wasn't over fussy with us, however we were confident that he had listened to us and remedied the issue. the leisure facilities are faultless. evening dinner was spectacular, the cheese souffle was absolutely perfect - (not something i say about food very often). we tried something differente every evening, but i would've quite easily had that each meal!! we had the pleasure of being served our meals by a lovely young man called Chris - he is a credit to the hotel. we both had a facial and massage in one of the "couples rooms" anna and dawn were wonderful, and we would recommend this to anyone! the pool and steam/sauna/ice rooms are great too. our room...wow! we overlooked the lake with a private balcony. it was our not-so-little slice of heaven. the service we received was first class, from friendly, helpful and very polite staff. the hotel is quite large, however the entire place is immaculate and yet still cozy. it was a pleasure to have our honeymoon there and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing weekend at this hotel. Pricey buy worth it. Lovely to have a pool and our room had an excellent view. Also defintely reccomend the breakfast! Black Pudding was very nice and service throughout the whole trip was spot-on.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

stayed overnight on a business trip - good food, excellent room, breakfast first class, might even have a leisure break there at some point. Views are stunning - they will also valet park your car int heir car park as there isn't much room adjacent to hotel. decent base for a wander too

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room with a veranda - worth it even in november
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 684JohnW684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very chilled out break at half term, not a cheap break but worth every penny. Food excellent especially the evening menu, just as expected from a Macdonald hotel. loved it. No problem with parking as parked outside hotel and staff moved it for us as parking at a premium.

Room Tip: Lake view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
455 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £111 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing