We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location hotel - Old English charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location hotel - Old English charm”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Managed to park in the car park next to the hotel. Only found out later that there was another car park available a short distance away. This is a very good hotel to experience old English charm. We found all the reception staff very friendly and helpful. Our room (217) was OK, small and with no view only the pub windows next door. Bathroom design was not good, difficulty getting in and out of bath due to glass shower screen. Not a good room for anyone less agile! If you want views and space, then you need to state this when booking and pay for the extras. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and wonderful views from the dining room. Hotel is central to everything, boat trips, restaurants etc. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayaddict023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    834
    445
    217
    135
See reviews for
473
1,697
44
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The overall score for the hotel is based on quite a mixed stay . Hotel is an old one " character" I assume the correct phrase.
Positioning of hotel in Bowness is superb , great views of lake from the dining room and lounge and , I believe ,from some of the rooms. Our room was reasonably comfortable , medium size, bathroom average and as it was not the cheapest grade we had hoped for a glimpse of the lake but we hit the jackpot with a great view of the skip at the back of a nearby property ! Luckily over the weekend the builders were not working too hard early morning. Some rooms in the corridors would also I assume get a lot of noise from cleaning staff as the cleaning trolleys were spread past a few rooms on the corridor each morning very early on.
Due to the location parking is all valet service - but that too can cause problems at peak times as the small road by the hotel can sometimes not cope with the number of cars when people are waiting to check in .
Staff were very pleasant throughout , check in desk could do with help at times as it becomes stretched on check in and check out , but they still remain cheerful.
Food - breakfasts very good - superb choice of buffet and cooked breakfast also good . Dinner when included in the price is very good value and excellent . Usually find the Macdonald Hotels in general do use good quality produce which reflects in their meals .
Drinks in lounge - FORGET THEM , pricing is steep even for tea/ coffee - presumably they get a lot of passing trade and need to make money off people when only there for an hour or two ?
Spa had a "special "marked on boards through the hotel which had " stopped" when we asked at the spa itself , a suggestion that the cards should be removed took 2 days to action .
The hotel overall somehow just falls short of very good - I would have said good for the price we paid - but no option for that so sticking on average .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We always have a weekend away in March for our anniversary and never go to the same place twice, but this time we made an exception as we loved our first stay at Old England 3 years ago, we were compelled to return!! The staff are very efficient and friendly. We had a ground floor room, with a good view and the room was spacious and clean with a big comfy bed, soft bath robes and good quality tea and biscuits.. The breakfast was good and the serving staff attentive. We only paid £87/night including breakfast, you can get a good deal if you search the net, we used Trivago. Absolute bargain!! The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Bowness, which is good for a night out, plenty of eating places and pubs. Absolutely recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last Sept to break up a Bristol to Aberdeen drive and did the same this year on the way back from Scotland for 3 nights. We did look at other (cheaper) options but the hotel was so good last year we decided to come back. Our little one is now 13 months and the hotel were very helpful with high chairs, sterilising bottles etc. One minor niggle is that high chair could have done with a clean - from experience 10 minutes with a baby wipe would have done the trick!!! Excellent hotel and excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were considering staying in this hotel as it is situated right in the middle of bowness on Windermere. my partner is in a wheelchair, so we wanted a central hotel. We were already booked into a hotel just outside the town and having looked at this hotel online, we decided to go and check it out for ourselves. Our main concern was, of course, accessibility. The few parking spaces adjacent to the hotel were occupied so we parked outside the hotel, which has double yellow lines outside it. Having displayed my partners blue badge and time clock (which allows 3 hours parking on yellow lines) I started unloading the wheelchair when I became aware of a hotel porter standing and watching us. Having transferred my partner out into the chair, the porter stepped forward and asked if we were guests at the hotel. when i said, not yet he said we could not park the car there. As he was not English, we pointed out that the blue badge allowed us to park there, albeit temporarily, but he repeated that we could not park there as the hotel was expecting a coach to arrive and would need our space. My partner repeated that he was legally parked but the porter 'suggested' that the car could be damaged by the pending arrival of the coach. He kept on and on that I should move the car that eventually, I told my partner nothing would induce me to consider this hotel for a stay if this was an example of their 'hospitality' (bearing in mind my partners very obvious disability)
I then had to transfer my partner back into the car and drive further up the town into a disabled bay which allowed 3 hours parking. We passed the hotel several times during the next hour and never saw any evidence of a coach. Obviously the porter was just moving us on so he could keep the road outside the hotel specifically for hotel use - despite it being a public road. Very poor show.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sooz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, Lancs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Took my soon-to-be-mum daughter there for a pamper overnight stay and we had a lovely time. Staff were so attentive, a cut above some of the guests to be honest, and the general feel of the place was a sort of Agatha christie movie set - I loved it. Room 309 had a fab view of the the lake and was clean, comfy and had everything a 4 star room should have. The spa and the people were fantastic and friendly and the pool, albeit with young kiddies was just what we needed. Next time we promised ourselves a two night stay...thanks everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex-stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 2nd May over the May Bank Holiday Weekend. We had booked directly with the hotel since we had specific room requests: Cot for our baby, a family room, a fridge in the room and above all one of the hotel's renovated rooms. We had decided to trade off a lake view for a more modern room. Upon check in we were given an unrenovated room with a lake view and no cot!
Our initial displeasure at the above points were soon erased though as the location and the ambience of the hotel won us over. The view from our room was spectacular as was the view from the lounge and dining areas. The service from all staff was excellent and we had breakfast each day plus one evening meal and the food was to a very high standard (if slightly on the expensive side!).
Overall we had a very relaxing time at the hotel and we would definitely book to stay there again. Without the views and the location, the hotel would have seemed 'run of the mill' and expensive, but the overall package was well worth paying for!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_and_Liya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing