We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,099)
Filter reviews
3,099 results
Traveller rating
1,273
907
503
249
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
907
503
249
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold englandfeature roomvalet serviceexecutive roomterrace barice roomrelaxation roomlake viewlovely hotelcar parkcooked breakfaston arrivalsauna and steam roomafternoon teablack puddingevening mealshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,386 - 2,391 of 3,099 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

probably the best located hotel in the Lake Districts. extracts the full price for it in Pounds and attitude. rooms have no air-conditioning, cable and wifi. almost the entire staff is stiff lipped and pretty unhelpful. have been going to the UK at least 6 time a year for the last 10 years and find this amongst the most stuffy experiences I have come across, and I have stayed at equal or more reputed hotels. Breakfast was good not outstanding as they seem to have a lot of tour groups. also, if you are checking in or out when the tour groups are coming in or out, then you are done for.. having said that the location makes up for a lot of the negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshishJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

2 night stay in the Macdonald in Bowness which was a fantastic location for us to explore the lakes. our room with lakeside view was wonderful and the photos do not do this hotel justice. its an extremely classy place with some lovely antiques dotted around the corridors on each floor which is a lovely touch as well as a great spa, pool and excellent service. cooked breakfasts were excellent but the service on the terrace was a bit slow and the only other criticism i would have would be the prices of a glass of white wine, which at over £11 for a large glass, is unnecessary.

Bowness itself is a wonderful base from which to explore the lakes, cruises leave from the pier within a 2 minute walk from the hotel and there are lots of nice bars, restaurants and shops to check out. windemere itself is onlt 1 mile away but ambleside was a bit of a let down...much nicer was keswick and drive through borrowdale, hoiniton and buttermere for some fantastic scenery. we did kendal on the way back home but felt keswick again was much nicer.

Room Tip: get a room with a lake view they are well worth it
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitnessfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at the Hotel in July 2013 for 2 nights and the staff were all (completely without exception) fantastic... polite, attentive and responsive to requests.

The hotel itself is beautiful, we had a lake view suite which was clean, spacious and had amazing views.

Breakfast was one of the best I have experienced in the UK with really quick service and tasty food. I thought it was really well managed and at no point had to wait for anything.

Had some spa treatments and the staff there were lovely and the facilities were very relaxing and friendly.

Overall - I will definitely go back... ASAP!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for two nights here.

It is ideally located on the shore of Lake Windermere in Bowness and is right in the middle of everything.

The first impressions were very good. Lots of olde worlde charm. Friendly staff at check in. The room was a lakeside one and justified the extra expense. It had a definite 'tilt' to it as the floor sloped down from the window to the door!

There is a large bar area but be warned as a pint of lager and a large wine were £13.00! I would recommend one of the nearby pubs for a drink....

Parking is very limited on site, however there is a concierge parking service for a nearby site. Fortunately we were able to park at the hotel.

Plenty of foreign tourists were staying there so it must be popular.

The restaurant is on the ground floor overlooking a lawn by the lake shore. Food and choice was excellent if expensive and on one occasion we waited over 30 minutes for our dessert (ice cream so nothing complicated - obviously we fell off the radar).

Would we stay again? Yes, but would probably eat and drink elsewhere to avoid punishing the budget as there are plenty of other places to go.


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A delightful terrace overlooking Lake Windermere. Good food and service enjoyed on a perfect English summers day. Generally the hotel looked clean and welcoming in the reception area and had a prime position on Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sue19402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews